We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beer and Wine
Ranked #3 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Thanks Larry for your warm hospitality, great service, local knowledge, and friendly conversation. Your advice about restaurants, activities, etc. can't be overstated and enhanced the overall experinece of exploring the charm of New Orleans. Your location makes it an easy connection to Canal street, the French Quarter, warehouse and Convention locations, and all from a quiet neighborhood in the Mid City area. Breakfast at your B&B (especially stuffed bannana french toast) was a relaxing experience while visiting with other guests about their previous day adventures. Thanks very much, you made traveling with family enjoyable by providing a warm, friendly environment at the house!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It was so nice to host your family for their New Orleans trip. We really enjoyed spending time with you guys. I hope to see you back soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
253
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We returned after two years , this time with friends and it felt like coming home. Six nights of peaceful sleep in this beautiful home with great attention to all the details contributed to a perfect getaway. Larry is a wonderful host attentive to your needs as well as the experience of the city he loves to share. Sparklingly clean throughout, delicious and healthy breakfast, crisp linens !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Jana,
It was so nice seeing you guys again. I love when old friends return to visit us and bring their friends. Send pictures on the new puppy when you get him. Have a wonderful holiday and see you soon.

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This bed and breakfast is located in the mid-city of New Orleans on a quiet street right off Canal St. Our room at the 1896 O'Malley House was beautiful and very spacious (we had room 2). The rest of the house had a beautiful and elegant old time charm with all the modern touches that we have come to expect. Larry, our host, was especially gracious and even gave me his recipe for his Blueberry Bread Pudding.- delicious! The Canal Streetcar stops right at his house so it was very easy for us to get down to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I hope you enjoy the Blueberry bread pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about this b&b. Breakfast was incredible. The rooms are beautiful and the owner was funny and personable. It is in a perfect location to enjoy New Orleans and mid-city. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at the 1986 O'Malley House B&B last Friday evening. Ann made us feel right at home and our short get away was a total success. The residence is beautiful and the room was so comfortable. Thanks and we'll be back....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We are very excited to have Anne, being from Ireland she is a great asset to the B&B. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our third stay at the 1896 O'Malley B&B. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Larry & staff are exceptional. They roll out the red carpet for you along with their two beautiful golden retrievers Cody & Porter. The rooms are spotless and the entire house is decorated in antiques. The bedrooms have the high poster beds and sleep wonderful. They serve a wonderful breakfast and sit and mingle with their guests. Larry is so familiar with New Orleans that he can tell you anything you need to know about where to go and what to do. You can catch the Canal St trolley at the end of the street. We hope to be going back in the spring and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It was so nice having the Brewer clan back in New Orleans. We loved your friends and hope you bring more on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Came here with my girlfriend for a NOLA trip. Room was great, we had the room with the huge bathroom with a jacuzzi which was awesome.

Breakfasts were very nice. I wanted to stay a bit away from the French Quarter bustle and also to be in a "realer"part of New Orleans and was glad we did. You're right on the Canal Street streetcar line which is great and otherwise you need to take a few cabs, easy enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We really enjoyed your visit. Very happy you guys enjoyed your stay, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House b&b
1896 o`Malley House Hotel
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
Address: 120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list