We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night's A Charm
Ranked #36 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is THE hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the moment we checked in, my family and I were treated like royalty. This hotel is the nicest around and is centrally located for all your needs. The Riverwalk is only minutes away, and the Harrah's Casino is directly across the street. But, it's not what is outside the hotel that makes this a five-star experience.
Every single staff member was friendly and courteous. The rooms are quite spacious. The food at the Cafe Adelaide was incredible. All-in-all, this is THE hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Get a room with the skyline view for sunsets, river view for sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our team members are our most valuable amenity. Thank you again for visiting our property and dinning at Cafe Adelaide. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    205
    67
    30
    22
See reviews for
108
167
37
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Location is ideal, service is outstanding - you just can't go wrong!

I've stayed at several Loews properties, and its one of my favorite chains now. They strike a perfect balance between luxury and price - you get an upscale experience without being gouged for some of the things that high-end hotels are notorious for, e.g. you can bring dogs and pay just $25, instead of some that claim to be dog-friendly, and charge $150 or more per stay. Also, they waive the WiFi charge for members of their frequent guest program - our teenagers were on it pretty often, so we had 3 or 4 devices on at once.

This one is a short walk from the French Quarter, and very close to the Riverwalk, and across the road from Harrah's casino. We spent a week, without a car, and packed in a whole bunch of activities, helped immensely by their excellent concierge, James Arey. This gentleman is a gem, and would fit in fine at a Ritz Carlton or the Burj in Dubai! He got us reservations when none were available, gave us recommendations for music, dining, and dining with music, along with attractions like the Garden district, cemeteries and swamp tours, and we loved every one of them (even the teenagers - not a single eye-roll!)

The room was large (over 500 sqft), and we had a great view of the river. The two queen beds were very comfortable, and the daily maid service was very good. The only thing we found a bit odd was that the furniture was a bit sparse for the size of the room - the huge window with a view just begged for a couple of comfy armchairs for morning coffee (the coffee provided was quite good). The bathroom was large and very well-equipped, with a shower stall and large, comfy tub.

Brunch at the restaurant was very good, and they have some interesting dishes. They do have a pool and hot tub, but that's probably the only underwhelming aspect overall - the pool is tiny, and completely indoors (no windows at all). And the HVAC system wasn't keeping up - it was very warm and humid around the pool. The fitness center seemed well-equipped, but we didn't use it - we were too busy pigging out ;-).

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room. The Grand queen-queen is one of the bigger rooms they have, and it did he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for being one of our valued Loews You First guests. We are delighted that you choose to stay with us when you travel. Our location is perfect for visiting all of the New Orleans attractions without the need for a vehicle. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to James. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The room I stayed in was, I think, a mini suite - not a full suite with multiple rooms, just one main room with a separate bathroom, but the room was very spacious. The bed was VERY comfortable [and, as a sufferer of chronic pain, things like a good bed really make all the difference in the world]. I was there for a conference where all the meals were provided for, so I cannot say what the hotel's restaurant was like per se, but if the buffets we ate each day are any indication, the food was truly magnificent!

The location couldn't be better, either. Across the street is a casino if you're into gambling [I'm not], but more importantly, it is a very short walk to the French Quarter, perhaps 3 blocks to get to it, and all the insanity that is the French Quarter! I went on a walking tour while there and I will review that as well in a separate rating.

Room Tip: I can't say what the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel from mine were like, but my view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy your experience with us. We hope we were able to provide some relief from your workload while with us. Our location provides quick walking access to several French Quarter and downtown New Orleans attractions. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you when you return to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friend & I stayed here the first weekend of March. This is a really nice property and a great location. When we checked in we were greeted by Patrick who upgraded us to a very nice suite. The rooms are very nice and quiet and the location is perfect. It is a short walk to the French Quarter, but far enough away to escape the noise. It is also close to the river walk and many nice restaurants. We found the employees to be welcoming and helpful and the check in and out process to be very easy. This is definitely a hotel I would stay in again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Patrick. Our entire team takes pride in ensuring that the experience in our city and at our property are above the expectations of our guests. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was great in many, many ways, with a couple of minor (to us) exceptions. First, its location was perfect for us, adjacent to the French Quarter and in walking distance to the WWII Museum, the Aquarium, many great restaurants, and the harbor where the cruise ships dock. Best of all, the room decor is fresh (many other hotels we considered had very poor reviews for the state of their decor; this was NOT a problem at Loews) and the room was clean. We did not eat in the restaurant, but someone told us the food is good. The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. I do have 2 drawbacks to share: hotel parking is a startling $40 per night. We decided to use it because the parking is not just covered but takes up floors 2-7 in the hotel; in short, we really felt the car was safe there. The other drawback is that they charge $12.95 or $11.95 PER DAY for wi-fi. this really is outrageous and uncalled for; we did not use it, and I strongly recommended that they provide it free; after all, Hampton Inn does! Still, we would definitely stay there again for the perfect location, clean, fresh room decor, and car safety.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Luv this hotel, I always try to book here when I visit New Orleans. The rooms are larger than most hotels downtown and the staff are always friendly and ready to assist when needed. Once, my friends car would not start, and they gave her a boost. The only time, I don't really stay at this hotel is during the Essence Festival- Essence usually provides discounts to hotels, but unfortunately, Loews is not one of them. Also, if you can't book at the W, Loews is directly across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Loews New Orleans in your travels. We appreciate your feedback. I am happy we were able to assist your friend with her vehicle troubles. Our team takes great pride in providing a high level of service. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is not the hotel for someone looking for the cheapest place to stay. But if you want to step
it up a bit and get great value, this is the place for you. It is a 5 star hotel at 4 star prices. The service is warm and very welcoming. The hotel is well located out of the noisy French Quarter but near enough to walk to most places, including the Superdome. Cafe Adelaide, a Brennan restaurant, is located within the hotel and has a fabulous brunch and the Swizzle Stick Bar is hopping and has very creative cocktails. There is a fitness center and spa on the premises and valet parking for a fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. At the Loews New Orleans we consider ourselves a destination within a destination. From the Swizzle Stick Bar to Cafe Adelaide Restaurant we take great pride in ensuring each of our guests has a positive dinning experience. We look forward to your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list