We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good rooms, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Voorhees, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location, good rooms, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This property is conveniently located near the river and the French Quarter, not to mention their huge casino. The rooms were large and clean with very comfortable beds. Every member of the staff was friendly and delivered top notch customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    224
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
361
50
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A year later, my bff and I returned (comped again, flight, hotel and limo to/from airport, hotel) to the Big Easy! What a great trip and we were treated to St Patrick's Day weekend!!! We arrived around 10 am, several hours before official check in, and in spite of the fact that we were told we would have to wait until 4 to check in, we went to the front desk and got a room right off the bat! and the hotel was fully booked! That is Tremendous Service!! Our check in girl was friendly, and accommodating! The service here is nothing but stellar, from front desk personnel, housekeepers, bell service personnel to room service employees! Thank you, again! Harrah's Hotel NO!!! We will be back in a year (if not sooner!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from New Orleans. We stayed 2 nights at Harrah's New Orleans and the hotel is amazing!! Upon check in we were given a suite....room 1009.....check it out on youtube!!!! And I was only paying $39.00 per night!!! Needless to say, we were very impressed. The young lady at check in was very friendly and it was a breeze. The room was exceptional...a large spacious living room with wet bar area with a small fridge and dining room table, along with a large flat screen. The bedroom was very inviting and decorated in the Harrahs gold and purple colors. The bed was very very comfortable and the bedroom also had a large flat screen tv. The bathroom was a dream!!!! Large jetted tub and a large stand up shower. Two sinks in the vanity was a plus and the toilet had it's own room. There was turndown service both nights and we were given pralines as a treat. We gambled at the casino and we didn't have to pay for parking as we gambled more that 30 minutes per 24 hour period with our players cards. Parking in NOLA is very expensive so this was great.The casino and the hotel have an underground walkway connecting them, so you don't have to go outside.We visited two restaurants affiliated with Harrahs....Gordon Biersch and The Grand Isle....just outside the building...both were very good and both offered a happy hour which was a bonus.
I really can't say anything negative about this hotel....we thought is was exceptional and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: See is you can get an upgrade to a suite....room 1009 is terrific!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, jamaica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The only thing that I would change is better lighting for reading in bed but it wasn't a major problem. Beds are very comfortable. The staff is the friendliest staff I have seen in any big city hotel. They have an energy and a joy that is contagious. Kudos to the concierge desk because they were always friendly and helpful.

The hotel is across the street from the casino and surrounded by a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Within a couple of minutes you are in the heart of the French Quarter and the river walk.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the waterfront because the horns of the barges can be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms were spacious, nice, clean. Staff was all very friendly. Loved it!! Plenty of restaurants to choose from. Stayed there twice these past 2 years. Will be going back again. The casino is connected to the hotel by walking underground to the casino.
Casino has a plenty of slot machines, and table games. Numerous restaurants in the casino. McArthur's Cafe was awesome!! Best sweet tea I have had?? Highly recommend them.

Room Tip: When booking a room, let them know you want a room high enough and on the river side so you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurrybackharry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this great hotel. We were checked in by a great young man named Dorian. He gave us a beautiful room on the 22nd floor with a view of the Mississippi River. By gambling for 30 minutes or more we earned free parking--something very rare in NOLA.

Room Tip: Doesn't hurt to ask for a special room above floor 15 facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a great hotel experience! The staff is terrific, and the room was fantastic. I was in New Orleans for a conference at the Convention Center. This hotel is an easy walk to the center. Room service was quick and the food was great.

This property does not have a pool, and the fitness room is fairly small - but the equipment is in good shape.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite (1712) with a long entry hallway which was nicely appointed, a sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.