We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marana, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Let me just say we have stayed at many of Ceasars Properties through out the years and After looking at mixed revues for Harrahs in NOLA we were not sure what to expect. Right off the bat we entered the property and found it to be sparkling clean. We were greeted at the doors by staff with a big smile and very friendly hello. The satff here at Harrahs is one the friendliest were have encountered at a Ceasars property. After a quick check in we proceeded to our room and found the room exceptionally clean and modern decor. We had a a smoking room and there was no hint of stale smoke in the room. Our room was cleaned perfectly every day and it was also a very large room. We never ate at the Hotel (why when your in NOLA) the Casino was large and drink service using your Players Card on the slots was amazingly quick! Did ok on the slots and tables but did not walk away as a winner but had fun every evening we played. We will always stay at Harrahs when ever we go to NOLA, we have been there twice in 2 years and plan on going back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    219
    66
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
355
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with three teenage girls this past weekend for my daughter's 15th birthday. We usually stay in a boutique hotel in the French Quarter, but couldn't find any that would accommodate 5 people in one room so we chose Harrah's.

First, I must say it is a lovely hotel. Very nice and clean, very well run, no complaints whatsoever. Our room was spacious and very quiet. We had a lovely view of the river and the girls enjoyed sitting on the window ledge and seeing the sights.

We spent most of our time near the Jackson Square area and it was a bit of a hike. There was no running back to the room to drop off shopping bags or grabbing a quick snack. While this did not ruin our trip it did make for a tiring weekend.

If I were planning an adult only trip that included a visit to Bourbon Street or any libations at all, I would never consider staying in this hotel. It is not convenient. Besides, I can stay in a beautiful, sterile chain-type hotel in any city. When I go to New Orleans I prefer the older, smaller hotels with their quirks and flaws. They're not perfect, but I love their charm, amazing locations and awesome courtyards.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1820. It was very convenient to elevator and not a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel located near the river and our room had a great river view. The location was fantastic for walking to major attractions such as French Quarter, Jackson Square, Cafe Dumond,French Market, WWII Museum, Fulton Street,numerous resturants, etc. The hotel staff was always friendly and asked if they could assist you on your travels as you walked through the lobby. The hotel room was large and clean. Will stay at this location on next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked a two night stay. At check-in was upgraded to a suite a no charge, and this was during the Jazz Fest weekend! Great hotel w/a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in the Lobby. Also next to Fulton Street w/a lot of other restaurants, Manning's & Grand Isle Seafood. Room & staff were great.

Room Tip: Get a room w/a view of the quarter & the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the best part of this hotel was the amazing food at Ruth Cristies restaurant. The hotel is withing walking
distance of several great restaurant, the mall across the street will be re-done next year with all new stores, this locations is across the street from the river walk, which will take you too the garden distrist and the french quarter. The restaurant in the casino connected to the hotel also had great food at every restaurant. The only downturn was no pool or patio to chill out at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

First off, our room was comp'd, so don't hate me! The room overlooked the parking garage, but we didn't go to New Orleans to look out the window 9 floors up! The hotel staff, from the bellmen to the concierge and housekeeping staff were all friendly and accommodating. The location is primo for first time visitors because if you are able, there is so much to see and do within walking distance. We walked to the French Quarter and also the National World War II Museum. It is easily accessible to the waterfront and the big paddleboats. There is a mall in the Riverwalk Marketplace, which was disappointing....a vendor there told us they would be renovating the mall in the coming year, which explained all the "Store Closing" signs. The hotel is right next to the Trolley stop, and all hotel staff are knowledgeable about giving directions. The biggest "ding" I would give them is that the Starbucks is on the other side of the casino, which is in a separate building across the street. But, hey, room service breakfast is great, and their coffee is outstanding! Beds were comfy, and bathroom is spacious! Try it....you'll love it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've stayed at many Harrah's properties in the last few years and this is, by far, the nicest.

Upon check-in we asked for only two things ... no adjoining room and a view of the river. We received both.

The room was spotlessly clean. The room was a nice size. It was so interesting to watch all the boat traffic on the Mississippi River. As others have remarked, the staff is very pleasant and eager to please.

What would have made it perfect? The bathroom lighting. It was dark in there. None of the
lights were burned out, so that wasn't it, it must be the wattage. The other negative is not being able to get into the room before 4 PM without paying an upcharge. This might be OK in Vegas when all the other hotels do the same, but I don't think that is the practice in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the "Mighty Mississippi."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.