We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
amextravel.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Harrah's is located very conveniently to the French Quarter without all the noise. The room is spacious and clean with only minor issues. The bed comfort was excellent. There is a separate shower area from the tub, plenty of bathroom counter space and a separate room area for the toilet. The hotel has a casino across the street but an underground walkway so you do not have to actually walk across the street. There are plenty of restaurants but I'd recommend others in town, although the bar in Manning's is a must do if you want a drink. My complaints are: 1- The check in was at 4:00, I arrived at 2:45 and they wanted an extra $30 to get into the room then. I came back later and although I had reserved a King bed I was put into a room with a queen bed. 2- When I got out of the elevator to get to my room there were a lot of crumbs on the floor. The problem was the crumbs were still there the next day at 10:00am. The staff was at all times very friendly and helpful. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are coming to New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    173
    57
    30
    36
See reviews for
90
304
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Positives: Great location, very clean, big room, awesome bathroom. Brewery next door has great drinks!
Negatives: outrageous parking fee! Water pressure in shower is almost nothing....had to rinse my hair in bathtub to get conditioner out.

Great hotel, will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The minute my girlfriend and I walked into the hotel we were warmly greeted by the friendly staff. Each and every time we passed by the front desk they would greet us making us feel welcomed, and that displays excellent customer service. The room itself was nice, the bathroom had a walk in shower and bath tub that fits 2 people comfortably, and a view of the Mississippi River. The casino also offered a reasonably priced buffet that had a variety of food, we ate there for breakfast and dinner. The hotel is located right off of canal street; which is blocks away from bourbon street, the french quarter, and other well known sites throughout New Orleans. The next time we come back to New Orleans we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are much nicer and provide a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed in a ton of hotels in New Orleans, and Harrah's was one of the best I have stayed in. Great service, big rooms, great toiletries and towels, luxurious bathrooms and amenities, safe, fridge, flat screen TV (no lag on the remote) and the fastest elevators I have ever seen!! Great proximity to restaurants, shopping and the quarter. Only problem I had was the softness of the bed and pillows, water pressure and the cost of parking and the rules behind gambling and parking. Other then that, I would totally stay here again in a moments notice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well, my check in at Harrah's was just sad, the check in clerks were not very friendly! We were there for a major event, 4 nights...$600+ a night and we check into our first room...there were stains visible on the chairs and bed! The furniture was old and chipped. We asked for another room. The second didn't have stains, and the room was no better than the first one. Very disappointed! We looked at the upgraded suite and there was only one bed in the suites and we requested two! Couldn't book another hotel last minute! With the rates Harrah's charge during certain events they should at least give us a little more to enjoy room wise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We took a quick trip to New Orleans Thanksgiving night on a comp offer from Harrahs. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The location is convenient to Harrahs as well as numerous restaurants and attractions. I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 only because the rates when paying for a room are usually very high and if you are paying to stay in New Orleans there are better values. However if you get a good rate at this hotel it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My hubby and I loved our stay at Harrah's. We never seemed to run into others in the hall; it seemed very private compared to other places in Vegas. Our room was huge, the bed so comfy, and the bathroom was even larger. We had a huge bathtub, a large glassed in shower, and the toilet was in its own room. The huge tiled floor was so clean and nice. I was extremely impressed. We will be back. We loved especially that we could park the car, gamble some, and walk all over the French Quarter. We did a Stray Boots tour which showed us all of the sites on our own pace. What a great get away from our kids!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Casino
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.