We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
You are Different Here!
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I reserved a Grand King for me and 3 other friends. The room was very roomy even for 4 grown women. We stayed during the Essence Festival and it was very convenient to the French Quarter and the Convention Center. Unfortunately, the River Walk is closed so shopping will have to be done at the Jackson Brewery. The employees are cordial and very friendly.

Room Tip: There is a separate shower and tub which was perfect. The room is very spaciousnand posh!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel practices some environmentally-friendly practices (linen conservation).
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members. The Riverwalk mall is currently under renovation. We hope you can enjoy shopping there during your next visit to New Orleans. We look forward to hosting your next visit.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    265
    87
    38
    27
See reviews for
156
208
46
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here with my son on a trip to visit Tulane (which is not very close) and ventured full tilt into the party scene adjacent to the French Quarter. When we pulled up after getting a decent Internet rate for the July 4th holiday, my heart skipped a beat when I notice the $39 night parking charge (valet the only option). At least the attendant realized the gouging going on and said most of the parking in the area was high (which it was). The hotel was top notch with fine lobby, rooms, workout facility, etc. You will be charged for everything however (coffee $2 cup, internet $14.95 etc.) but this is in part the challenge of NOLA. If you get a good enough rate up front it may not matter but beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. We hope your and your son enjoyed your visit to Tulane University and are delighted that you were able to enjoy some of the other great attractions our city has to offer. We do offer complimentary Emeril's coffee in each of our guest rooms as an added amenity. We look forward to your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is artsy, well designed, clean and very well located but they could do a lot better on service which was extremely average starting from the check-in process which was very long and the service at the cafe which was poor and slow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback and will communicate them to our team to ensure we are providing the best service levels possible. We look forward to, hopefully, having you with us again. We would love to have another opportunity to demonstrate the service levels we are known to provide.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, the staff is nice for the most part, but we had an incredibly bad experience. There was a wedding in the hotel the week we were there. Our second night there we went to sleep early. About 10:30 PM we were rudely awakened by the very loud voices of what sounded like a dozen people in the room next to ours. We called the front desk and after some surprisingly necessary persuasion the manager said he would send security to that room. We heard two security guards talking to the rude people and the guy who rented the room was telling them "...I spent thousands of dollars and I knew this was going to happen." I went out and told him that it did not give him the right to disturb everyone around him. The security guards said they would take care of it and they left. A few minutes later it started again. When we called the front desk again the manager said he could do nothing about it and asked if we wanted to move to another room. We said we should not be asked to be inconvenienced and told him to ask them to move. He refused but said he would send security up again. We heard them once again confronting the other people and sure enough, the noise immediately began again right after they left. I then went down to the front desk and had to beg the manager to come up and listen for himself. He did and then finally asked the other guests to relocate at 12:00 midnight to a suite upgrade as an apparent reward for their bad behavior. We have done extensive traveling and could not imagine any other upscale hotel asking a guest to relocate because another guest is causing a disturbance. He ultimately comped us for that night but it was never a money issue but rather a matter of principle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback. We will utilize your comments to ensure that our security and leadership team are following all necessary procedures as it relates to noise complaints. We definitely understand how this was an inconvenience. It is our goal to ensure the satisfaction of each of our guests without inconvenience to another guest. Clearly we fell short during your experience. We have shared your comments with our team and are confident that these matters will be handled accordingly moving forward.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon which was a fantastic deal. The hotel is centrally located between the French Quarter and Riverfront area of New Orleans, right across the street from Harrah's Casino and there are plenty of great attractions within easy walking distance. This area is a bit more quiet than the bustling Bourbon Street hotels, yet still close enough to walk to the wild side.

My wife totally enjoyed the spa in the hotel and although we stayed on a busy weekend, they were able to squeeze her in for a massage appointment without hassle. The staff is very pleasant, and the room service, though pricey, was excellent! A great mini-bar, and we were very pleased to see they have an in-room safe that will accommodate most small to medium size laptops - I wish more hotels would have these!

Room Tip: The higher floors have great views of the city/river and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location is definitely convenient to all the best attractions New Orleans has to offer. I am happy that you were able to enjoy your experience in our city and at the Loews New Orleans. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here a few nights on business.
Hotel is clean and rooms were ok, nothing special.
Decor is borring.
Hotel lobby is relatively small.
What I found disappointing most was that the hotel really lacked personality. For all I knew i was staying in a studio apartment.
Yes, staff is friendly, yes rooms are clean, but its very basic place. Nothing special.
The Westin is a few blocks away and it did catch my eye, would investigate if I came back.
Wouldnt come back to the Loew's as again, there was just nothing special or different, just a plain hotel.
Prefer something with a bit more personality.
I also went by the Hilton. The lobby is much bigger and its a more full service hotel.

Room Tip: River view on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We will definitely share your comments with our team and utilize them to work to improve both our product and services. We pride ourselves in providing a 4 Diamond product and service levels and apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you. We look forward to hopefully having another opportunity to demonstrate the product and service levels we are known for to you.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Alabama, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel with an awesome location. It is just steps to some FANTASTIC places to eat and to the River Streetcar, which is a lifesaver. Room had an awesome view of the bridge over the Mississippi River which was much more than I expected with the rate I paid. The room was extremely clean and service couldn't have been better. We only had 1 minor issue and that was my 5 year old daughter's stuffed animal disappeared (we think it just got took out in the sheets). The staff seemed genuinely upset about the problem and was very kind to her every time she asked if they found it. They even took the picture she drew and told her they would make sure everyone took a look at it so they could keep a watch out for it. If there had been nothing else this would make me come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your experience with us and apologize for the mishap with the missing stuffed animal. We will share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are properly checking all areas to ensure personal items are not being removed. We appreciate your patience and understanding. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.