We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our peaceful home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beer and Wine
Ranked #8 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our peaceful home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were very happy with our stay at 1896 O'Malley House. When we first arrived we were welcomed from newly arriving guests and Brent. He was a wonderful host, gave us lots of information about the city and neighborhood and made sure he was available for any questions we might have. We were just down the street from the streetcars which took us directly into downtown New Orleans so we only needed to take our car once. The house was meticulous and the furnishings were breathtaking. My husband and I loved the snack and beverage area and the breakfast. Actually breakfast was my favorite part, I loved the blueberry bread pudding so much that Brent gave me the recipe. We met Larry the owner the next day at breakfast. I loved that he would join and talk with us and the other guests at breakfast, that made me feel really welcome. We also were able to talk to some of the neighbors who were nice as well. There were so many nice restaurants withing walking distance that we didn't always have to go to the city to eat. My close friend was in town as well and was staying at the Hyatt, We gave her a tour of the house and she loved it so much she made reservations for next year and so did we. Looking forward to our stay next year. All B&B's should follow their lead.

Room Tip: We chose the Tessitore,suite (not sure if I spelled it correctly), which had more privacy since ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    28
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
78
276
27
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was such a great experience for my wife and I. Unfortunately we only had one night to stay, we were on a crazy 4-day trip, but it was a solid bed and breakfast. Larry, the owner, was super cool and his breakfast was delicious. The location is great because the street car stop was right across the street and the Garden District is really really nice. The 5 star reviews were on dot. The only thing I didn't care for was the dog that licked me when I would go downstairs, I'm not a dog person but my wife loved them.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 and it was great because it had the biggest bathroom. It worked great for us es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here during our road trip from San Francisco to Crystal River, Florida. We stayed here on two occasions during the trip.

We first booked the "haunted room" on the top floor. Although we didn't see a ghost, we had a great time! Larry and Brent made our stay very enjoyable, and were quite helpful when we couldn't find a place to stay in town the next night--almost every hotel was fully booked, since we didn't book any of our stays in advance. Larry makes an amazing breakfast! He and Brent do a lot to make you feel welcome.

We had such a terrific stay that we returned as soon as they had availability again. Next, we stayed in Room #6, which has a balcony, jacuzzi tub and a stylish theme. We loved that room! Best stay of 18 hotels we experienced during our coast-to-coast trip!

The free wine and beer were a nice perk too!

And why do people think B&Bs are for older people anyway? We're young and really loved this place. More people should avoid large hotels and go this better route, in my opinion.

If you are staying in New Orleans, definitely stay here. The house and the experience is so nice... You'll have a great time! Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
What a pleasure it was to host you guys on your New Orleans leg of your trip. Happy to see you made it home safe. Please think of us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed the 1896 O'Malley House on our first trip to New Orleans. Being on our first trip there, we really wanted to experience a little of everything (both local and touristy). We found the O'Malley House was a great home base given the fact that we were not going to rent a car.

I like to do reviews with pros and cons, so here we go...

Pros:
Location: We liked the location because it was safe, quiet & across the street from a street car line (15-20 mins from the French Quarter). You can also take a taxi to get anywhere if you want a quicker ride. The flat rate taxi ride to the airport is about 30 mins. There are also local restaurants and some bars within walking distance of the B&B.
Rooms: We stayed in room #1 (the Waterford) and we really liked how big it was along with the bathroom being huge. We didn't see other rooms.
Breakfast: Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, biscuits/muffins and something hot every morning (waffles & french toast were my favorites). The hot breakfast is the same for everyone, so it's not a menu which is fine.
Hosts: Brent hosted us most of our stay and he was great. He gave us ideas for things to do and places to eat. He also set up a bus tour which worked perfectly for us. The house offers other extras like 24/7 access to water, coffee/tea, beer & wine which is a very nice touch. We met Larry our last morning and he is a great conversationalist as well.
Noise: We didn't have any issues with noise in our room, though there weren't many other guests during our stay.
Bed: We slept well in our bed and it was very comfortable.
Bathroom: Our bathroom was huge with lots of hot water for showers.
Decor: The house was well decorated, but it didn't feel so fancy that we were uncomfortable.
Value: The price/value was very good for us, but we were visiting in a slower season during the hot summer time.
Internet: Free WIFI in our room worked well.

Cons:
Location: Some might see the location as a con since you aren't right near the French Quarter where it's most lively. Again, it wasn't a con for us.
TV: The TV was pretty small to see from bed, but you don't want to spend much time using it anyway.

Tips:
- You can get a multi-day Jazzy pass for the Streetcar at a drug store, but it's not discounted ($3 a day).
- Check-out is 11am even though I didn't see it listed anywhere on-line.
- Try Frenchman's street next to the French Quarter for great live music venues.

In summary, We'd definitely choose the O'Malley House again when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: #1 Waterford is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
That you for the great review and suggestions. We are always looking to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our third stay at the B&B and it was fantastic again!We were in NOLA for a trade show at the convention center. The location of O'Malley is great for catching the street car so we could get around town. The rooms are not only gorgeous, but comfortable, too. Usually, i don't sleep well our first night in a hotel, but the beds were so comfortable that I slept like a baby. It always amazes me how quiet the house is. You do not hear people in the rooms next to you, so you feel like you have the house to yourself. The breakfasts are always delicious. Thank you Larry and Brent for taking such great care of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued support. We always look forward to seeing you guys and can't wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay at O’Malley House was wonderful. The house is beautiful and the room was very very comfortable. Location is excellent, walking distance to street cars and therefore easy access to all areas of the city. Both Larry and Brent were extremely welcoming and also wonderful cooks! The breakfast, taken at a beautiful dining table, was superb. Coffee, wine, cold drinks always available. We will definitely be back. We loved O'Malley's and we loved NOLA.

Room Tip: All are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I am so happy you guys enjoyed your stay and visit to New Orleans. We can't wait to have you back. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the start of our honeymoon roadtrip. It was so lovely and beautiful and peaceful we wanted to stay and just sit on the porch with a good book. Close to all the different parts of NO you would want to see, beautiful rooms, hospitality beyond your imagination and pets included! We will definetely be back and tell everyone we know to come here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us be a part of your new life together. It was wonderful having you stay and congratulations on your marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House b&b
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.