We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
You are Different Here!
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though we booked this stay with a third party online site, and received an amazing deal (40% off), we would not mind paying the full price to stay here vs other hotels within the area. It's an upscale hotel without the attitude. Check-in was pleasant & friendly, our rooms were upgraded to the river view when we asked, and our questions/concerns were answered with genuine warmth & attentiveness. Our room was a nicely appointed, large (for NOLA), very clean, and the king beds were comfortable. Getting to the heart of the french district was easy 10-15 min leisurely walk, but Harrah's is literally next door. The only concern was the outrageous valet parking cost of $39 - do yourself a favor and park a little north (2 min walk) of the hotel for half this amount.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Our location is perfect for business and leisure. We do our best to provide competitive comparable parking rates for downtown New Orleans. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and product and look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    265
    87
    38
    27
See reviews for
156
208
46
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

OK - I'll admit up front that I am tight (frugal to the extreme) and I have to admit that every hotel is going to be more expensive when you are situated in the heart of a big touristy city. But to pay $200 a night for a room that is no better than many rooms half the price frustrates me.

That said, the bed was very comfortable; the sitting area with sofa, coffee table, a second TV and work table with ethernet cable and swivel chair were great features; the Kuerig coffee maker was special; the fridge (once all their drinks were repositioned) was useful - but what, no microwave?; having a tub in addition to the large tiled shower was nice (and I did appreciate the dual control that allows both temperature control and volume control); having an umbrella in the room came in handy and they always have one at the door; hair dryer and lighted mirror in the bath are great for the wife.

My biggest complaint and what I will always remember is that every day I had to return to the lobby from the 15th floor to get my card fixed so I could get into my room. And all I ever got was "Sorry." This was a Sunday to Friday stay so four days in a row I had to get my key card re-formatted. Another bone of contention for me was the $39/night for parking. I moved my car to the lot the Westin uses where it was only $25/night and less than 5 minute walk away.

I attended several functions and the staff were great. Great food served. The lobby is a comfortable place to relax. The rating would be four star except for the key card and parking.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room on the south side with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your honest feedback on your experience with us. We will use your feedback to ensure our service is in line with our service promise to each of our guests. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the keys. The keys are magnetic and if you happened to be passing through or by anything that could have demagnetized them on a daily basis this may have been the cause. Our goal is to accommodate any and all request to ensure your comfort. We do have microwaves available upon request for your convenience. When travels bring you back our way just let us know you would like one and we will ensure it is placed in your room prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Loew's during the New Year's week 2012. I would rate this as a four-star hotel for it's service, location, Cafe Adelaide and cleanliness. I noticed that they allow pets which is good for pet lovers. The cuisine in the resturant was always very good and quite a selection as well.

Room Tip: The only downside was that our room overlooked a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your experience at our property. We hope to see you again soon. Be sure to request one of our river view rooms during your next visit with us. Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the moment we checked in, my family and I were treated like royalty. This hotel is the nicest around and is centrally located for all your needs. The Riverwalk is only minutes away, and the Harrah's Casino is directly across the street. But, it's not what is outside the hotel that makes this a five-star experience.
Every single staff member was friendly and courteous. The rooms are quite spacious. The food at the Cafe Adelaide was incredible. All-in-all, this is THE hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Get a room with the skyline view for sunsets, river view for sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our team members are our most valuable amenity. Thank you again for visiting our property and dinning at Cafe Adelaide. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location is ideal, service is outstanding - you just can't go wrong!

I've stayed at several Loews properties, and its one of my favorite chains now. They strike a perfect balance between luxury and price - you get an upscale experience without being gouged for some of the things that high-end hotels are notorious for, e.g. you can bring dogs and pay just $25, instead of some that claim to be dog-friendly, and charge $150 or more per stay. Also, they waive the WiFi charge for members of their frequent guest program - our teenagers were on it pretty often, so we had 3 or 4 devices on at once.

This one is a short walk from the French Quarter, and very close to the Riverwalk, and across the road from Harrah's casino. We spent a week, without a car, and packed in a whole bunch of activities, helped immensely by their excellent concierge, James Arey. This gentleman is a gem, and would fit in fine at a Ritz Carlton or the Burj in Dubai! He got us reservations when none were available, gave us recommendations for music, dining, and dining with music, along with attractions like the Garden district, cemeteries and swamp tours, and we loved every one of them (even the teenagers - not a single eye-roll!)

The room was large (over 500 sqft), and we had a great view of the river. The two queen beds were very comfortable, and the daily maid service was very good. The only thing we found a bit odd was that the furniture was a bit sparse for the size of the room - the huge window with a view just begged for a couple of comfy armchairs for morning coffee (the coffee provided was quite good). The bathroom was large and very well-equipped, with a shower stall and large, comfy tub.

Brunch at the restaurant was very good, and they have some interesting dishes. They do have a pool and hot tub, but that's probably the only underwhelming aspect overall - the pool is tiny, and completely indoors (no windows at all). And the HVAC system wasn't keeping up - it was very warm and humid around the pool. The fitness center seemed well-equipped, but we didn't use it - we were too busy pigging out ;-).

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room. The Grand queen-queen is one of the bigger rooms they have, and it did he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for being one of our valued Loews You First guests. We are delighted that you choose to stay with us when you travel. Our location is perfect for visiting all of the New Orleans attractions without the need for a vehicle. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to James. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The room I stayed in was, I think, a mini suite - not a full suite with multiple rooms, just one main room with a separate bathroom, but the room was very spacious. The bed was VERY comfortable [and, as a sufferer of chronic pain, things like a good bed really make all the difference in the world]. I was there for a conference where all the meals were provided for, so I cannot say what the hotel's restaurant was like per se, but if the buffets we ate each day are any indication, the food was truly magnificent!

The location couldn't be better, either. Across the street is a casino if you're into gambling [I'm not], but more importantly, it is a very short walk to the French Quarter, perhaps 3 blocks to get to it, and all the insanity that is the French Quarter! I went on a walking tour while there and I will review that as well in a separate rating.

Room Tip: I can't say what the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel from mine were like, but my view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy your experience with us. We hope we were able to provide some relief from your workload while with us. Our location provides quick walking access to several French Quarter and downtown New Orleans attractions. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you when you return to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friend & I stayed here the first weekend of March. This is a really nice property and a great location. When we checked in we were greeted by Patrick who upgraded us to a very nice suite. The rooms are very nice and quiet and the location is perfect. It is a short walk to the French Quarter, but far enough away to escape the noise. It is also close to the river walk and many nice restaurants. We found the employees to be welcoming and helpful and the check in and out process to be very easy. This is definitely a hotel I would stay in again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Patrick. Our entire team takes pride in ensuring that the experience in our city and at our property are above the expectations of our guests. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.