We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Jackson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Andrew Jackson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Jackson Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Convenient location to bourbon street and jackson square. Decent place for a couple of nights. Our bathroom smelled like sewage but it is New Orleans. Seemed clean enough. Comfortable beds, ceiling fan. No control over central heat or air. We had fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    22
    23
    35
See reviews for
29
56
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The Andrew Jackson Hotel on Royal St. In the French Quarter is a great central location. It is close to everything. An older hotel, but it appears that they are making improvements. Basic continental breakfast. Good beds. Nice large room and a nice small courtyard with a fountain . The staff is courteous, with exception of John, but he seems harmless, just poor social skills. Not the Waldorf, but a nice safe place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Pros: great location. Clean. Friendly staff. Quaint (only 22 rooms). Fresh breakfast. Hot Community Coffee.

Cons: bright rooms (all the time). Drapes are thin and hard to sleep if you like some darkness. Walls/doors are thin. You can hear everyone that walks by. No control over HVAC in room. Ceiling fan helped with the stuffiness. Very tiny room and furnishings are pretty much shot, including the bed.

I love staying in old hotels, but the Quarter has so many more, at the same price. It won't kill you to stay here, but I wouldn't book again unless there was just nothing else available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Andrew Jackson for 4 nights and really enjoyed our experience, proximity to everything and thestaff (AJ) was awesome! The courtyard is inviting and relaxing with the balconies overlooking it! we will be back! Very homy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Andrew Jackson. Both times were good experiences for us. For the people who have complained about the staff, all I can say is: treat people how you would like to be treated. We have never had a problem with any staff members.

The location is great. Go out the door to the right and at the corner take a left to go to Harry's Bar -- cheap drinks and take a right to go to the Clover Grill -- good eats.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Andrew Jackson Hotel in October and really enjoyed our stay there. We were in a room by the canon and it was comfortable and quiet. All staff was pleasant and accommodating. Would stop and visit with desk clerks on a daily basis. Got some good advice on best places to eat at for certain items and must see places to tour. Was always greeted in a friendly manner. We loved the location! Just far enough from the noisy areas but close enough to anything we wanted to do. Very safe area. I would definitely stay there again as long as I could get a room on 1st level. The stairs were a little steep and long for me but we traded rooms with our friends and all were happy. The courtyard was quiet and pleasant. Met some very nice people there. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms toward back of hotel quieter than rooms facing the street. Courtyard rooms very quiet. Stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here about a month ago and we had such a wonderful time in NOLA! This being my third time to the Big Easy, I really wanted to stay somewhere near Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop (my favorite bar by far). This was the perfect location!

It's perfectly situated far enough from crazy Bourbon St. and we didn't have too much noise inteference, except for the Bachelorette party that came stumbling in one of the nights. Who could blame them? Other than that though, it was the perfect distance from the huge party scene, but perfectly walkable to it within 5 minutes if needed.

The only thing I feel I have to mention (not necessarily a bad thing) was the mysterious wake up occurence I experienced every night we were there. I usually sleep very well in hotels, but for some reason, I'd wake up around the same time every night. We also experienced tapping on our walls one of the nights and the distinct smell of freshly lit matches in the bathroom during one of the mornings. When we'd come back to the room, a few of the items on our side tables would be shuffled around a little well after the housekeeping hours had occured.

Other than these oddities, the only other thing I can mention is that the rooms are very small and quaint. For us, we didn't need too much room because we were rarely in the room anyways. It was just the right amount of space for us to come back to in order to recompose.

4 stars Andrew Jackson!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Address: 919 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Jackson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.