We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food & Bev Credit!
Ranked #40 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were here for a convention, so we got a great group rate (about $100/night). The hotel is tastefully decorated, rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and huge, with two tv's, desk and couch/sitting area. The bathrooms had a separate tub and shower. It is situated in the business district, walking distance from Canal street and the French quarter. The employees were extremely nice and helpful. We never at at the hotel, so I can't rate the restaurant. Mother's restaurant is one block away, so I recommend it for a biscuit and coffee!! Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    216
    72
    32
    22
See reviews for
114
176
38
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Loews on Poydras St. in New Orleans and would like to have stayed longer. The hotel is centrally located to the French Quarter, Jackson Square, the riverfront area and the Warehouse District. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and still had a quiet home to return to when we were done. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we heard no outside noise, whether from inside or outside the hotel. Room service was prompt and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the lobby bar also and the entire staff wasw very friendly and helpful. We really can't think of a single thing that wasn't up to par except that the sauna wasn't working during our stay. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at regular price and two nights on a livingsocial deal. All four nights, we stayed in the same grand king room overlooking the city. The rooms were nice, but I don't feel like you get what you pay for. The front desk and concierge were pretty much useless. When asking a question at check-in, the front desk attendant explained he couldn't answer my question because he wasn't "a reservation specialist". Over the phone, they would promise things and later not deliver. This happened regarding the $25 food and beverage credits and parking credits. On a positive note, the rest of the staff (house keeping, doormen, bell hops, bartenders) were very helpful and polite. The fitness center was nice and is included in your reservation. However, the wifi is a $13/day charge. The location was about a fifteen minute walk to the French Quarter. For the money, I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were delighted from the moment we stepped onto the sidewalk when we arrived from the airport! We were greeted at our van and the doormen were so friendly. (Yes - I know they work for tips but still!) We struck up a conversation with Blair and he gave us so many great local places to go. He steered us right with Lucy's, The District, and even Mannings.

We were a group of 9 and arrived around 10am. We had requested early check in but were hoping that at least one of the rooms would be ready. Well - all of our rooms were ready and they were all nice! We had a king bed room overlooking Poydras St. which was great because it had a nice sitting area, plus 2 tvs in the room. It was great for all of us to come back to at the end of the day.

Josh, the concierge, went above and beyond for us as did most of the staff. They were so happy to share their love of the area. The bar in the hotel is nice but closes too early. We ate breakfast at Adelaides too - it was good but a little pricy.

The location is super... 2 blocks from the trolley and the Riverwalk, across the street from Harrah's, and we walked to the Superdome to go to the Saints game! We walked to the French Quarter and back several times.

We would have no problem staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've never stayed at a Loews property before but after our recent 3 night stay I'll always consider staying at a Loews!! I will admit Tripadvisor played a big part in my choosing a hotel to stay in New Orleans. I was not disappointed! Everything everyone had to say in previous trip reports were true. We arrived early on Sat. morning and was greeted by a very friendly door man. The lobby is beautiful. Our room was not ready yet but they held our bags and took our cell phone # so they could call us when the room was ready. So for the next few hours we explored New Orleans and had a fantastic lunch at the Crazy Lobster. After receiving the call that our room was ready we went back to check it all out. Our room was on the 14th floor and had a terrific view of the city AND the Mississippi River. The room is very well furnished and has all the amenities one would want. It has a safe and a Keurig coffee maker also. USA Today was also delivered each morning.
The location of this hotel could not get any better. We walked to the Riverwalk, the casino (which is across the street) the French Quarter and Bourbon St, Jackson Square to have some beignets, Mother's and of course the new WWII museum which is definately a must see.
Do not hesitate to stay at Loews especially if you can get a good rate/package deal. Hotels in New Orleans are typically on the high side and I feel I got a great rate. Have fun y'all!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently held a business meeting in New Orleans at the Loews Hotel and even for a short stay it was great. The hotel is in a great location, just close enough to the River and the Quarter to be convenient and far enough to be quiet. The rooms were well appointed and very neat and clean and the meeting space was the same. I did not eat in the hotels restaurant, hey it's New Orleans so many great places to eat why eat at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the Loews is the only hotel in New Orleans with a Unionized staff, one more point in it's favor. All in all I highly Recommend the Loews for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was here for a business meeting and all went very well. We were able to check in early and do some sightseeing before the meeting started. Front desk person was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and quite comfortable. We had a great view of the Mississippi river.

I have stayed at many of the downtown New Orleans hotels in the past and found this to be one of the better ones. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the French Quarter, the Convention Center and the National WW2 museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roule! (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.