We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Play!
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I attended a work event here and did not want to have to drive after the party. We stayed at Loews at a discounted rate. The bar/lounge downstairs was crowded but fun. It was great to see the vibrancy of New Orleans (and a bunch of huge, interesting drinks) inside. The bartender happily made me a "fauxhito", which was pretty good for a drink sans alcohol. The hotel room was spacious and tastefully decorated, as was the bathroom. The outside view was not very exciting (but this is New Orleans after all). The night was quiet and peaceful. It probably helped that we were on the 10th floor. The checkout in the morning was easy, and the staff members made us feel welcome. I would consider returning if I had a late night event downtown again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is a unique experience when you are able to enjoy your city as a tourist. We are delighted we were able to provide a comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere for you and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    303
    92
    41
    29
See reviews for
187
241
50
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just checked in for a brief visit with my wife. Was appalled by the surly and very curt "welcome" at check-in by Dmario, who brought a crappy attitude with him to work today. For $400/night, you could have a personality and speak more nicely to my wife. Management would be smart to review their training. Completely soured our visit before it even got started.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We take the service from our team members to guests very seriously and would like the opportunity to speak to you further in reference to your experience. Please contact us at neworleanscustomerservice@loewshotels.com and let us know when it would be best for us to reach out to you. We look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Loews in March for my birthday. I thought it was perfect. The service was outstanding in every department that I dealt with. They sent up a bottle of wine and some chocolates for my birthday. The concierges were more than helpful and helped so much with our trip. I love the location. It was walking distance from the French Quarter but quiet. We had a great view of Mississippi river from our room. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Get a view room opf the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for you feedback and also for allowing us the opportunity to part of your special visit. Our riverview rooms is one of many great amenities we offer and take great pride in. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members and look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Arrived on Saturday July 13, 2013 for USMC Viet Nam Reunion. This was the host hotel and what a great choice. The rooms were perfect as well as the hospitality. This hotel is close to everything. The French Quarter is a short walk and if you need casino time walk directly across the street. The dining experience in New Orleans is awesome. Take time to take it all in and enjoy your stay at Lowes.
Only one negative and that is the parking rate at Lowes is $39.00 a day. They gave our group a $5.00 a day discount. Don't let this discourage you from this hotel. Every hotel in this area charge a parking fee.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a great view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We were very honored to have your group with us and are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location is perfectly located to the great attractions New Orleans has to offer. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are certainly cheaper hotels in NOLA, but we had always wanted to try Loews, and since every other hotel was booked up during the Essence Music Festival, we really had no choice but to spend double on a room for 2 nights in New Orleans. We were looking forward to the "service level" from a hotel that prides itself as a luxury hotel. When we checked in and got to our room, we checked towels first. There were 3 bath towels, 3 wash clothes. We called the front desk to request 1 more bath towel and 1 more wash cloth, as there were 4 in our party (2 adults, 2 children). They said they'd be right up. We waited an hour and still no towels. We headed out and upon returning (late) to our room, found that the towels had still not been brought up. We called the front desk again and told them 2-1/2 hours ago someone said they were on the way. They finally arrived. We thanked them, got the kids ready for bed and pulled out the sofa bed to find there were no sheets, blankets or pillow for the sofa bed. We called the front desk again, now irritated that this was the 2nd problem already. Twenty minutes later they arrived with sheets and blankets for the sofa bed. Day 2 - the iron didn't work, had to wait to have someone bring up one that heated up. We left for the day, got back at 5 and our room still hadn't been cleaned. We decided to take the kids to the pool so we weren't in the way when maidservice arrived. When we got back to the room, the maid had been there, but left us NO towels, NO wash cloths and NO shampoo or conditioners and none of the trash cans had been emptied. We called the front desk to let them know and within 15 minutes someone had brought the items to our room. We had to leave one more time this day, called valet, and headed down to get our vehicle. We then waited 45 minutes for our car to be brought around! The valet staff mentioned that they were understaffed with the Essence Music Festival going on. I told him then instead of jacking up the price of rooms that weekend because they were the only place left with vacancies, they should have lowered the rates knowing that service was going to suffer. When we got back to our room we received a call telling us that they had lost the keys to our vehicle and asked if we had another set. Why would we carry 2 sets of keys to our car while on vacation? They later called back to tell us they had our keys, it was someone else's keys they had lost. We asked if they could transfer us to the manager. We talked to the Asst Mgr just to let him know how dissatisfied we were with this entire experience. Losing our car keys, waiting 45 minutes for the car, no towels 2 days in a row, the sofa bed, the iron, everything. It was worse than what you'd get from a budget hotel. He said he was just the Asst Mgr and that there was nothing he could do about it and that we needed to talk to the Mgr the next day when he is in. I asked "so what are you even here for? Your position seems unnecessary." He stated that we should wait till we get the bill, then call and dispute it. Really? What a lazy substitute for customer service. Never again will we EVER pull in to a Loews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for providing your honest feedback. We apologize for the many inconveniences described in your review. We would like the opportunity to speak to you further in reference to the challenges experienced during your visit. Please contact us at neworleanscustomerservice@loewshotels.com and let us know when it would be best for us to reach out to you. We look forward to speaking to you.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided to combine a business trip with a celebration of my husband's birthday and it was fantastic. Upon arrival we were thrilled to find that the hotel manager, David Bilbe, had recognized his birthday with a personal note, special amenities, and room upgrade. The bellman, Jose was extremely friendly and rapidly assisted with our luggage on arrival so that we were timely for our restaurant reservations. When we returned to the hotel after dinner, the Swizzle Stick bar was the perfect spot for a nightcap featuring block ice and the perfect Old Fashioned. The bedding, including the pillows, linens, and duvet were totally luxurious and comfortable. The following morning, we called the Valet for our car and it was waiting for me when I arrived downstairs. If you are looking for pampering, caring staff, a great room and overall luxury, you will love the Loews. It was a great New Orleans experience for business and special occasions.

Room Tip: Great views of the Mississippi River and the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your husbands special birthday occasion with us. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team members. We pride ourselves in making every visit special and look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work so I found it to be a good value due to the negotiated rate. The stay was during Jazz Fest though and if I'd paid on my own, it would have been a bit steep.

Wonderfully large rooms. Great gym. Restaurant is super yummy but slow. But where else could you possibly have 3 martinis at lunch for 75€.

Location is pretty good. A few blocks from the quarter. Easy to get there and enjoy, but not close enough to hear the madness.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback on your experience in New Orleans and at our property.

We pride ourselves in providing a great location and level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.