We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night's A Charm
Ranked #36 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
memphis TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel located in downtown New Orleans. The service was incredible. They acted as if we were the only people there. We felt very appreciated and were treated like royalty. The valet parking was no big deal for me and they told me up front that it cost 29 dollars. The pool and all facilities were very nice and everyone smiled the entire time. The price we paid was less than I would ahve paid for this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    205
    67
    30
    22
See reviews for
108
167
37
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My family & I stayed in this hotel during our annual trip to New Orleans in September 09.
We had a fabulous view of the New Orleans & the Mississippi! Our beds were super comfortable & everything was immaculate! This hotel is a dog friendly hotel with a dogie menu, but I never felt like I was over run with animals! Breakfast Buffet is Spectacular but cost around14-15 USD but was worth every penny. Hotel is easily accessible & within walking distance of all attractions. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The resort is located 1 block off of Canal street, which is the edge of the French Quarter. It is just north of the River Walk and next door to the Harrah's Casino. The rooms were very clean and nice. The service was good, but I was surpised when the Concierge was only semi familiar with restaurants in the area. The hotel restaurant was a dissappointment. Limited menu, breakfast wasnt available until 7a when we had an early flight and the food was average at best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here during our first trip to New Orleans because it seemed like a nice hotel for the price. That's exactly what it was. We were debating between this hotel and the W across the street and after seeing both we feel Loews was the right choice. Our room was very spacious and decorated in a very sleek modern style. It was also very quiet. The concierge was excellent and really helped us plan our stay and overall the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative about this hotel is that it is quite a long walk from, say, Bourbon Street. That's not to say it cannot be walked (we did it) but I didn't feel comfortable walking back through some of the quiet streets at night, especially once we got to the areas with less nightlife. The area around the hotel itself seemed safe enough, but there's not much directly nearby except for the Harrah's casino. The restaurant looked good, but we did not try it. However, the hotel had an excellent champagne reception one day and free lemonade in the lobby, which was very welcomed. I would stay here again, but only if I planned to take more taxi rides or if I had my own car.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The accommodations were fine, the room gorgeous and well-appointed, the staff was adequate though not superb. However, Loews failed to meet the number one requirement in a hotel: we couldn't get a night's sleep. The walls were paper thin. The people next door who were in and out all night starting at 3 AM might as well have been in our suite with us. We could hear every word and every chuckle and down to when one whispered a comment about killing us after the nth time asking them through the wall to be quiet. They were obnoxious but the real problem was that there is no sound-proofing in the walls. Quite an oversight for a HOTEL.
So if you are sensitive to noise as I am, this is definitely not your place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We just came back from a family trip in Mississippi and stopped in/out at Loew's. The hotel is great and we'd go back. We had a corner suite for 2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 and 6, and an adjoining room for grandma and adult son. The suite is huge, with a grand bathroom. The view of the Mississippi River is excellent. Mother's was right across the street with GREAT breakfasts and other meals (don't be intimidated by the line... it moves pretty quickly). All the staff were courteous and responsive. Just one problem with the housekeeping staff... as with the other Loew's we had stayed at ... didn't take out the garbage one day, didn't replenish towels, etc. For that we got our return night comped by the housekeeping manager. (If I ran the hotel, I'd rather do it right the first time than have to comp guests... they really need to pay attention to housekeeping quality!!!). Other than that, we had a GREAT stay. The restaurant onsite, Adelaide, has awesome food... but way too expensive (meal for 4 adults 2 kids = $300). We didn't like being nickled and dimed for parking and internet. Oh well... not perfect, but great! The kids liked the pool. Skip the massage.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I was recently on a business trip to New Orleans, a place that I will be returning to often but only because of business. The Loews hosted our conference, otherwise not a hotel for me. The bellmen trip over you because there are so many of them. But like the wait staff at the bar or hotel eatery, don't ask them to go an extra step for you because they won't.

My wife and I did not eat in the hotel without the conference making arrangements. It just wasn't worth the "attitude" the wait staff gives. The hotel location is ok, easy to get in and out of. There are plenty of city cabs around but they are flithy and damaged like you wouldn't believe. The hotel's location to the Bourbon Street area is a nice 4 to 5 extended blocks but the walk really isn't that bad. The Casino is directly across the street and the beginning of the "river walk" area is just at the end ( you can see it from the hotel lobby).

Frankly the only thing I liked about this hotel was the room. Although when I got to it the "awesome view" the front desk cleark mentioned was really the roof of the building next door. Apparently, she doesn't get out much to know what an "awesome view" is.

I'm sorry, this hotel just isn't worth the effort when there are so many other hotels at or equal to the cost that might be better suited for your stay?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.