We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - Extremely Tight Slots - High Parking Fees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
351 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - Extremely Tight Slots - High Parking Fees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really love going to Harrah's Properties across the country (Caesars Brands now) because I am a Diamond Member and we get a lot of comps. We loved the actual Hotel room and the wonderful view. We stayed on the 22nd floor facing the Mississippi River and it was a wonderful view. The room was very spacious with a love seat, chair, coffee table, king bed with 2 night stands, desk and chair, refrigerator, 32" TV and coffee pot. The bathroom was very nice with a large soaking tub, separate shower, toilet area in its own room and bathrobes. We liked when you turned on the do not disturb switch it lit up and disabled the door bell and you didn't have to mess with a door hanger.

The main thing that I really hated was the $34.00 a day for valet. However, we did park in the parking garage the next 3 days we were there and with my Diamond Card they comped it. I assume if you show play in their casino you would get it comped anyway.

The Casino slots were some of the tightest I have ever played and all the table games are $10.00 minimum; which is fine for most games, but when you like to play Caribbean Stud or Let It Ride like I do, that means you can have $40.00 or more out on the table per hand, which can get pretty pricy if you don't win anything. I have never been to a casino where I didn't win anything worth talking about on the slots. I play between $1.00 to $3.00 per spin and never won anything really to talk about...which is very rare for me. I just felt like I was throwing money out the window and doubt I will return to this casino. I loved the room, but was very disappointed in the parking fees and the play you get for your gambling money. There are just way too many other nice Casinos to go to in the Central US where you get real play for your money and that is what gambling is all about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is centerally located so for us we can and stayed one night and toured this historic city for 2 days. The rooms were beautful and luxurious, but $300.00/night price tag to sleep and shower is well a bit much. I would prefer to spend my dollars sight seeing and enjoying the southern cuisine. It in the convention area, so the casino is in a totally different building which was fine for my liking. The staff and the concierge personel were exceptional. I lost my camera walking throught the casino to check into the hotel and realized it four to five hours later; and low and behold it was returned to me. Thank you. Finding a place to eat breakfast was a challenge and nothing was close except for a coffee stand that offered fruit and some danishes. New Orleans was great city to visit and what a great history. Remains of Katrina are still there but what a great job revitalizing. Beautiful city, hot and steamy, great music, great history, awesome food and loved all the buildings and homes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishqueenohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen,NM
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The entry way was grand; the staff right there to help us get checked in. I am a Diamond rated player and they found me the room dreams are made of. I got upgrades to a corner suite, and this was a dream come try. Living room, dining room, large bathroom, with double sinks, tub, and shower, and a separate door into the water closet. The bed was out of this world in comfort,
Enough said. The room was large, clean, will appointed in all ways, excellent views of the bay or whatever that is. The amenities were all perfect; towels luxurious.
There were 2 tvs and radio were RAD. We had such a great time in the hotel that we almost forgot we were there to eat and see New Orleans.

The staff are excellent..... IT was a five block to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk, so this place is ideally located. And, the casino is across the street, with underground passage.

Did not notice if there was a pool.

And we were only two blocks away from the trolley stop. We rode to three different parts of the town on three different trollies. Great way to get a feel for the city .

WOULD DO IT AGAIN IN A HEART BEAT ! !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainbowNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We Always go to this place. This time we came 2 days in a row. June 22 and 23, 2013. We ate breakfast at the buffet on June 22 and the next day we ate lunch at the buffet. It was very good, we had champagne also with our dinner. Their Jonas Crab was very good. Other foods were good also. We just loved their food this time. Our server were very nice. All employees we encountered we're all nice
We were unable to get a room this time as none was available. Maybe next time, as we loved their hotel. So we stayed at another place.

We played slots even though machines were tight we had fun and won't mind keep on coming back here.

Parking was also tight here

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spend our 49th wedding anniversary at Harrah's. From the moment we entered the lobby and were met by a very helpful greeter, we were blown away by the customer oriented employees. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the river. A perfect place with that New Orleans experience that we were expecting.

We'll return many times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visit New Orleans usually once or twice a year and if at all possible we stay at Harrah's. The hotel rooms are all spacious and beautifully decorated. Large bathrooms with separate tubs and showers. The French Quarter is adjacent as well as the Central Business District.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrush16848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited Harrah's New Orleans....again. Wonderful stay. The customer service is always great. The hotel is nice and the room was large. Easy walking distrance to the French Quarter. Or for a more unique experience walk a couple of blocks down St. Peter's and catch the old style trolley. Purchase a one day pass and you can ride the trolley to Bourbon street for the French Quarter experience, through the Art District or down to the area near Jackson Square for great food and entertainment. The hotel only offers valet parking but you a parking garage is nearby and you if you play at the casino you can get your parking validated and park for free. Only drawback is that since the hotel is really a convenience for the casino they do not have a pool.

Room Tip: I like to have a view of the river but all the rooms are nice and you can't go wrong with the Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivydoris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,076 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Hotel New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Harrah's Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing