We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appreciation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elysian Fields Inn to your Saves list
Elysian Fields Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Warren, Michigan
1 review
“appreciation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

great time best time was at breakfast talk ti interesting people, the host had much information about new orleans and it culture i have been to this breakfas for about 4 years and have had great servic all the time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    34
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
137
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

On our first, and definitely not our last, trip to New Orleans, we could not have found a better place to stay. Elysian Fields is perfectly located just a short walk from the French Quarter, but away from all the associated nighttime noise. The hosts, Leigh and Jim, went out of their way to ensure our stay was a good one. They were full of great tips for restaurants, music, and other sightseeing. The rooms were clean, quiet, and well appointed, and breakfast was superb (and different) each of our six mornings. One of the best fixtures of the inn is Zeke, Jim and Leigh's large, yellow, gentle dog. Zeke epitomizes the easy-going nature of N'awlins! We highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Elysian Fields is a wonderful place to stay in New Orleans. It's a short walk from Frenchman Street, where there's lots of great music and food without the seediness of Bourbon St., and about a 15-minute walk to the French Quarter. Creole cottages in varying states of repair lend a distinct charm to the Marigny neighborhood, and there are plenty of neighborhood bars and restaurants, even outside the Frenchman St. area. We liked being outside the main tourist (and party) area. Leigh and Jim are very nice and helpful, and the inn is lovely, clean and comfortable. As some other reviewers said, breakfasts were on the small side compared to what you get at some places, but I don't see that as a bad thing--we were far from hungry. The only reason I didn't rate Elysian Fields as "excellent" is that it wasn't the kind of over-the-top luxury you see at some b&bs, but truly our experience there, and the "bang for the buck" were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Highly recommended for a stay in New Orleans, I will be returning there when we go back.
B&B itself was really nice and welcoming; rooms were clean and had all of the amenities you could ask for.
B&B owners were really nice and easy to chat to. We asked about good places to eat and their recommendations were top notch.
Breakfast was really nice, a good selection of pastries, tea and coffee as well as a freshly cooked breakfast which was different each day.
Location is slightly further away from the hustle and bustle of places like Bourbon st and the rest of the French Quarter than other B&B's, but it’s really minimal and the walk (probably about 5minutes) is so pleasant. Plus it's quieter, I slept very well.
Overall, I couldn’t ask for better

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was the first time I've ever stayed in a B&B, and I couldn't have been happier. Leigh and Jim are fantastic hosts - they make you feel like you've known them forever. They provided great advice on where to go, what to see and most importantly where to eat in NOLA. I was there for a conference and unfortunately on two mornings I had to leave before breakfast was served, but they made sure coffee and pastries were out early. The mornings I was there for breakfast I was very satisfied with the food. And the inn itself is lovely - clean and lovingly cared for. I stayed in an upstairs room towards the middle of the house. Elysian Fields Ave. is a busy street and I could hear road noise at night, but earplugs were provided and I slept better there than I ever do in hotels. The location is great and I never felt unsafe walking back there from the French Quarter (although I was never out later than about 9:00 pm). I hope to definitely return to New Orleans and Elysian Fields Inn!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was on a college tour with my Daughter and we were tired of hotels. This is a perfect place to rest and gather informaiton and sugguestions about the greater New Orleans area. The food is delicious and the innkeepers are such a wealth of information,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn in Jan. 2012 and have delayed in providing our review. However, following a week staying in B&Bs in Scotland and having been reminded what a B&B experience can and should be, we decided we would review this one along with the others we have more recently stayed in. Bottom line, we were disappointed by our stay at Elysian Fields Inn. If the most important part of a stay is the ability to sleep, this place is a no-go. Across a broad street to the front of the house, and down a little ways, is a bar that stayed open until approximately 4 AM. We did not notice any noise from the bar until in bed, when the nonstop thumping of the base started throbbing through the walls, and literally our bodies, and kept us up late both nights. The earplugs provided are an absolute requirement, and even then obviously did not stop the vibrating throb of the music. Rest was difficult to come by. Second most important at a bed and breakfast is the breakfast. The owners are nice, but cheap. We were presented with an either/or choice each morning of a hot choice of the day or the fruit and yogurt cold choice. Circuits began to fry the second morning when one of us asked if it was possible to get a piece of fruit with the pancake offering. After grumbling from the hostess, a slice of melon was grudgingly provided. On the plus side, the house had a nice sitting area, comfortable chairs, and an enormous friendly dog. It was on the edge of a somewhat sketchy area, but an easy, comfortable walk to places of more interest. We would not recommend this location if returning to New Orleans or to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperNewOrleans, Owner at Elysian Fields Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I want to apologize to these guests for the lack of sleep quality...at the time they were here they are absolutely right there was a problem with the bar across the Avenue from us. This bar has been on that corner for many many years and had just replaced the sound system. They had placed very large speakers on the wooden floor of a wooden building and the whole building was acting like a huge amplifier. It could be heard and felt for blocks. It took the neighborhood a couple of weeks to convince the bar owner it was a problem but it is now solved and no longer an issue.

We do have three choices at breakfast each morning and I am more then happy to provide fruit with the hot choice. We have baked goods from our neighborhood bakery on the sideboard, a hot choice which changes daily and a yogurt, fresh fruit and granola parfait. We are an urban Inn in one of the most “foodie” cities in the country not a destination Inn in the country where the meals are a very important part of your stay. It is not my desire to compete with the world class chefs of New Orleans but is my desire to provide my guests with a good wholesome and tasty breakfast to fuel their exploration of our wonderful city New Orleans.

These guests must have been very unhappy with their experience to have such a vivid recollection of it 15 months later. And, I am very apologetic but obviously from our other reviews most of our guests have felt quite differently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Address: 930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature cable Flat screen TV with VCR/DVD, telephone w/voicemail, dataports, CD radio, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Fields Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.