We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, well appointed and convenient to all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit!
Ranked #40 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, well appointed and convenient to all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located across the street from Harrah's, three blocks from the French Quarter this hotel is within walking distance of all of the attractions New Orleans has to offer. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier. While we didn't visit the bar or restaurant they were certainly crowded and appeared to draw quite a crowd both nights we were there. My next trip to New Orleans will definitely include a stay at Loew's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location is one of the greatest amenities we can offer. We hope to welcome you back to our city and property soon.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    216
    72
    32
    22
See reviews for
114
176
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I must admit that the rug in my lovely room had seen better days...but frankly, I just didin;t care. The room was spacious, huge windows lots of natural light. The location of the hotel was excellent in my opinion..close enought to walk to the quarter, casino, warehouse district, and the St Charles streetcar. It was just removed enough from the craziness of Bourbon street....I did like that. Many really good restaurants nearby as well as the museums and canal street for supplies, tee shirts..etc etc.
The customer service is very good here....excellent concierge services. I felt very taken care of there....all in all a great stay and I would love to retrun!

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in New Orleans and at the Loews New Orleans Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will be inspecting our carpet condition to ensure the product is up to your standards as well as ours. We hope to welcome you back to our property soon.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For a recent business trip to New Orleans, I spent a lot of time comparing the major hotels located in the downtown business district. I settled on the Loews as it had one of the highest ratings (here and on other sites) of New Orleans hotels. While on my trip, I also got to see many of these nearby hotels as I visited colleagues who were staying in them.

I quickly got the impression that the hotels in New Orleans are overall not particularly luxurious. While the Loews is indeed one of the nicest hotels in New Orleans (and the nicest of the ones I saw), it is really just average on a broader national level. The lobby of the hotel was very well designed, with a good lounge and apparently well-known bar and restaurant. The common area decor was tasteful, though not particularly stylish or modern. My "grand king" room was very spacious, but perhaps too much so, as the room seemed sparse with lots of wasted space. The decor was certainly dated (perhaps 15 years), though the rooms were generally clean and well maintained. There was nothing particularly interesting about the rooms or the hotel, just an overall pleasant experience.

If I return to New Orleans, I'd definitely stay at the Loews again. Just don't expect to be overwhelmed by style or luxury (no matter where you stay).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback of your experience in New Orleans and at the Loews New Orleans Hotel. We pride ourselves in providing a clean, stylish and luxurious product. We are in the planning process of updating our decor and will ensure that your feedback is taken into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews New Orleans on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Nice room, great bell men. The fitness center was probably the best of any place I have stayed. Right across from the casino. It wasn't too far from the French Quarter, maybe 15 minutes to get to the heart of the Quarter. The only issue with the location is crossing Canal Street to get to the French Quarter, beyond that, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our location is perfectly located near the French Quarter as well as many of the city's great attractions. Our staff pride themselves in ensuring that each of our guests feels welcome to the city and our property. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our property soon.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is in a great location within walking distance of the riverfront where you can catch a trolley or you can easily walk to the French Quarter. The rooms are larger than most in the area and very clean. Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. We will stay here again on future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing an clean and comfortable product with great service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews New Orleans Hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here leading up to, and for New Year's 2012. Prices were of course up, but found them to be reasonable for the time of year. Easy walk to the Superdome for a Saints game, tons of great restaurants nearby, right by the Riverwalk and Harrah's Casino. The rooms are so comfortable, clean, and spacious, most have great views. Had wonderful service with everyone we encountered at the hotel. Nice that it is a few blocks, but still an easy walk to all the excitement of Bourbon St and Jackson Sq. Quiet area. Will probably stay again next time we're in town. Decent fitness facility. Spa and pool available, but we didn't use.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a river view. The first 8 floors are all parking garage, so generally all rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for ringing in the new year with us!

We are delighted that our hotel and team were able to ensure your comfort over this special occasion. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot with our pets (2 large breed dogs...a German Shepherd & a St. Bernard). A lot of times we have to comprise luxury for a lower quality hotel that will accept our dogs. But at this hotel we had the best of both worlds! Luxurious hotel & our dogs were more than welcome! There was only a $25 fee for our entire stay with both dogs! We've always had to pay a higher pet fee than this...even at hotels that weren't nearly as nice. Loews even has a room service menu for pets.
Our room was very nice & clean, bed was large & comfy. Great location...in the french quarter but an area that was a little more quiet & laid back...but still very close to everything. (Walking distance). The hotel staff were courteous, valet was equally courteous & helpful. There were no vending machines in the hotel (that we saw), but our room came with a fully stocked mini bar.
We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel! We will definitly stay here again!
Thank you Loews for a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. At the Loews New Orleans we take great pride in providing a 4 Diamond pet friendly hotel. At our property you will never have to sacrifice on service levels to travel with your pet. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to have you back for another visit soon.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.