We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quarter House Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quarter House Resort
Save
You added Quarter House Resort to your Saves list
129 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Quarter House for the last nine years. We go every year for the first week of Mardi Gras. Not only is the service impecable, but the rooms, which are really condos, are so comfortable, and so interesting. These are set about 2 blocks off of Bourbon St., so you are close enough to always be near the action, without having to deal with the all night noise and confusion. I have a firm rule against staying in "chains", and I have found the Quarter House to be very comparable in pricing, but instead of a bland room with two beds, you literally get a whole apartment. And it reeks of histroy and true New Orleans charm. I have always felt completely at home in the beautiful, dirty, smelly, wonderful town of NoLa, and the Quarter House is my home there. I wistfully wait all year to get back for a week of recharging.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    122
    28
    22
    18
See reviews for
65
137
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in January and it was great!!! The staff is super friendly and it is right in the action, but very quite. It's a great place and very clean. We walked outside of our door and could walk to everything we wanted to see and do. Very helpfull to have a full kitchen and a place to just rest after a day on the Streets of NOLA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

first trip to new orleans. was a n ice place to stay we had a view of the court yard from our bedroom.. very close to bourbon street. enjoyed our stay.we exchanged our timeshare for the week, housekeeping was excellent, free breakfast on sunday, tour of new orleans given was very good, also they had a free wine and cheese party,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location cannot be better, we were within 2 blocks of Bourbon Street. There were only the 2 of us, so the one bedroom unit with 2 baths and WD in the unit was very spacious for us. It is nicely updated, but it is on the dark side, and there is absolutely no view. It is not a full kitchen, but with a microwave and a full size refrigerator, it has everything one would need in NOLA. For anyone who have difficulties with stairs, this place could be a real challenge. We took advantage of the free French Quarters walking tour offered by the resort, and was pleasantly surprised to find it was a full 2 hour tour with a very experienced guide. As others have indicated, the staff here is quite friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed a week over Christmas 2012, room 205. The property has charm, the room was very clean (and daily housekeeping was an unexpected bonus). Well appointed in the furnishings area, kitchen not so much.

The noise level was our biggest complaint - the bedroom in our unit faced the street, so we not only got the regular street noise (conversations, vehicles), the garbage trucks were incredibly loud at 3:30AM. We ended up sleeping on the pullout sofabed in the living room a couple of the nights - ended the noise problem, and the sofabed was pretty comfortable (for a sofabed). If you get a higher floor, you'd probably be ok with the noise level. It IS the French Quarter, after all, and noise is to be expected.

Kitchen was rather undersupplied (no corkscrew, scissors, other small hand tools). Main closet needs a light. "Pool" and hot tub are basically in the middle of the walkway to rear units, not a very private experience, plus guests sit in the same small courtyard to smoke. We understand this is a space issue, but just want to make others aware of the situation.

We weren't informed ahead of time that construction would occur during our stay - in the unit next door! At least the workers didn't begin until after 8am and stopped by 5:30pm. The front desk staff were all very friendly and as accommodating as they could be.

Location is very convenient - the French Quarter is very walkable, plus this property is handy to the streetcar/bus on Canal St.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I will avoid too much fluff-speak:
Date of Stay: 16-23 November, 2012

Party of...2 humans, 1 dog (yes they are pet-friendly - BIG SMILE)

Type of stay: Timeshare (in house exchange - no charge)

Room: 504 - dark, no view, and a little cramped but well-equipped & nice enough for us & Einstein. Could use some furniture/lighting/bedding updating.

Check in: Quick & I mean QUICK and friendly - we checked in after midnight. One paper plus $100 cleaning fee for the dog and 1 paper for parking directions ($20/day valet - cheapest in the city and only 2 blocks from entrance to QH)- DONE! Room keys in hand :-) - maybe 3 minutes.

Quarter House atmosphere: friendly and ZERO timeshare push (another BIG SMILE). Tended to be a bit dark everywhere inside. Elevator worked. Front desk personnel very friendly. Buzzer for front door made me feel that I was in the "red district" but I never had a worry - even walking the dog early morning or late night. I did NOT like the auto-reminder to "watch your step" that played at full-volume when anyone went through the front door.

Tuesday Wine hour: very well-attended - nice gesture. Looked like a lot of owners have been around awhile.

Sunday Brunch: Like any continental breakfast at a Best Westerns or La Quintas.

Cooking Class: Cancelled (not sure why)

Building Exterior/Entrance: Nice - need to have wheelchair ramp for suitcase carts. It was impossible to maneuver up/down door steps. Again - they need to lose the recorded "watch your step" warning.

Check out: Handed in keys - quick & easy. Done! Fridays are busy check-in/out days.

Would recommend to anyone with a small pet. Couples or families. No heavy partiers please - this is a nice, friendly, NOLA vacation spot and I hope it stays as it is...maybe with a little more light in the rooms. Would loved to have read more of the history of the building also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Ideally located in the French Quarter, my wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.Their recommendations on what do to and where to eat greatly contributed to making our visit to New Orleans memorable. The rooms are smaller than at the usual timeshare resort but had everything that we could want to include a kitchen (minus a stove), whirlpool tub, and good wireless internet access. The only thing missing was an in-room washer/dryer. However, there are washers/dryers on the premises and they never appeared to be busy. In addition, unlike other timeshares resorts, there is daily maid service (most of the timeshares that we have stayed at are cleaned once or twice during a seven day visit). We had a great vacation and cannot wait until we can swap back into this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Address: 129 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarter House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.