We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice staff, costs can add up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit!
Ranked #40 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location, nice staff, costs can add up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I really liked the location, away from the quarter but easy walk there and easy walk to river. The walls are thin so you may hear room noise, very dog friendly, excellent bathroom and walk in shower!!! good views, internet and parking is expensive,, staff customer service varied from average to outstanding..room rates can vary A LOT can be 300 one day 69 the next..check out the courtyard and italian sculpture park next door..oh hotel has a really good fitness center too

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    215
    72
    32
    22
See reviews for
114
176
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I went to New Orleans for our first time to visit the french quarter and to see the Saints game. Upon arriving to the high rise hotel we knew we had booked the right room. The staff was friendly and the lobby was immaculate.

The hotel room was very spacious... especially the bathrooms. The bed was amazingly comfortable and I feel that I am picky in this area since I have trouble getting to sleep. The location of the Hotel ended up being perfect. The hotel is located right across the street from Harrahs casino and is a leisurly 10min. walk to the french quarter. Unless you want to actually stay on Bourbon street (noisy) I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, and the location was excellent - close to French Quarter & streetcar lines, but far enough away to be quiet. Parking is expensive ($29 plus tax), but that is to be expected in this area. But NO free internet access in the room? Give me a break - even budget hotels have that now! EVERYTHING was extra and pricey. Our mini-bar was missing diet drinks & had to walk over a block to buy any. Beds were very comfortable, & bedding was plush, but maybe too much so. Had to pull LOTS of bedding off beds to keep from feeling smothered under hot covers. We got a good price online, so no complaints, but we have had as much or more comfort & amenities at much cheaper places. Adelaide restaurant staff was awesome, and food was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here mid September. Perfect location. Swizzle Stick Bar - what can I say! We were treated warmly from beginning to end. We asked for dinner suggestions and even though they had their own restaurant - they directed us to Dragos (we wanted oysters) ....... oh my gosh - if you love oysters, heck if you just like them, you must go !!!!!!!!!! Clean, attractive, our room had a nice view - loved it.. Easy to Harrahs, Riverwalk, riverside train, short walk to streetcars. Go for it!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

A surprising value during the week of Christmas, which was a pretty good time to go to New Orleans. The Loews is on Poydras Street, a couple of blocks from the Hilton at the Mississippi River end of Poydras; across the street from the W Hotel and Harrah's casino, and a couple of blocks from the Pavillon Hotel. 2 blocks on the other side of Canal Street from the French Quarter.

The King room without view was a nice size, with big sitting area and 2 TV's, and I didn't really need the river view. My friends' River view room was smaller, but the view on the Mississippi makes for some fascinating observation.

The restaurant, Café Adelaide, is one of the Brennan restaurants, and was pretty darned good, for breakfast, at least.

I'll go back to the Loews.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My husband and I just got back from a 3 night stay at the Lowes and both really loved it. The hotel was immaculate and all dressed up for the holidays, the staff was so nice and the room was just great. I thought it was cute that they left the radio on to a jazz station when you enter the room for the first time (its the little things, right?). The room was very spacious and the bathroom was nice and updated. The bed was SOOO comfortable! We did so much walking in the French Quarter (definitely a walkable distance and worthwhile to save $$ on cabs- that expense adds up REAL fast) that is was wonderful to come back to such a comfy bed. Oh man if I could just take that bed in its entirety home with me! Anyway, I highly recommend the Lowes and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I recently stayed at the Loews for one night in Nov 2009. This hotel is gorgeous. It is a very soothing and peaceful place to come back to after a hectic day exploring New Orleans. The staff is attentive and helpful. We had a deluxe room with two queen beds, overlooking the river. The room was clean and spacious.
The hotel is in a perfect location. It is across the street from the W and Harrah's Casino. Walking distance to the French Quarter, shops and restaurants.
I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but my friend did, who is a chef. He couldn't stop raving about how great the food was.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a lovely place to stay while in New Orleans.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.