We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Laid-Back NOLA Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beer and Wine
Ranked #5 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Laid-Back NOLA Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Came here with my girlfriend for a NOLA trip. Room was great, we had the room with the huge bathroom with a jacuzzi which was awesome.

Breakfasts were very nice. I wanted to stay a bit away from the French Quarter bustle and also to be in a "realer"part of New Orleans and was glad we did. You're right on the Canal Street streetcar line which is great and otherwise you need to take a few cabs, easy enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We really enjoyed your visit. Very happy you guys enjoyed your stay, thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    30
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
298
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just stayed at the 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed on the third floor in a room with a day bed in case one of our daughters stayed with us. I highly recommend the upper level for a family, specifically if using both rooms upstairs since they adjoin you could have a large group on the top level. We did hear everything in the other room since they are unable to do any sound barriers between them. Next time we are going to stay on the second floor because there are barriers and you would not be able to hear the other guests. Our room was clean and fine for just us but again will stay on the second level upon our next visit.

Each day coffee is served very early and a newspaper available in the formal living room. The breakfasts were nice and a variety. The owners actually read the reviews others put on TripAdvisor so they noted people wanted more variety and took action to do so. I have allergies and did request specific fruit with no push back at all.

The neighborhood is safe and within walking distance to several restaurants and even a drug store. Parking is on the street but it was not a problem during the time of year we visited. Street car was right outside less than a block on Canal. A nice courtyard to enjoy but it was just too hot outside for us. Also, they included snacks and beverages (wine and beer, soda and water) which was nice.

Larry and Jason were very nice to talk to and tried to make our trip as pleasureable as possible. Including some photos of the dining room, suite, sitting areas along with front porch.

We will return for sure!

Room Tip: Upper level - recommend for families or reserve two rooms for adjoining room fun. 2nd floor seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with during your visit to New Orleans. We can't wait for your next trip and thank you for the great pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our visit was short at O'Malley's,its a beautiful home,great staff and perfect location to get away from the Loud and Crazy Bourbon St. We arrive on July 27 thru the 29. It was a short stay but none the less a great one! Delicious Breakfast and friendly staff. Larry was a great host and his two dogs were a delight to pet. great place for couples.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. You will have to make your next visit longer to enjoy the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a great stay there. The Inn keepers were great. Would highly recommend Comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for three nights towards the end of June. We had a lovely time in the beautiful house and were treated extremely well. Larry and Jason know how to work the balance between being friendly and helpful and letting you do your own thing. Whenever we did need help or advice, they were there and offered informed advice that really helped.
The house is located a streetcar ride away from the hustle and bustle of downtown and we found this a welcome break when we came 'home'.
Breakfast was excellent, the dogs were friendly (especially Cody), and we felt like we had the run of the house.
All thats left to say is stay, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was so nice having our friends from across the pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Texas Grandma Girlfriends did Essence again with a stay at the gorgeous O'Malley House in NOLA. We were welcomed and given a tour of the house by Jason and Porter, the family golden retreiver. It's a very beautifully decorated house with wonderful hospitality, cozy back courtyard and garden. Light breakfast served by friendly Jason. Both Jason and Larry shared interesting conversations about the history of the house and NOLA. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks guys!
Johnnie Harris

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
It was very nice having you ladies stay with us. We hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the O'Malley House for four days and three nights.
We enjoyed it tremendously. The staff was friendly and helpful, clean rooms with a delicious breakfast. It is located across the street from the Canal Street Trolley which can be used to see most of the city.


Divas

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Divas,

It was so nice to be a part our your Essence Fest weekend. We really enjoyed your stay and hope to be a part of your annual visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce ST, New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House b&b
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.