We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Visit to New Orleans, LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Loews New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spotsylvania County, Virgina, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Recent Visit to New Orleans, LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We are a fairly diverse family of four – I am in my sixties, my wife is half of my age, and we have two wonderful little men, ages 5 and 2. This review includes the city as a vacation stop and several restaurants. Our five-year old took a week off from Kindergarten to make this trip with us. New Orleans is a favorite city for all of us and we visit once or more each year. Whenever feasible, we try to fly from Richmond International, instead of Reagan, Dulles, or BWI. The drive distance is about the same to Regan, Dulles, or Richmond for us but the pace of the air travel is a little easier on us considering our two boys. Because we were starting our vacation in the city and then continuing on a cruise, we had plenty of luggage. I’ll write about our experience on Voyager of the Seas in a subsequent article.
US Airways offered us the best value on this trip and we flew a one-stop itinerary each way. We arranged for a limo service to pick us up at the Airport and transport us to the Hyatt Regency New Orleans (601Loyola Ave), recently reopened after a complete remodeling following the hurricane. Our normal hotel in the French Quarter was booked so we couldn’t stay there. We were excited about the Hyatt as Tinovia has Platinum Status there, and we expected an upgrade from the suite we had booked. Basically, they didn’t give us an upgrade, explaining that since we had booked the largest suite in our category and they couldn’t bump us up into a higher category by policy. Our suite was too small to give the boys enough space, and although Tinovia tried hard to get us into a larger room, Hyatt Management stated that they could not accommodate, regardless of status. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was both cordial and professional, but the room was too small and the management declined to offer us anything more suitable. Considering the location (too far from the French Quarter for us), the too small suites, and their decision not to offer us a better alternative, we will not plan to stay there again.
The following morning, we moved to Loews New Orleans Hotel (300 Poydras St). We asked the Bellman at the Hyatt to get us a taxi that would hold all of us and our luggage – not a problem – so we used regular taxi transportation, mostly vans or on occasion, a larger SUV from that point on. The facility was wonderful, our suite was much more spacious, just as well furnished and the amenities were just as nice. The staff was just a cordial and professional, and the rates about the same. We were much happier at Loews and would highly recommend it as a good travel value in New Orleans. We’ll stay there again if we have that choice. One of the areas we had been researching was where to eat Thanksgiving Dinner. Before leaving home, we had settled on the Hyatt Regency, but we had left there and were not going back. We did a little additional research and made reservations at the Café Adelaide right there in the Loews. Great choice! They offered a very well prepared and presented traditional thanksgiving meal we all four enjoyed. The meal was an exceptional value at around $25.00 each and we couldn’t finish anything. The service was exceptional and we would highly recommend the Café Adelaide as a great place to eat whether you are a guest at the Loews or not. I would estimate that between 25 and 50% of the patrons were locals rather than hotel guests during the time we were there so this restaurant must have a pretty good reputation in the community.
Most of our time in New Orleans is spent sight-seeing and eating. The Café Du Monde at the French Market, Jackson Square and the area surrounding are always favorite attractions for us. We tried some new restaurants, as well as some of our regular stops this trip. Our best breakfast was on Thanksgiving morning when we walked into The Desire Oyster Bar, Royal Sonesta Hotel, 300 Bourbon Street. The food was superb, and Ruth, our server, took wonderful care of all four of us. It was a pricy breakfast, but very well done – the Mimosas were excellent and probably the reason our bill was a little higher than usual. We had a very nice dinner at Broussard’s, Vieux Carre – good service and value (we used a Groupon coupon there). Our most fun lunch was at Rita’s Tequila House, 417/419 Bourbon St where the food was good and the server, Bernice, was as good as they come! We also sampled some seafood at Sammy’s, 627 Bourbon St where we also received good value, tasty food, and good service using a Groupon coupon. For us, no trip to the Big Easy would be complete without a stop at a good oyster house. I really like Acme Oyster House on Iberville, but, as usual, there were several people in a line waiting to be seated. Felix’s Restaurant is right across the street at 739 Iberville St. We have been there before, and found the food and service to be excellent. We decided to do so again. My favorite dish at Acme is the grilled oysters on the half-shell. Felix’s has a similar dish that very favorably compares. Their raw oysters and oyster shooters were great! I think I’ll give Felix’s the edge and recommend this restaurant as the best in the area for oysters. Their food and service is excellent and their prices are very reasonable. At first, our server, John told us that they no longer offered oyster shooters (a raw oyster poured into a glass, garnished with horseradish and hot sauce, then completed with a nice shot or so of vodka) – he soon had them to us though and provided excellent service during the rest of our meal.
Our boys loved their time in the city as much as we did. The real plus for us is the time we can spend together. Our five-year old, Prezy, was really looking forward to the Beignets at Café Du Monde and the sights and sounds of the French Quarter. It was a little chilly, and he wanted to know why those ladies were standing in doorways in their underwear in some of the establishments we walked by. Our two-year old, Bash, was really fascinated by the sights and sounds – he had a ball. This was his second visit and Prezy’s fourth visit – we will be back again, hopefully, this year! My biggest regret is that our schedule didn’t allow us to make the Classic – I would have loved the game and especially the bands!
The bottom line up front: We highly recommend New Orleans as a good family vacation stop. Yes, there are sights, sounds, and even events that are not totally suitable for youngsters. I don’t think anything we saw or heard was more offensive that what one could see on broadcast TV, but you may need to be ready with some reasonable explanations. We have never encountered any issues with criminals or crime that directly impacted on us, although I will admit that there is evidence of crime and criminals around you on occasion when you are in the Quarter. The people are wonderful, the food and accommodations are great, the scenery is superb, and it is a very exciting place to be!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    297
    91
    41
    28
See reviews for
184
233
50
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monson, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a stay at Loews, New Orleans. The location of the hotel is just a short walk to the French Quarter, Riverfront and convenient to all the trolley cars, but not in the middle of the French Quarter chaos. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in right up until our departure. Loews is a clean, comfortable, hotel with a great pool and whirlpool spa. The lobby lounge is comfortable for morning coffee or an afternoon drink and has free wi-fi. This hotel is not at all stuffy but is top notch and a great find!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Loews New Orleans. Our location is perfect for all occassions. We are within walking distance of several New Orleans attractions. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy New Orleans and the Loews New Orleans Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located near casino and restaurants. My bf and I actually booked the room for one night, as we were attending a late night concert at nearby House of Blues (which was within walking distance of the hotel) and we didn't want the hassle of having to drive home during the wee hours of the morning. Room was very spacious, and our view was spectacular! It included the downtown skyline as well as the Mississippi River! I'd definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Valet park! Parking in the nearby parking lot is not worth the price nor the hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Loews New Orleans again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had to travel to NOLA alone for business and I knew no one there...so I worked all day and didn't feel comfortable going out at night...the Loews was a great place to "stay in" as it has a nice gym, spa, bar, restaurant and room service...I stayed in every night and enjoyed it very much. The service was excellent in every way, as was the food (you can order from the restaurant for room service). If I had to be trapped in, I was in a perfect place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My favorite hotel in NOLA. Nice rooms, friendly helpful staff, great bar, great restaurant. Stayed last week and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Visited Loews in N.O. in Dec, 2011; stayed four nights. Excellent location! Three or so blocks from French Quarters and right "next door" to the Aquarium (fairly small aquarium but pleasant; allow 1 hour or so for the visit if without kids). The district is the Warehouse District (downtown), where all the other major hotels are situated. Loews is a beautiful, pet friendly hotel with excellent and comfortable rooms (especially comfortable pillows) and great service all around. Bar area is very cozy and bartenders are friendly. Nice pool, sauna, and gym areas. The only downside of this great hotel is its walls. The walls are thin and we have experienced discomfort for a few nights due to a crying baby and his/her cheerful mother...oh well. Otherwise, no complaints!!

Lowes is a few blocks away from the green tram, which takes you uptown to the gorgeous Garden District. Must take the tram, it is simply charming. The tram is a half hour ride to the zoo (very nice zoo)

PS. we stayed at this hotel during a Christmas weekend and could not get into a hotel restaurant on Christmas Eve because we did not have reservations (the restaurant also functions as a separate restaurant, so the public is welcomed). Everything else was booked, so we ordered room service. The server forgot to bring us the spoon for our soup, so when she came back with the spoon, she also brought us a complementary fruit plate as "an apology." Very considerate.

Please note that this (and most likely other) hotel charges approximately $12/day in State and local taxes/fees. Nothing you can do about that.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

stayed on 21 floor with a great river view. room was large, comfortable,well decorated.conceriage was extremely helpful on getting us on a plantation/ city tour and special courtesy for our 45th anniversity,prior to our cruise. location is great for cruisers,as ship is within walking distance. door main was courteous and helpful. would gladly stay there again for next cruise. close to casino.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Amex and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.