We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elysian Fields Inn to your Saves list
Elysian Fields Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed with Leigh and Jim for one week. We found them delightful hosts who went out of their way to be helpful. The inn was clean, very comfortable and well located. Great breakfasts. Each night when we returned it felt like coming home. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    34
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
137
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband I had a great stay at Elysian Fields last week. The inn is nice, very reasonable pricing and absolutely great location next to Frenchman Street for great music options. Innkeepers are available for any help, plus talk to guest making the breakfast fun and interactive. Very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Confederacy of Cruisers has great Bike Tours, just two blocks from Elysian Feilds, great tours and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful, Clean, & Comfortable! Within walking distance to everything we wanted to see & do! Jim & Leigh - great hosts!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and our daughter and her friend stayed in seperate rooms at the inn and had a great time. Jim and Leigh serve a great breakfast and really love New Orleans. The inn is situatied at a perfect distance from the French Quarter and many bars and jazz clubs. Felt like home in NOLA and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and to the front are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during the second week of this years Jazzfest. The innkeepers Jim & Leigh helped us to get our bearings as soon as we arrived and really seemed to listen to what we were interested in seeing in the area. The inn itself was charming and as music lovers we felt right at home (not to say that if you are not a music lover you won't). The general breakfast area was more welcoming than most B&B's we have stayed in and we felt very comfortable relaxing there any time of day.
We stayed in room 202 which was nicely decorated and comfortable.The location of the inn was close to the area we wanted to be with a few minute walk. We would have liked to have a clock radio with an I-pod dock to listen to Pandora on the free Wi-Fi the inn provides but the cd/radio provided to listen in the room gave us the opportunity to listen to local stations which was nice. Their gentle giant dog was pleasant to be around while away from our own pets too. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again for our next trip to New Orleans.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from7th to 10 May as part of a road trip around the Deep South. This review is based on our experience, please bear in mind we are Scottish and it may be our expectations are a bit different from others!
First impression: We initially thought upon arriving that the neighbourhood looked a bit run down and dodgy looking and were tempted to look for accommodation elsewhere, if it wasn’t for the fact that we had supplied our credit card details and would be charged for not showing I really think we would have stayed elsewhere. (Our initial impression of the area was unfounded by the way)
On meeting the owners we found them to be polite and fairly informative, supplying us with a map and a brief run down on the area. We were a bit concerned not to get parked outside the inn but were able to get parked in the furniture car park next to the inn, there is parking out on the street but it is hit or miss to secure a space, our car was fine for the 3 nights we were there. There is parking for 6 cars in the garages at the inn but we were advised that only the owner could move the cars, this would be ok if you were not planning on using the car whilst there, but we had trips planned where we would need access to the car at our own convenience.
Our room was number 204 and was on the first floor, it was comfortable and had a great shower in the en-suite bathroom, we would have liked tea and coffee facilities in the room but we knew beforehand that these were not likely to be supplied, we did have access to the kitchen and could boil water in the microwave to use with our own supplies, sometimes there was coffee left over in the flasks from breakfast and were able to make use of this.
Breakfast was served between 8.00am and 10.00am and everyday we were there you were offered a hot choice or a cold choice and there was also a delicious selection of pastries/cakes. The portion size was not huge but it was sufficient, we are more used to being offered more choice but understand things are different depending on where you are.
We had brought our computer with us and had no problem using it previously in Tallahassee and Pensacola, but for some reason we could not access the internet for our emails etc which was a bit frustrating, we did ask if there was a problem or a password but were assured it should be fine, unfortunately we were maybe just unlucky, there is a computer at the inn for guests to use but we could not access what we required there either.
The location was good and we found that we were not to far from the places we wanted to see, we were probably in the minority for our reasons for visiting Nola as we were not there for the music scene, to sum it up, we had a decent enough stay but would look to stay elsewhere should we return, this is only due to our own expectations as other guests we spoke to, who all seemed to be American absolutely love the place and seem to be returning guests.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the upper floor if you do not want to be disturbed by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I just wanted to say that I agree with all of the positive reviews. Jim & Leigh are so sweet & helpful, location, I thought, was great, & I slept like a baby every night. This was my first trip to New Orleans & it will not be my last. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Address: 930 Elysian Fields Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature cable Flat screen TV with VCR/DVD, telephone w/voicemail, dataports, CD radio, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Fields Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.