We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit!
Ranked #33 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was here for a convention, for 3 nights. My room was spacious and updated, although the decor was rather bland. Ask for a river view - gorgeous, particularly from a high floor. What really stood out for me was the service at this hotel. Without exception, the people were unfailingly friendly and helpful, from the concierge to the bartender, desk clerk, restaurant host, etc. The hotel has a more personal, intimate feel than 1 of the larger chain hotels, which i found very appealing.

As for hotel amenities: restaurant and bar were quite nice and food was pretty good; exercise room was fine; spa was nice enough (i had a good massage).

Overall no complaints whatsoever and i would stay here again next time i'm in town for a meeting.

Room Tip: Higher floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    228
    75
    34
    24
See reviews for
127
184
38
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Came to New Orleans with my husband for a convention. To be fair, I am very selective about hotels. We got a decent non convention rate of about $215 a night plus parking plus taxes, plus $16.00 wifi fee. Our first room was their standard, "deluxe king". It was small, with a bath and shower together. I was not a happy camper, so went down to reception, and asked what I would have to pay to upgrade. For $35 more, I got a "luxury" king room. It was considerably larger with a separate enclosed shower. Otherwise, about the same. The best thing about the room, was a great view of the Mississippi River from our 20th floor window.
The furnishing are very generic. The carpet seems new, but there are signs of hard use on the upholstery. Nice flat screen TV, and decent amenities in the bath. Good shower with plenty of hot water.
Our interactions with the staff have been quite lovely, everyone tries to be friendly and helpful. Had lunch in the hotel's dining room. It sounded much better on the menu, than the actual results, which were not very well executed.
In all, I feel Loews New Orleans is a decent hotel, but, except for the staff, nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell, ga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely and spacious room. Plenty of room in the bath as well. Friendly people. One negative: $35 to park your car per day. We did not eat in the restaurant but were told it is owned by the same people as Commander's Palace. The functions provided breakfasts which were fine. Also, munchies at the cocktail party were good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Loews hotel has a sophisticated, elegant look that impresses you when you walk inside. We received rave reviews from our conference attendees both during and after the 90+ person event. We had to do some manipulation to creatively fit everyone comfortably in the Louisiana ballroom with our exhibition boards. It seemed to work though and everyone was pleased. I'm not the biggest fan of conference food, but their Big Easy lunch was amazing, best to go with the regional specialties. Overall, the banquet and conference staff were extraordinarily hospitable and helpful when we most needed it.

Southern AV, their AV contractor, unfortunately could use some customer service tips. We had to encourage the gentleman to replace the dimly lit projector and he insisted that nothing was wrong with the lavaliere that all the attendees were complaining about. We mentioned that we didn't want to pay for faulty equipment and he still tried to charge us for it.

While not inside the French Quarter, the Loews was a short walk away. The concierge had great restaurant recommendations and steered us towards the best bike rental. Check out American Bicycle Rental on Burgundy, very reasonable, great cruisers for the bumpy streets of New Orleans.

We would not hesitate to bring another group back here. The hotel boasts great views of the river. Attendees always seem to enjoy visiting New Orleans. It's hard to get a bad meal in a city bursting with energy and creativity.

Room Tip: The Grand King suite had a great view and amazing bathroom with shower, jacuzzi tub and flat-screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed 4 nights this past week while on a business trip. I wanted to stay at the Ritz Carlton, but it was booked and I thought the Loews would be comparable. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are as well with very comfortable beds. The shower pressure rocked which is a plus to someone who likes long, hot showers to wake up in the morning. The location is great being right across from Harrah's Casino, a block from the Aquarium and River Walk Mall, and only about a 5-6 block walk to Bourbon St. and Jackson Square. The spa and finess area is one of the better ones I have seen in a hotel which was a plus. I was a little disappointed that the bar downstairs would not serve my group at 11:45 p.m. as they closed at midnight which I felt to be kind of early considering this was New Orleans and in the heart of everything. The staff was very nice otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Loews Hotel while in NOLA for 4 nights. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable for a great night's sleep. The staff is the best I have encountered at a hotel. We got a deal through Living Social so this was my 1st exposure to a Loews hotel. I will definitely look for them when I travel again. Location is outside of French Quarter but within walking distance (about 5-6 blocks).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights this past weekend, with a Living Social deal. I was worried we wouldn't be treated as well, since we used a "coupon"...but everyone was super helpful and very nice.
When we checked in, we were upgraded at no charge to a Grand King room on the 14th floor (because the only room left like the one we'd reserved was on the pet floor). We got a little gift basket with local treats, and the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were VERY comfortable.
We got a newspaper outside our door every morning.
The location was great--right across the street from Harrah's casino & the River Walk, and 10 minute walk from the French Quarter. Parking was super expensive ($35/day) & WiFi was NOT free, but overall we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#27 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Boutique, Roman...
Show More
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#55 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Harrah's New Orleans
Harrah's New Orleans
#34 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Quaint, Charmin...
Show More
Central Business District
The Omni Royal Crescent
The Omni Royal Crescent
#29 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#9 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.