We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't hear any ghosts!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Jackson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Jackson Hotel to your Saves list
Andrew Jackson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Milton, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Didn't hear any ghosts!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For years we have walked by the Andrew Jackson and wanted to stay. We did in June. Yes it is cheaper to stay in New Orleans in the summer but it is hot! The room was comfortable if you kept the ceiling fan on high. Small room, which is standard for NO. The room we stayed in was in the courtyard, room 108. We enjoyed eating a snack in the courtyard. Quaint little place in a great location. It is a stop on all the ghost tours but the only thing we heard was a yowling cat at 2 am. This is not a fancy hotel but a comfortable one. Worth the price we paid and would stay again.

Room Tip: Courtyard is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    27
    27
    39
See reviews for
34
63
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very easy to make your way around the French Quarter from it as it's only one block from the famous Bourbon Street!! The receptionist was very helpful and helped us to book a couple of tours too. Room was basic but suited our needs and had good air-con.

Only downside was when the tour company let us down on our last day, there was a lot of wrangling to get our deposit back form the same receptionist and I felt we had to prove our innocence, not a very nice way to finish unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosciusko, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A small group of us meet in New Orleans and were staying at the Andrew Jackson Hotel. When we arrived no one would help us in ANY way. I asked could i get help with my things and was told "they didn't do that". Even though there was no one in the lobby and two behind the counter. For the Valet service, I was just told to bring the keys to my truck to them when i got all my things out of the vehicle. I finally got my things to a second story room (with some help from my friends) down narrow hallways only to find out it was a tiny room. We booked two rooms and paid the SAME amount for both. The other was a nice room with a balcony. I returned to the front desk to ask why there was such a big difference. They did find another room for me one the first floor. NOW i was alone and had to make two trips back to the room to move my luggage myself. I have had a full hip replacement even have handicap tag on my truck.. BUT anyway.. I am not sure if they were to busy talking or why they would not help..We were leaving a little later to go out to eat when what do we see? the same one that told us they did not help with luggage was carrying a visitors luggage to their room..

After getting in the room. it was fairly clean but shower/tub has no safety stickers and almost fell a couple of times.. the water pressure is VERY low as well.. At check out time we had to wait for 2 1/2 hours to get our vehicles.. i understand they use a service for this and was told a few times of this.. the clerk said we give you a parking space for your $36. Were told at one time during the 2 1/2 wait that they were going to come pick us up and carry us to get our car and drive it back to the hotel our self.. lucky the valet service did finally bring our car.. VERY unpleasant staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed in the king suite overlooking the street with my own and rather large balcony. I enjoyed it but there were cigarette butts in the ashtray (not mine) which was not cleaned out for the three nights that I stayed there. The room was large and had a comfortable bed and a couch. WiFi was good. I liked the flaky croissant and the strong coffee for breakfast but it did not fill my stomach. Perhaps a fruit or two along with what they served would have been good. I loved the bathroom with its marble vanity. But they failed to replace the soap and I had the same soap for three days - and no soap holder so it was just lying there on the side of the tub!
The staff was helpful. I will put in here, a good word for Mary, who had to run twice to my room to check for stuff that I had forgotten there. Royal street is quieter and quainter than bourbon street. This hotel definitely lived up to that image. See photo for the history of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the king suite with the balcony overlooking the street. Its the best for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargersville, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is beat up and knocked down. Bathroom was tiny. No place to put anything.
Staff did the best they could with what they had to work with. The owners need to but a lot of work and money back into this hotel. Every in side is just plain WORN OUT

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Location, location, location! This small hotel is pretty much right in the heart of all the action but just far enough away from the noise of bourbon street to allow you to have a good nights rest.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpfull and we were able to book tours with reception.

We had a room just past reception with two queen beds and a decent sized bathroom, the room itself was quite large and spacious and we never felt like we were in each others way.

Once again, location! The hotel really is in such a good spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Andrew Jackson Hotel sits on Royal St. in the French Quarter, away from the noise and crowds of bar-hopping Bourbon St.,but close enough to walk over if you want to join in. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are small but comfortable, and a complimentary breakfast of strong coffee and croissants delivered to your room or to the quiet hotel courtyard is a nice touch. If you are looking for a lot of upscale amenities, look elsewhere, but if you prefer a small hotel that reflects the spirit of the city, the Andrew Jackson is a solid choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Address: 919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, the Andrew Jackson Hotel features fine Southern Hospitality and charming French Quarter accommodations. The Andrew Jackson Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 21 quaint guest rooms and suites. Our distinctly decorated guestrooms offer Old World charm and modern conveniences. Enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms or suites overlooking the lush tropical courtyard and French Quarter fountain. Our Royal Balcony Suites feature expansive views of Royal Street and the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Jackson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.