We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I love Harrah's in New Orleans and we just had another perfect 4 night stay there. Their personnel are very helpful and professional. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's my favorite hotel in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    449
    141
    58
    61
See reviews for
300
711
120
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queens ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We walked into Harrahs at about 10:00AM, we gave our bags to the bellhop and went to pre-register,not expecting our room to be ready before 3pm (check-in is actually 4:30). The girl told us they had a room ready. We went upstairs and it wasn't ready so I called the front desk and spoke to Nicole she apologized and said to come and get the key for a different room. Meanwhile the bellhop met us on the way down. We went to our second room and like the first one it wasn't ready. This time the bellhop called the front desk. He gave me the phone and Nicole apologized again saying there must have a been a computer glitch and that they wanted to update us to a suite (I was traveling with my cousin) with a King Bed. Not expecting a room that early in the first place it really wasn't an inconvenience, but we said if it was really ready we would take it. When we got to the suite Nicole was there checking it out to be sure it was ready for us. So, we had a beautiful suite for $69 a night. Everything was spotless, no dust , nothing. Rooms were beautiful, bed was comfortable, view was great, bathroom huge and beautifully decorated, refrigerator, wet bar, what a pleasure. Every single person at Harrah's was polite and friendly and helpful, as were all of the other people we came into contact with. I love the Harrahs/Caesars chain and look forward to my next stay at one of their hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms 10th floor and above have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klynne2
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at Harrah's in New Orleans three times and we can't wait to go back. The staff is so friendly and welcoming and helpful. We needed a fridge on our first trip for some medication and they gave us a suite. The rooms are immaculate, the beds are luxuriously comfy, and the service is truly outstanding. The food at Ruth's Chris and Besh was five star. The huge buffet in the casino is so sumptious you won't want to eat for hours. The crab legs and seafood were fresh and delicious, the desserts were decadant, and the selection was massive. There was too much to explore in one meal, we went back three times over the course of our stay in New Orleans. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! It gives a great name to Southern Hospitality! PLUS the hotel is right on the trolley car route so in a few steps you can board for about a $1 and be anywhere in New Orleans you need to go including Cafe du Monde, French Market, Cemetaries, Bourbon Street, etc. We did not need a rental car nor did we use taxis. It was just a great location for sightseeing!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River, if they have one available they will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have visited Harrah's Hotel and Casino in New Orleans in 2009, 2010, 2011 and have reservations for 2012. We always go in early December prior to Christmas. Each year the hotel room, staff, VIP check in, Christmas activities for families, and concerts have been so enjoyable. Add to this the wonderful casino just steps from the lobby and you have an incredible holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for a conference, at first a little concerned being a casino and all. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel. From the minute I walked in to the time I Ieft, there was always someone willing to help me or welcome me. Marvin was a true gentleman and ambassador to the hotel, always there to assist you if needed. I was worried that the casino would be noisy and dirty in the hotel. However, the rooms are separate from the casino. The casino is across the street and connected by a tunnel if the weather is bad. Thus, no noise from there. One never has to set foot in there if you do not want to. The rooms were very large and nice, bathrooms were great with a sitting tub and a shower area. Extra large sitting area to move around in. Very happy with the rooms, and they were very quiet. Ruth Chris is in the hotel. Concierge is right there also. Morning papers are not delivered but can pick up a USA today or local paper for free at the main desk. Riverwalk (shops) and the Hilton are right next door with Dragos in the Hilton. There is also a pub/brewery restaurant next door. Also, some restaurants in the casino. Thus, very good food is real close by. Bourbon street is a few blocks away about a good 10 minute walk. Canal street about 5 min away for tourist shops and fast food like McD. and Arbys. Draw backs - they charge you for wireless in the room like most major hotels and no pool. (can swim in pool next door) All in all a great hotel, great service and super friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our Harrah's room was spacious and clean. The hotel is just a short walk to Canal Street or the French Quarter. The riverfront streetcar line is just across the street, as well, so it's easy to get to Jackson Square or the French Market. Close to the attractions, but not in the midst of what can be some craziness at night.

The front desk staff is super friendly. In fact, everyone at both the hotel and the adjacent casino really embodied the principles of southern hospitality.

This is a large, modern property, though. There's nothing about it that makes it "New Orleans" in design or mood. If you're OK with that, then this is a good choice. If, though, you're looking for a NOLA atmosphere, you might consider other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked our one night stay at Harrah's that afternoon and they even allowed my family of four to check in early, great service at this point. Plenty to do within walking distance including the casino. The one big drawback we had is our youngest daughter is only 19 and you must be 21 to eat at the Harrahs Casino Buffet. I understand to gamble, but to eat? We've taken our kids to other casino buffets (three different states) and they've always been allowed to eat in the buffet casino. It's a poor design on Harrah's part in the logistics of getting to the buffet. We talked to everyone at the hotel, but no one could make a decision. It was very disappointing to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.