We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky! Harrah's nicest property. Walk to French Quarter.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pueblo, CO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Swanky! Harrah's nicest property. Walk to French Quarter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed at some of Harrah's other properties (Vegas/Laughlin/Reno), so I knew what to expect upon arriving at this location. Boy, was I wrong! This property is far lovelier than the others, boasting exceptional craftsmanship and attention to detail.

The rooms are luxurious and welcoming, superb quality linens, comfy and non-squeaky bed (laugh if you want, but we all know how embarrassing this is). The furnishings are rich- dark woods, granite, glass, with immaculate upholstery on the sofa and chairs. I fell in love with the bathroom's stone floors, separate room with commode, heavy glass encased shower, and incredibly deep soaking tub. The hotel's common areas are as sumptuous as the guest rooms- with high ceilings, immaculate carpets, peerless floor boards, elevators, and restrooms.

The casino is grand and rich-looking (same theme as hotel), with many tables and slots. While smoking is permitted, the air is surprisingly clean. Since I only play slots, I cannot describe the table games except to say that there are scads of them and they seem quite boisterous at night. The slots are plenty and range from older types (actual physical wheels that spin) to new digital slots. I was very pleased with the selection and was able to gamble for a few hours each night on my limited budget ($40/night- you guessed it: penny slots).

The location of this hotel is perfect for walkers. About 6 blocks (big blocks) to the French Quarter, 1 block from the Riverfront trolley station (takes you to French Quarter, Frenchmen Street), and about 3 blocks from St. Charles St trolley, City Park, and cemetery trollies. There is a vast Riverfront mall about a block away which has every item you could've possible forgotten at home with a huge food court brimming with local fare. Warning: wear good walking shoes, I made this mistake and wore flat sandals without rubber soles, my feet were killing me by the end of day one.

So, you ask, with all of this praise, why not 5-stars? For the following reasons:
-Additional charge for wi-fi
-No free calls
-No free breakfast, not even continental (buffet at Harrah's casino is expensive)
-No free parking

For the cost, these amenities should really be included.

Room Tip: Choose a city or river view AND if you are a non-smoker, demand a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    224
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
361
50
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterwood, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

4th time in New Orleans. Previous visits were good, (stayed elsewhere) . Harrah's made this a bad visit. Rooms are overpriced. Valet parking was $34! No typo! $34 for ONE night!

If you plan on gambling, be aware that the Hotel is on one side of the street and the Casino is on the other side. We are an elderly couple and would not have stayed here to gamble if we had know that. We prefer the hotel and casino be in the same building.

The view from the 25th floor shows a New Orleans their Chamber of Commerce probably would not want you to see.

Very slow Intenet connection. No work space/desk in our room.

Room Tip: Determine if the room amenities such as internet, work space/desk, frig., micro., etc. that are impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

For New Orleans, Harrah's is a great bargain for an upscale room, BUT you have to be a Total Rewards member [no problem, you can join online}. Our very nice King room averaged $115/nt. for a four night stay. Any other comparable hotel would have been about three times as much. To get this price you have to diligently monitor the funky website and call the hotel [not the Harrah's main number]. Staff is very friendly but slow to fix problems [we reported a broken light every day and it was never fixed]. Location is superb, you are literally able to walk anywhere. Avoid the buffet, worst food, poorest choices in the city! Found great food at Cochon [about a ten minute walk in the adjacent Warehouse District] and at Muriel's in the Quarter. Both are uniquely New Orleans-style and reasonable, especially if you chose their pris fixe menus. Only disrespectful tourists wear shorts and tee shirts to dine there, so please dress a little nicer, you'll also get better service and table placement. Free waters at he front desk in the hotel if you just ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an awesome time in New Orleans at Harrahs. Walking distance from resturants, bars and the casino. The lobby was very pretty and the rooms clean. The vallet/drive up area was crowded, but the attendants were very nice. Didn't like the shower, but the bed was comfortable. Our neighbors were quite nosiy and smoked in a non-smoking area, but hey it's New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a business meeting and booked a block of rooms at Harrah's New Orleans. Upon arrival, I inquired if I could have early check in. The reply was "yes...for a $35 fee". What? Obviously this is a money making scheme as there were rooms ready to check in. Additionally, I inquired if there was a pool on the premisis. The reply was "you can use the pool at our sister hotel for a $10 fee". What?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being regulars in Vegas and Atlantic City, when my wife and I go to other casino locations are expectations are low.
Harrah's New Orleans knocked our socks off!
From our arrival, Miss Melinda set the tone. It was late, she had been there awhile and we were bushed from the travel. Well Miss Melinda made us feel like we were home. She was energetic, caring, and took care of us very well; to include the suite which was fabulous.
It has been many years of traveling since we could remember such a relaxing and enjoyable trip.
Everyone was great; hotel employees to casino hosts. We have to give a shout out to Shawn, host of the Palm Room (Seven Stars & Diamond Lounge). It was like old home week from our first visit with him and his staff, and every day after that we were there.
The dealers in the high limit area were great also. Everyone was so professional, relaxed, and having a good time. Especially “Scrappy Doo”, she knows who she is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are used to going to New Orleans and the old hotels, smells, and architecture are the reason you go then don't stay here. This is a Diamond in the old part of town. A very nice upscale hotel that could be in any major city in America. Especially nice change if your traveling with children. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to accommodate in any way. Spacious rooms, nice beds, and close enough to the action of the French Quarter. They charge $35.00 per day to park but if you get a players card for the casino and gamble for 30 minutes the parking is free for 24 hours. A great way to get a free $35.00 for gambling. The casino is connected to the hotel via and underground walkway and you will NOT see children in the casino hallway. Would recommend to all if not wanting a boutique French Quarter room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.