We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pralines and New Orleans treats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's Candies

Laura's Candies
331 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Dessert
Description: Old New Orleans Candy Store
Restaurant details
Description: Old New Orleans Candy Store
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best pralines and New Orleans treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Although Laura's Candies is listed as a restaurant, it is actually a wonderful candy store. There are tasting samples of their pralines and some other goodies, and each one is more yummy than the next. This is the perfect spot to buy edible souvenirs and gifts. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. They make everything themselves. The sign says they are the oldest candy store in New Orleans, and it's easy to see why they have such staying power. Be sure to stop there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    54
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Candies and sweets galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's great that they have so many samples! We love the place! Everyone there was extremely friendly, and helpful! They make everything themselves and it shows! When we go back we will definitely go back! Everything there is sweet and tasty! Thank you for everything!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here during a recent visit to New Orleans. What an amazing store. The pralines were so good that we decided to bring a box back to some friends. We also tried the Mississippi mud pie which was addictive and they had the coolest gift, it was chocolate voodoo dolls in cardboard coffin shaped boxes. We brought 3 back for our college kids. Great place with extremely yummy candies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pralines to DIE for!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my first trip to New Orleans and my first sample of Pralines was at Laura's. OMG!!! I sampled at 3 other candy stores during my trip, but made my way back to Laura's because these were by far the BEST in town!!! I had two friends with me and they were in love with them too! I will be ordering these for christmas gifts this year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“If you are looking for Pralines, look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

So you can sample the various praline variants, from coconut to chocolate to creole to "traditional", as well as Mississippi mud and plenty of other temptations. Then you should buy a dozen of the traditional pralines to take with you to serve your friends and make them jealous.
Friendly staff, good service. Just be prepared to throw dietary caution to the wind.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Candies also viewed

 

Been to Laura's Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura's Candies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.