We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The city is fabulous!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The city is fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Harrahs Hotel in New Orleans is a little older than the one in Cherokee but the room was clean. They need to update to flat screen TV's. The buffet food was good but overpriced. Choose McAlisters or Fuddruckers instead inside the casino. We tried Besh steakhouse and the food was subpar. Really not wirth the money and the service was less than great. It seemed to take a really long time to get food. Husband had to send back his steak twice. It could have been this particular day tho so don't let this stop you from giving it a try. We did not try Ruths Chris.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    200
    65
    33
    37
See reviews for
108
340
46
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Harrah's New Orleans. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, there was always plenty of friendly staff to greet and assist us. Our room was spacious and clean. The bath was AMAZING!!! Location was perfect for walking to anywhere we wanted to go in the Arts District, CBD, or the Quarter. Lots of places to eat, things to do and things to see right outside the hotel door!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2013 while attending a convention. Rooms are very nice - plenty of space, the bathtub was very comfortable, clean. Meeting rooms were comfortable and well kept. The gym was too small for a hotel this size. Minutes walking distance from all the action and many restaurants. All in all great experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Second time at this great place and want to say once again how nice it is. However, I'd like to point out that the police close the streets around this area for the "Parades" this time of year. We could not get to the garage on Convention St and had to park at the Hilton garage two blocks over. When we called the desk to ask how to get to the hotel to drop off our bags (and an 85 year old) they said we were just out of luck and should wait four hours until the "floats" had been removed from around the hotel. This area is the terminus for some of the parades I guess.
We just parked and walked with our bags and mom.

Just a heads up if you go around Mardi Gras time.

Room Tip: This time our room faced toward the super dome and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Harrahs Hotel in New Orleans many times before. The staff is excellent but the property is now not being kept up and repairs and cut backs are obvious.
How bad was it. The bed sheets were clean but had holes in them...yes holes!
The hutch in front of the television Haida huge piece of wood missing. The clock was missing from the room and the make up mirror had also disappeared. That was just the start. Carpets had stains and basically the room looked "old"
We were in a suite! I'm fearful of how a regular room would look
If you can stay else where for the same or less you are better off
We issued to love to stay here.
Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, nh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked our room July 29, 2012. I booked 4 nights and received them complimentary due to my play status at Harrah's. We arrived at the registration desk at 3:50 on Monday 2/4/2012. My room was not ready and I was told to come back in 2 hours. Since I stay at other Harrah's properties frequently, they generally reserve the same type of room for me, high floor, king near elevator and a view. We checked our bags and came back in 2 hours. To my dismay, our room still was not ready. At this point I'm thinking how far in advance do I need to book in order to get what I am accustomed to. By 6:45, I finally had my room. It was on the 9th floor with a view of the parking garage. I was not pleased. I called the front desk and asked to be changed...was told there was nothing else available but they could check for me the next day. On Tuesday, I went back down to the front desk 4 different times after 11:00 check out and was continually told no other rooms were available. I was not happy, but felt defeated and did give up trying. This was the negative part of our trip. I have to say, the room was well appointed, and clean. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping service was very good. The doormen were extremely friendly. There is a warmth to the people of New Orleans that isn't found in other parts of the country. We stay in Atlantic City quite often and there is no comparison to the friendliness of the locals in NOLA. We will go back, but next time I will insist on the type of room I prefer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you visit Nola this is the perfect location. You are in the downtown, many things are walking distance. If you get a players card, parking is free. The rooms are great and the price is right. Check in was smooth and they answered all our questions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.