We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NOLA experience yet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Save Saved
You added Elysian Fields Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
“Best NOLA experience yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn for our honeymoon, and I was super impressed. From the price/location to the friendly service from Jim and Leigh, this place is awesome. I really feel like the Inn made this trip memorable! Would recommend for those who love bed and breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    32
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
132
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Elysian Fields met my expectations and is good location near French Quarter. You are only a few blocks walk to Frenchman St and Royal St where the main attractions are. Its a good deal to stay just a few blocks away from the quarter. Its worth saving a few dollars if you don't mind walking. My girlfriend and I felt comfortable walking from the French Quarter to the inn at night however be careful just a few blocks the other way it gets a little sketchy. The one night we decide to walk the way google maps wanted us to take to get to the super dome and it took us away from most of the crowds. Stick to Decatur/Frenchman when walking back and you'll be fine.

The room was good size, new and clean. However, the only exception was the doors. Our bathroom door had trouble closing because the door had become warped from the humidity.

Breakfast is served from 8am-10am and the meals where good. Met expectations. We had pancakes the first day and a casserole the second.

Parking is on street and can be tricky however there is a furniture store around the corner you can park in their lot when they are close. Which we did the first night and the second day there was plenty of street parking.

Hope this helps. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Second floor is more private than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed in the suite (rm 101). The room was great, good breakfast, great location. Leigh was very helpful with info about NOLA & getting around. Would highly recommend and would stay here again. Was nice sitting on the porch chatting with other people staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Elysian Fields Inn. We stayed for some time, and noticed that some of their guests come back year after year. Leigh and Jim, the owners and operators, take care of their visitors with delicious home-cooked breakfasts and good advice on where to go and what to do. They have lived on the premises for many years and their local knowledge is priceless. The Inn is spotlessly clean and charmingly decorated. The location is excellent, too, very close to Frenchman Street and easy safe walking throughout the French Quarter and Marigny. There is a nice front porch where you can sit outside and watch the world go by on Elysian Fields.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fly Creek, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This Inn (B & B) is the best bargain in New Orleans. The Inn is immaculately clean. The innkeepers, Leigh & Jim, are the friendliest folks we've met at a B & B. They truly know all about 'southern hospitality'. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean and perfect. The charm of this inn is just what we wanted for a New Orleans experience. It is located just two or three blocks from Frenchman Street where all the jazz music and fun places to eat and enjoy an evening out can be had. Great place! We will return on our next trip to New Orleans. (This was our first trip. It is a vibrant and fun city!)

Room Tip: We had a room on the first level. It saved us from walking up the stairs. It was quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

WOW! Leigh and Jim are really passionate about their B&B, and it clearly shows.

They don't have a front desk where they extract credit cards for incidentals along with photo ID. Instead, you are invited to the rear of the building, warmly greeted, given the room key and receipt and then given a map of N.O. along with loads of hints and tips of where to go, eat, drink, etc. Leigh even kindly offered to book us up for some tours, etc. as well.

After our welcome and introduction, Jim escorted us up to the room. It (like the rest of the B&B for that matter) was spotlessly clean. And the size! Honestly, the pictures on the website don't do it any justice! It was really spacious and nicely laid out. The furniture had real character and matched the room perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable. Complimentary ear plugs and eye masks were provided, but we didn't really have any problems with noise or light. There was a TV, DVD and radio available within the room. Several bottles of complimentary water along with drinking glasses were also provided. There was no coffee machine or fridge/micro in the room, but all was available downstairs in the kitchen, including an ice machine. Wifi worked perfectly and was quite fast.

The bathroom was good too. The shower was spacious, and had good pressure and excellent temperature stability. There was a nice selection of high quality soaps and shampoos available too.

The whole property is fully air conditioned.

Breakfast was to die for! There is the option of hot & cold. We opted for the hot both times, which was always cooked fresh. The first day was a delicious vegetable frittata, with toast on the side. The second day was bacon & eggs with toast. Jam was available on both days too. For drinks, there was fruit juice, coffee and a rather impressive selection of approximately 12 teas. Fresh local pastries are also on offer.

There are 2 dogs living in the property, although they are only out in the morning - and the kitchen is strictly out of bounds to them. There is Louie the playful puppy, and Zeke the largest but softest dog you could ever wish to see.

The location is perfect with Bourbon St & the rest of NOLA within approximately 15 mins walk. Parking wasn't an issue, we left the car in the street directly outside the B&B and had no problems.


In summary, this is a lovely, well kept B&B owned and operated by a very sociable and easy going couple. It's a shame we only had 2 days in NOLA this trip, but when we return, we'll be heading straight here. Highly recommended.

Two happy Limeys on an epic roadtrip. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my 3rd B&B. It definitely has a homey feeling. Nice place to relax from the hubbub of NO.
Our host was accommodating - check out time was 10am or 11am and our flight was not till 6pm that evening; they were gracious enough to let us leave our luggage in a spare room until we were ready to leave for the airport.
P.S. Their coffee was worthy of a 2nd cup.
The only reason why I rate it average was because it was not 'grand' which then i would rate as excellent, I rated it average b/c it was average, and by NO MEANS is that a bad thing. Yes, I would stay here again. Yes, I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNewOrleans, Owner at Elysian Fields Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I thank this guest for saying she would stay with us again and would recommend the Inn to others especially since her visit with us was for less than 24 hours. I do however have to take issue with the word "Average" as used to describe the Inn. No the Inn is not a Grand Victorian Mansion with velvet draperies, elaborately carved furniture and brocade settees...It is however a 150 year old Center Hall Creole Cottage with soaring 14 to 17 feet high ceilings, crown moldings a foot deep, large comfortable porches, light filled public spaces that are hung with a diverse collection of New Orleans centric art and memorabilia, clean comfortable and tastefully decorated guest rooms all with ensuite baths and two hosts that are honored to share their love of New Orleans’ history, culture, food and music with their guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Address: 930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature cable Flat screen TV with VCR/DVD, telephone w/voicemail, dataports, CD radio, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Fields Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.