We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent location... but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit!
Ranked #40 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel and excellent location... but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We just came back from a family trip in Mississippi and stopped in/out at Loew's. The hotel is great and we'd go back. We had a corner suite for 2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 and 6, and an adjoining room for grandma and adult son. The suite is huge, with a grand bathroom. The view of the Mississippi River is excellent. Mother's was right across the street with GREAT breakfasts and other meals (don't be intimidated by the line... it moves pretty quickly). All the staff were courteous and responsive. Just one problem with the housekeeping staff... as with the other Loew's we had stayed at ... didn't take out the garbage one day, didn't replenish towels, etc. For that we got our return night comped by the housekeeping manager. (If I ran the hotel, I'd rather do it right the first time than have to comp guests... they really need to pay attention to housekeeping quality!!!). Other than that, we had a GREAT stay. The restaurant onsite, Adelaide, has awesome food... but way too expensive (meal for 4 adults 2 kids = $300). We didn't like being nickled and dimed for parking and internet. Oh well... not perfect, but great! The kids liked the pool. Skip the massage.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    216
    72
    32
    22
See reviews for
114
176
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I was recently on a business trip to New Orleans, a place that I will be returning to often but only because of business. The Loews hosted our conference, otherwise not a hotel for me. The bellmen trip over you because there are so many of them. But like the wait staff at the bar or hotel eatery, don't ask them to go an extra step for you because they won't.

My wife and I did not eat in the hotel without the conference making arrangements. It just wasn't worth the "attitude" the wait staff gives. The hotel location is ok, easy to get in and out of. There are plenty of city cabs around but they are flithy and damaged like you wouldn't believe. The hotel's location to the Bourbon Street area is a nice 4 to 5 extended blocks but the walk really isn't that bad. The Casino is directly across the street and the beginning of the "river walk" area is just at the end ( you can see it from the hotel lobby).

Frankly the only thing I liked about this hotel was the room. Although when I got to it the "awesome view" the front desk cleark mentioned was really the roof of the building next door. Apparently, she doesn't get out much to know what an "awesome view" is.

I'm sorry, this hotel just isn't worth the effort when there are so many other hotels at or equal to the cost that might be better suited for your stay?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

This was my first visit to this hotel and I love it. I visit New Orleans often to visit extended family and usually stay at the Windsor Court but decided to try Loew's this time. I was very happy with my decision, the hotel is wonderful and my view was unbelievable. I stayed in room 2009 and had an awesome view of the river, from the bend to the bridge, it was fabulous! The room was very large with a great bathroom with separate shower, no complaints at all.
The location is extremely convenient to great restaurants, shopping and the French Quarter.
This will not be last stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The loews is in a very central location to downtown and the french quarter. The staff were a little bit slow, but we didn't let that bother us. We had lots of room service and the food was fantastic. The bar in the hotel is also great!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

I had the privledge to stay at the Loews this past weekend on a staycation. We were upgraded to one of the largest rooms I had the pleasure to enjoy - the seating area with two queens was perfect for my wife, three kids, and I. Great location for going to the aquarium, bug museum, and getting on the streetcar to go get some beignets. My kids loved the indoor pool. Love the bellstaff, they were very friendly, loved the breakfast buffet - the omelet man was great!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldWideTraveler
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

First off, it was Mardi Gras in the middle of the 3 days I stayed but that should have no bearing on the concerns I have with Loews.
Internet costs $12.95 a day?!? Are you serious?!? This is not an inexpensive hotel and to have a cash grab such this, truly annoying.
More than one other person in the group I was with was improperly billed on the minibar in the room. I took nothing but got a bill which was reversed when I protested. Another money grab?
Finally, the coffee and paper cups for the morning beverage were not replenished once in 3 days. I suppose that being Mardi Gras the real mugs were locked up for safe keeping but they took the used paper cups and left me with nothing! I stayed for another week in New Orleans and was happy to be at another hotel that was infinitely more accomodating with free internet, resupplied amenities and infinitely friendlier service at less than half the cost and only a short distance away.
The lounge and restaurants were overpriced and service was poor, yes I mentioned it was Mardi Gras but people were not even particularly friendly, more exhasperated or annoyed at working and not partying perhaps?
I really have nothing positive to say, I was happy to be out of there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Stay here only for the location, it has a nice view of New Orleans and isn't far from the French Quarter. Parking is $30 for valet which basically you have to use and you have to unload and load up on busy Poydras street. The staff AREN'T friendly or helpful at all!!! The tub was dirty, and be prepared if you take a shower to have it fluctuate on you. The room is nothing to write home about...it's small and it has no amenities but a single cup coffee or tea maker. We got in late and were tired so we ordered room service...be prepared to spend $$$ for cold food. If you want to spend ALOT of money for BAD SERVICE and NOTHING EXTRA (surprised they don't charge for ice) then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.