We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary get away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Jackson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Jackson Hotel to your Saves list
Andrew Jackson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary get away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I are celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. He made a reservation for surprise getaway , to New Orleans. We come to New Orleans often, and like to stay at different places to get a new experience every time we come, so, this is our first time staying at the Andrew Jackson Hotel on Royal . Before we even got in the room I asked if they had any other rooms might be bigger because it was our 30th anniversary and I was told no , that they were full. The room is very small and the bathroom is extremely small. We probably won't stay here again. But it was clean,

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at Andrew Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback so that we can use it in our ongoing efforts to improve our guests' experience.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our lobby and guest rooms for example, we recently upgraded our guest rooms with new bedding, mattresses, and flat screen televisions. Next we plan on adding new furniture, mini-refrigerators, and microwaves.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance after our upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    33
    28
    39
See reviews for
39
72
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

When i made the reservation for my mom and i , i was not aware of the its "Haunts" . I chose it for its character and historic appeal, it was not until my first night when i heard the whispers in the walls and the pitter patter of children's feet coming up the stairs. I was not afraid , but rather intrigued! So i went out and explored the rest of the hotel and took pictures of an orb, yes i had a sighting! but don't let this strike you with fear. all of my little ghosts were very friendly and playful! Just don't be surprised when you wake up with the tv turned to cartoon network. overall this may not be a hotel for little ones, because you may hear giggles that don't belong to them… but it is surely a place to stay in the french Quarter! the staff is lovely and kind , some just need a bit of warming up too, but don't forget to enjoy a complementary breakfast in the courtyard, and don't be afraid of the hidden friends that you will meet, because to see you must believe!

Room Tip: Room 204 to hear all of the sounds, and when intoxicated, very easy to reach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have booked a room here for me and a friend to stay in January but have not received any form of contact from this hotel. We are traveling from Australia. I cannot find an email address, have messaged them through Facebook and have found the phone number but only want to call as a last resort. Has anybody else had this problem?

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at Andrew Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Alice, thank you so much! Your business is very important to us. Our Director of Sales just sent your confirmation number via Facebook message since we had no email address for you. We know you will love our hotel and the area. If we can help with the planning of your trip in any way, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

After reading previous reviews, I was a little nervous about staying here. But honestly, this hotel was exactly what we needed. The staff were super friendly, even let us keep our bags there after checking out while we went out (since our flight was so late). The courtyard of the htel is so nice with the fountain and sitting area. The rooms are very small, but the beds are super comfortable and bathroom was huge! The hotel is very close to everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie P, General Manager at Andrew Jackson Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I"m looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We wanted to stay here when we took the ghost tour around the French quarters....yes it was so cute from the outside! old on the inside but what'd you expect. There was no pool but they let us use their sister hotel down the street, another cute building. Breakfast was continental but good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In New Orleans with a friend for a long weekend - i picked this hotel originally b/c of price and location . I have been to NOLA previously 4 times and always stayed at the chain hotels like the Marriott or Hilton. I am so glad i made the decision to try something different.

Loved this hotel and the charm - it was classic NOLA. The courtyard was right outside oru door and I took the complimentary breakfast out there each morning and sat and listened to the fountain and enjoyed the sunshine. The breakfast itself - while simple was delivered promptly to us each morning at the requested time and the croissants were always hot. The last morning there - there was even a rose on the silver tray . Very nice personal touches.

The room itself was spacious (a two queen room along the back of the courtyard). The TV is not a flat screen but did have cable WE did not even turn it on more then once - much more to do in New Orleans then watch TV! The bathroom was a bit awkward as the plug for the hairdryer, etc was behind you on the wall versus next to the sink but it was completely manageable. The only thing I would add is that some general "freshening up" for the bathroom would be nice - a new shower curtain type of thing - new caulk around the tile but there was no mold or dirt, etc. This is probably the only reason I gave it a 4 vs. a 5 star.

There were adequate towels and the beds were comfortable and the linins clean and fresh. Lots of pillows on each bed with is always a plus in my book.

The staff was exceptional - especially Katherine who assisted us on our last day setting up our taxi's for the next morning and just to chat with - she was a doll! There was a gentleman working during the day on Saturday that was not as friendly but got us the information we requested without a problem. Anyone can have a bad day from time to time I guess.

Location - AMAZING. two blocks at most from Jackson Square. Royal street is such a fun place to walk along - all the art, antiques, etc.

If you want a fun/different experience - I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay here again when I come back to New Orleans with my husband . It is a no frills hotel but so much more character and history then a standard chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the courtyard if possible. There are rooms within the main "house' of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

rude front desk
room not ready and they did not care (at 3 pm?)
dirty, filthy, moisture ridden, unclean - put towels on the ground to walk

only reason we stayed here was that it was mardi gras and super bowl weekend last year and it was the only available place left..

do not stay here, not one good thing to say about this place..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Address: 919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, the Andrew Jackson Hotel features fine Southern Hospitality and charming French Quarter accommodations. The Andrew Jackson Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 21 quaint guest rooms and suites. Our distinctly decorated guestrooms offer Old World charm and modern conveniences. Enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms or suites overlooking the lush tropical courtyard and French Quarter fountain. Our Royal Balcony Suites feature expansive views of Royal Street and the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Jackson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.