We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal, Informative, Informal Walking Tour of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nola Tour Guy

Nola Tour Guy
Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA
1 504-300-9489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At NOLA TOUR GUY all our tours are free. How can we do this? We are so sure you will enjoy our historic walking tours that you will gladly and generously tip our guides. It’s the best guarantee in the business. Nola Tour Guy offers no novelty "ghost" or "vampire" tours, only the real history brought to life by our passionate guides. Join us, you won’t be disappointed.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Personal, Informative, Informal Walking Tour of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

David really is the "Tour Guy of New Orleans". He shared his wonderful knowledge of architecture, history and lore of the French Quarter. The tour was at a casual pace so we could all stick together and hear all he had to say. We ended up in the St. Louis Cemetery. He has two other tours and we can't wait to get back and take them. He calls it a "free" tour and of our 20 or so tourists - no one left without tipping/paying. He got applause, shouts of "thank you" and lots of tips. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fort stewart, georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I hope this guy sticks around for a long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It was a very thorough rundown of the French Quarter. He answered questions to things I didn't even think you ask. The highlight is absolutely the cemetery. It touches upon an important SCOTUS case and even 19th century art history.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This guy knows everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'm originally from New Orleans...I will never look at the streets of the French Quarter in the same way.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nola Tour Guy is a single guy who ventured out on his own to do 'free' tours. You pay what you think the tour is worth. It was very good and he really knows the city and the French Quarter in particular. I would recommend NOLA Tour Guy to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must-do walking tour of New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Did the walking tour of the French quarter with Dave - it was great! He is an awesome tour guide, very personable, funny, and knowledgeable. The tour lasted about 2 hours with lots of stops and explanations of architecture, historical events, and other facts about the city. You end the tour at the French Market, which has plenty of food, drinks, and activities for a post-tour hangout, but we asked for some extra suggestions from Dave for restaurants and bars, and he gave us some great spots to check out. Can't wait to go back to this amazing city, and we'll definitely want to do another tour with Dave when we go back! Thank you again :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola Tour Guy also viewed

 

Been to Nola Tour Guy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nola Tour Guy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.