We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great in NOLA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Almost great in NOLA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a conference at this hotel. It is within walking distance to the French Quarter and right near the Riverfront. It is connected to the Casino, of course, and the Casino is nice.

The lobby is not huge, but the staff is friendly. I had reserved a king room. I was told on checking in that they did not have any more king rooms. I was told I had no choice but to take 2 queens as there were no upgrades available. At least they gave me a higher floor facing the river.

The room was nice. The TV, fridge and safe are well hidden in a closet like area facing the bed. Next to it is the actual cost. The room stayed cool and you could hear very little noise. Housekeeping did a good job. The bed was very comfortable. The only downside is there is no desk at all. Bathroom was large with a stand up shower and a nice tub as well.

Plenty of places to eat. Either walk to the French Quarter, of course, or there is plenty right there either in the Casino or near the casino. Mother's is just a block away, too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    205
    65
    34
    37
See reviews for
111
345
48
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to book the hotel for the 3days weekend during recent Mardi Gras....what a crazy time in Nola!

Very nice, clean, good location for visitors to New Orleans, walking distance to the French Quarter, the famous, crazy Bourbon Street & minutes away from the pier, and the famous Cafe Du Monde. If you are not a gambler, but a shopper like me, the mall, and Saks Fifth Avenue is right across the street! Location wise, can't not beat!

Friendly & courteous staffs, greet you everytime you pass by, any question you might have, they are there to answer to the best of their knowledge. Rooms are roomy, clean, no bad smell, even house keeping staffs are nice & friendly. We were upgraded to the suite due to our "high roller" friends that were with us! The suite was awesome! Very spacious...beautifully decorated, all the essentials you need for your stay. Bed is comfortable, sheets are very clean & nice, smell great. Bathroom is huge, shower is huge & strong water pressure. Remind me of all the nice hotels that I've been in Vegas. If you play a to a certain limit, the casino sure will fix you up good w the hotel...Lots more benefits... I used the free business center, free internet, free printing....

Ruth Chris restaurant is nothing to ride home about since we are from Houston w. lots of good steak houses. But if you want a nice meal, try the Besh Steakhouse in the Harrah casino, all the dishes were delish...deserts are wonderful, price is a little pricey, but where else is not in this city? The Bambu restaurant serves great Asian dishes, to my standard since I'm Asian & have tried all great Asian dishes in Houston, still, this place is very good. They even have real shark fins soup, which is a bit expensive, but of course, when they serve you the real thing, it's $60/bow serving 4person.

Do not wast your money on the buffet in the casino! So bad! Omg...no word to describe...Please do not eat here!

Overall, great hotel to stay during your visit to New Orleans, if you are registered or play with the casino, you are for sure will be getting lots of their perks (upgrade rooms, free parking...) Had a great time here :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Staff was terrible to deal with. There are much better hotels in the area with a nicer staff than Harrah's that are more affordable! Hands down the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at in New Orleans. Do your homework and you can find much better.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you ask for. You get what they give you whether you like it or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Beautiful room and lovely staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very nice. The location is great. It's a easy walk downtown and to the French Quarter. The streetcar line is also close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Off of Fulton Street, I was very impressed with the Harrah's Hotel. The staff was very courteous and friendly ... they greeted you each and every time you walked through the lobby, inquiring about your stay and asking if there was anything they could do for you. I was pleasantly surprised with a Praline on my pillow the first night. It was the first time I had one, and wow ... I was hooked. The room was very clean and the hotel is in walking distance of all the great spots you need to see in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I recently stayed at this property in January 2012, when I booked two rooms since I had visitors in from out of town. I used to live in New Orleans and now live about an hour away and spend frequent weekends in town so I have experienced numerous area hotels. I have to say this is probably my favorite in New Orleans. Of course, its connected to the Casino, which is a nice plus and provides plenty of entertainment. However, this is not some cheesy casino hotel, this is a stand alone, classy property. Also, on many occasions I have eaten at Ruths Chris Steakhouse which is located in the hotel as well. Ruths is always a fine choice. This hotel is located adjacent to Fulton Street which is an area that continues to be developed with restaurants and bars, a very nice little area in my opinion.

The rooms are a good size, clean, and leave very little to complain about, I was very satisfied. The bathrooms were great, a stand alone shower, seperate from a comfortable jetted tub. I found the service to be excellent as well.

The hotel is located a short walk from the French Quarter and all attractions in the area. You can also walk a short distance to catch a streetcar to numerous other attractions/areas of town. If the price is within your range, I would easily stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.