We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of it all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Jackson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andrew Jackson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Andrew Jackson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In the middle of it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had gone on a ghost tour 3 years ago and were told this place was haunted. We agreed if we could get a room on our next trip for $100, we would go. Well, we did get a room there for exactly $100 last week, and we spent one night. We loved that the hotel was right in the middle of the french quarter, so everything was in walking distance. The clerks were all super nice, friendly, and helpful. The room was small but just find for us, and the courtyard was also very nice. Special note: we were not visited by any ghosts. ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    21
    22
    32
See reviews for
27
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed there march 28th thru the 31st 2013. This Hotel was very expensive for what it was. We checked in and only received one Key. They kept the second key and didn't give a reason why. When we went up to our room the bathroom was filthy, there were safety pins on the floor, old receipts on floor as well, and toilet was stained. The walls were cracked and water stained. The windows did not lock and air conditioning was finally turned on our last night there.The couch in the room was filthy dirty I could not bring myself to sit on it. The bed mattress on the left hand side edge had red stains, not sure from what. I mean the whole room lacked attention, very disgusting. It looked like a vacuum had not been ran in a long time. My socks were black from walking on the carpet. The water pressure was terrible and impossible to shower. The breakfast was nothing more then boxes of cereal nothing fancy. The only thing good about this Hotel was the location. If you want to stay in that immediate areas stay next door at the cornstalk Hotel, very grand compared to this dump.... Never would I stay there again. Notice the rating was based on location ONLY.....

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Cornstalk or one of the major chain hotels.. Don't let their pictures foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel. It is right in the middle of the French Quarter, just a few blocks from Jackson Square and the French Market. It is very quaint, and has an interesting history. It was even featured on the Haunted History Ghost tour we took! Our room was the Petite Double. It was very small, only room for the bed, a dresser with a TV, a night stand, a small closet and a bathroom. It was perfect for a couple that wants to spend most of their time out and about touring New Orleans, and only needs "a place to sleep". Our room was outside of the main building, on the 2nd floor by the courtyard. It was very clean, but the soap smell was pretty strong. I guess that's better than a bad smell though! Despite being in the middle of the French Quarter, just a few blocks from Bourbon, I found that it was exceptionally quiet at night. It was also nice to hear the church bells of the St. Louis Cathedral ringing in the morning. They serve a continental breakfast and offer valet parking. It's actually quite a deal because even though check out is at 11, you do not have to get your car from valet parking until 4 pm, and you can even leave your bags behind the front desk when you check out until you pick up the car. Very convenient! The morning staff (Erica) was very nice, always smiling. The night staff (a male who did not give me his name) was not as friendly, and never smiled. We did have a small problem with our room, but he took care of it (it was freezing because they didn't turn the heat on in our room). This is an older hotel, so it does not have many amenities that the newer, more modern ones have. However, the price was great and as others have said, it really is all about location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel....its all about the location. There is no bell hop or room service, but it is 2 blocks from Bourbon! We had a room with balcony that looked over Royal Street. As other people have pointed out, it is loud 24 hours a day. Obviously that is the whole point of staying right of off Bourbon. Best weekend ever!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Convenient location to bourbon street and jackson square. Decent place for a couple of nights. Our bathroom smelled like sewage but it is New Orleans. Seemed clean enough. Comfortable beds, ceiling fan. No control over central heat or air. We had fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The Andrew Jackson Hotel on Royal St. In the French Quarter is a great central location. It is close to everything. An older hotel, but it appears that they are making improvements. Basic continental breakfast. Good beds. Nice large room and a nice small courtyard with a fountain . The staff is courteous, with exception of John, but he seems harmless, just poor social skills. Not the Waldorf, but a nice safe place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location. Clean. Friendly staff. Quaint (only 22 rooms). Fresh breakfast. Hot Community Coffee.

Cons: bright rooms (all the time). Drapes are thin and hard to sleep if you like some darkness. Walls/doors are thin. You can hear everyone that walks by. No control over HVAC in room. Ceiling fan helped with the stuffiness. Very tiny room and furnishings are pretty much shot, including the bed.

I love staying in old hotels, but the Quarter has so many more, at the same price. It won't kill you to stay here, but I wouldn't book again unless there was just nothing else available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson
Address: 919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Jackson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.