We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Save Saved
You added Elysian Fields Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Elysian Fields Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn. This was the 1st time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was very good in all respects. The Inn is historic, built in 1863, and immaculate. The owners, Jim and Leigh, are friendly and cook a wonderful hot breakfast. And the location is very convenient. It located 5 blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. We will definitely stay at the Elysian Fields Inn on our next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room next to the street, so there was some street noise, but not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    29
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
127
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here last Easter for 1 week. They were fully booked during the French Quarter Music Festival, so we had to move elsewhere, There was large group of friends staying there at this time. We meet them our first night & they included us in their group. We really liked that we were close to the music scene on Frenchman st, it was only a 5 minute walk back to the B & B. it was a 5- 10 walk to the French Quarter. Our room was on the second floor, it was quiet, The house has 2 nice decks, one out front & one in the rear. The owners were good with allowing guests to keep wine. beer etc in the kitchen frig, we also kept cheese etc there, The breakfast/relaxation room was a good size with one computer for guests to use. We really like being close to Frenchman St and visited there most nights to take in the music. We stayed there one week, they didn't change the sheets after 3-4 nights, like we have seem at other hotels. Breakfast was a little disappointing, I am not a big eater but I found their breakfast on the smaller side. They provided danish on the counter to help fill you, I would rather see a more healthy option. At the end of the day I would stay there again if I was going to New Orleans.

Room Tip: the second room worked for us/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 good nights in Jim and Leigh's Elysian Fields Inn, enjoying our comfortable room and the nice breakfast they cooked just for us (the breakfast was preceded, if we wanted, with fresh coffee and yummy treats from the next-door bakery). We simply left our car in the Inn's garage and walked all over the French Quarter, finding Jim and Leigh's advice on restaurants and current things to see in New Orleans was very helpful, and their maps too. Back at the Inn, it was great to be able to make myself a cup of tea and use the guests' computer for e-mail and even computer games!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great old house in a hip and up-and-coming district of NOLA (the Marigny). The room was nice and breakfast was tasty. The proprietors (Jim and Leigh) were awesome and super helpful! Also, Zeke, their giant dog is freakin' awesome!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went to NOLA on business and found my stay at Elysian Fields Inn very pleasant and accommodating. My mornings started early and Jim always provided me breakfast to start my day off right. I felt safe in the neighborhood. It was within walking distance to the French Quarter. However, as with every city, you must always be on your guard if walking alone at night. My room was very clean with no signs of unwanted bed critters. The bathroom was extra clean. I felt safe taking a shower without shower shoes. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A wonderful location, so safe for 2 travelling ladies. Offering 2 single beds was just what we wanted. location perfect and the hosts Leigh and Jim and the dog were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Away from the noise of the French Qtr. but close enough to walk there.
New Orleans has so much to offer than just the FrenchQtr and we hope to return another time.
Music was fantastic and nearby Frenchman Street offered great food and entertainment so close to "home"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Elysian Fields Inn is a great B&B! Leigh, Jim, and their dog Zeke offer the best hospitality. Very nice location close to everything. Safe to walk from the B&B to Frenchmen St. and French Quarter. The rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, superb breakfasts, and the owners are so warm and helpful to everybody. We will come back again and will tell our friends about Elysian Fields Inn. Thank you Jim and Leigh for making our 1st stay in New Orleans so pleasant!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans
Elysian Fields Hotel
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature cable Flat screen TV with VCR/DVD, telephone w/voicemail, dataports, CD radio, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Fields Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.