We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Honey did you pack the Raid, Roach Motel and Traps?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quarter House Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quarter House Resort
Save
You added Quarter House Resort to your Saves list
129 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Wayne, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG! Honey did you pack the Raid, Roach Motel and Traps?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Where do I start? Would it be the mouse you think you saw when watching TV in the dark of the bedroom and then realize it WASN'T your imagination? How about turning on the light at 3AM only to find some multi-legged refugees (roaches) scurrying for cover under the security of the kitchen cabinets? We traded a 7 day time share for a "suite" in this disgusting, decaying dump through Interval International and left after 1 NIGHT for the Hilton up the street at our own expense! The furniture was mid 1980's era, the kitchenette was about late 1970's and the parking was near impossible because you can not park on the street where the hotel, I mean infested rat-hole is located. DO NOT waste your time or money on this place unless you're an aspiring crackhead or love the taste of roach feces on your lips in the morning because only God knows where they've been while you're sleeping. The female at the front desk was basically like "oh well" in her attitude but never said it after we told her what we experienced. My wife looked at me in front of her and said "this must be business as usual for this place" and the clerk shrugged. UNREAL! The best thing that could happen to this place is that New Orleans floods it and then it burns and falls into the flood waters never to seen again.
As for those who actually said "Had a great time, etc" maybe they were homeless to start or used to sleeping with critters, as for us it was sickening!

BTW, when the second mouse ran under the fridge it actually dislodged a DEAD roach for the world to discover. Maybe it hoping for mankind to give it a more suitable final resting place because obviously the housekeeping failed to suck it up during their diligent cleaning, NOT! Unfortunately TA doesn't provide infestation grading because this place would have received glowing reviews on that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    136
    32
    22
    18
See reviews for
70
153
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We have just returned from a 7 day stay in The Quarter House 25/12 - 1/1. Having read some of the reviews on here I was slightly nervous before I arrived!
We had a two bedroom / two bathroom apartment on the 4th floor. It was extremely comfortable with one king size bed ,one queen bed and a sofa bed. It was very clean and the maids came every day to clean, hoover and gave us extra towels. On days that we were still in the room when they came they came back later. There was no evidence of any little furry creatures as mentioned in other reviews!!
The location of the apartments was very central for seeing everything in the heart of the French Quarter. We heard no noise at all at night.
On Saturday and Sunday mornings there was a very welcome complimentary breakfast. Also during the week there was a wine and cheese gathering and a wine and muffelletta lunch.
On Sunday morning there was a free walking tour.
The kitchen was not very big if you wanted to cook a big meal but that did not bother us.
Reception staff were very efficient if you needed any help.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The front desk staff was very accomodating. Very helpful with touring and transportation needs. The hotel is in a great location for the French Quarter, no car needed. The Quarter House is on a street that has strip clubs and seedy bars. The noise level prohibits sleep. The rooms smell of stale beer, cigarettes, and mold. The carpets are disgusting. I never saw the halls vacumed or our room. Housekeeping comes before 10:00am so most mornings we just asked for clean towels. They don't come back later.Someone must have complained about the stench of the hotel and they sprayed some awful smelling oarnge cleaner around. Not a five star by any standard.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed here for 6 days. The location is great. Didn't see any bugs or mice. Was disappointed we had a queen bed , would have liked a king. Very clean and housekeeping was on top of everything. Would definitley recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We read the reviews after we already made our reservation and hesitated after hearing about the mice, bugs, etc. but we decieded to give it a try. Listen to us - DON'T give it a try! We had traded a 5 star, 3 bedroom unit week from a 5 star resort for this one....this was NOT 5 star! When we pulled up, there was no bell man, we got our own luggage in (family of 5) and then received a parking ticket for being in a spot that was only for 10 minute parking. The unit had an old, stained, worn couch and a tub that you would never want to use! We told the kids to keep their shoes on by the look of the rug. We still thought we would make the best of it and went and parked our car in the $18/day parking and walked to dinner. We told the kids it would be an adventure! We were right in the French Quarter - not exactly the atmosphere for kids. When we returned to our room, we decided to put sheets over the couches to sit on them and a LARGE mouse/rat ran out from under the pull out and then back. We then saw another one run along a wall. We packed up and left! The front desk person was nice enough...but sure didnt think much of the problem (they hear it alot! this is not by any means an isolated issue!). They justify having rodents by saying they are near restaurants in the city and that it is an old building...I dont know many people paying for a vacation who want to choose to stay with rodents. There wasnt a manager on duty to have our parkign refunded and I left 2 more messages over the next few days and still no one called back. This is not a good place! Especially if you have kids, want a clean room, would perfer not to see rodents.....for many reasons....dont go there! We gave it a try and really regretted it. There are nicer places in New Orleans, just a block or two from the French Quarter....Wyndym Hotel, Renaissance Arts Marriott...

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I was hoping to offer my 8 year old grand-daughter a touch of new orleans charm. Our room #503 was a huge let-down. The room smelled musty, the bed was uncomfortable and , on the 2nd night of our stay we were greeted by a very brave mouse! I am deathly afraid of the little creatures! We were given another room which actually was a little nicer although the musty odor was just as strong! The receptionist were very nice and helpful. I would not recommend any room above the 3rd floor.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I went back to NOLA after 10 yrs. A friend let us stay at her time share at the Quarter House.

First of all, on the 2nd day of our stay my $140 shoes went missing. They kept saying "if house cleaning finds anything they bring them up". Well, it never happened and they essentially told me to go *&%$ myself. They could care less...

Oh, and we shared the room the room with a little brown mouse. Nice touch.

Stay away from this place....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Address: 129 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarter House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.