We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“nice hotel all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Harrah's New Orleans on a recent visit. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Large, well-appointed bathroom with separate shower. Good service from the staff all around. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    224
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
361
50
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Where to begin! From our first arrival to our departure the service and friendliness was unbelievable. We have been coming to New Orleans since before they had gaming. We LOVE NO.
At Harrah's our experience was so enhanced by the Great customer service and the friendly people that work at the hotel.
I just feel compelled to recognize these folks. Upon our arrival, Chelsey Davis at the front desk was wonderful and so easy to work with, assisting with whatever needs and concerns we had.
The Buffet director Walter was also amazing, being friendly and caring and took such an interest in our personnel needs and that we were totally satisfied.
When we were checking out, Mell Eenes and Kionna Kinard were right there to make sure we very happy with our stay and getting our transportation handled in a prompt and courteous manner, just floored me with their outstanding service.
Brad Weissman spent time with us out of his busy schedule to thank us for coming to Harrah's and would be looking forward for our return.
Brenda Stamper the VIP Host was so gracious and helpful with our overall checkout , just a total experience at Harrah's that I would recommend to anyone that might be thinking about wanting a wonderful vacation experience.

Respectfully submitted,
Richard G. Deary Jr.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have been here several times, always a pleasant experience. Hotel is close to everything and everyone is very helpful. Besh steakhouse is very good and the prices are reasonable. Shopping and attractions are mostly within walking distance or an easy trollly ride. The Ghost tour is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First let me admit that I was in this room as a comp. from their casino. I have only been to New Orleans twice, and last time I had stayed in La Quinta down the street. It was a nice room. It beat out the La Quinta I stayed at last time in most aspects. My La Quinta stay included the shooting of the American Heist film right in front of the hotel, while this trip included a lot of PAs and movie people throughout the hotel as the shooting for the "Focus" film was taking place. I think Harrah's handled it a lot better -that I ran into a few actors as I was leaving. Very close to the casino, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were in an upgraded Suite for four nights and enjoyed the room! The décor was beautiful and the bathroom (s) were to die for! We had a corner suite so we had a good view of the West and also the Mississippi River from the 19th floor. This is just a HOTEL - no food, no frilly lobby - just a Hotel. Across the street at the Casino is all the other stuff.....food, and fun. Also, Fulton street is behind this hotel and there are lots of great places to eat there. The French Quarter was a quick 10 minute walk away or you could always access the Riverwalk Trolley Car for a $3.00 pass to go all over the city for 24 hours - an excellent way to see NOLA, the Garden District and the Riverwalk. The aquarium is close by and there is so much to see and do within walking distance, I couldn't begin to list! The door staff was very accommodating and was always there to help with luggage and doors. The only thing I could fault them on is that our first night there they did not have maid service for the room the next day - I don't know why. I slept in the other bed (there were 2 Q beds in my suite) the second night because I HATE to sleep in an unmade bed - won't do it at home - certainly NOT doing it in a hotel either! I think they just overlooked it - but they did come by to offer "turn down service" and nightly chocolate! I loved the central location of this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was surprised when I stayed at this hotel. I had a suite that cost over $500 per night and couldn't believe how little there was for this. There is no amenities anywhere. The lobby has only a registration desk. You can't get coffee anywhere close before 7am. There are no newspapers available - even to purchase. You get a warm bottle of water in the room - for $6. We had a beautiful view of the river, but the inside of the windows had handprints. The carpet in the main room was really stained. We got turndown service, sometimes. There was a train that went by at 3am.

Just didn't measure up. There are plenty of other places to stay.

However, the people who work there from the valet to the desk were very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved how clean and comfortable this hotel was. My room didn't have a flat screen, updated TV but was one of the best places I've stayed while in NOLA. Not in the French Quarter but the Casino, so close, adds a different fun to the trip! Not far from the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.