We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dogs!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dat Dog

Dat Dog
5030 Freret Street and 601 Frenchmen Street, and 3336 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA
+1 504-899-6883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Fast Food, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Dat Dog now has 3 iconic stores in New Orleans. Gourmet hot dogs from around the world with personalized toppings, fries to die for. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and family friendly atmosphere.5030 Freret Street LA70115Our converted 1930 gas station provides 200+ outside seating, 60 inside. Party bookings welcome- all sizes.Great music, live local bands. Movie nights and projector game nights.Our popular quiz night is on Tuesday evenings- 7pm start.Buskers welcome. 3336 Magazine Street LA70115Previously a bakery, now a spacious eating venue on this great shopping street. 160+ Outside seating, 70 inside. Party bookings welcome- all sizes. Private room hire- 20+ seating.Great music. Buskers welcome. Full bar facilities, onsite ATM. Take away service is provided- but first we recommend a visit to take in this highly popular
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing dogs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

You can have any kind of dog you want!!! I had a turducken dog, with andouille sauce, creole mustard and onions; amazing!!! Best "dog" I've ever had! The chili cheese fries are also exceptional; you have to get an order for your table. We could have ordered 2 for the 4 of us! The atmosphere is great, very high energy. I enjoyed one of their homemade Ginger Ales; beware, they put a slice of ginger around a cherry on a pick in your drink. I bit into the ginger, thinking it was fruit of some kind; wow, was I surprised with heat!!! All the dogs are great, you can't go wrong with anything. And the buns are fabulous!!! Soft and yummy. If you aren't sure what to put on your dog, ask their advice. Will definitely be back next time I'm in town!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    107
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“crawfish etouffee dog!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

i was bummed after dropping my fried oyster po-boy in my lap not minutes before at another place. However, there is a reason for everything...... and a crawfish etouffee dog was in my future. Wow, was I glad!!! Awesome!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Dog In Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A bit off the beaten path, Dat Dog offers the best hot dogs anywhere! If you are Uptown for any reason, or if you are a hot dog afficionado, be sure to stop in to this super casual, fun restaurant. There is a huge selection of unusual hot dogs along with an impressive list of topping options. I had the Duck Dog Special: A duck hot dog with a blackberry chutney, bbq sauce, bacon bits and mustard on a toasted sour dough bun. It was delicious!! Keep in mind it is cash only. They also offer homemade sodas and a large variety of beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than the average Dog.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

With names like bacon werewolf dog and duck dog; you may expect it to be more show than taste. It was not. The dogs are exceedingly good with a wealth of toppings to choose from. You can go with the special dog with predetermined toppings (bacon werewolf), choose your own ( my veggie dog, I had guacamole & cheese) or go with the chefs choice ( hubby had a duck dog this way and it came with a blueberry Gravy that was fabulous), you can truly make any conbonation for your dog or fries; our son also ordered the fries with guacamole sauerkraut onions and cheese - well he ate every bite of a generous portion. The staff was friendly and courteous, although they were very busy on a Saturday so service was a bit slow. It had a casual picnic-y atmosphere which we liked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not your average dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The menu is full of creative and non-traditional ingredients. A popular place, it is lively and they do a trivia game on the outside patio. For the really adventurous, go for the Chef's Choice on dog toppings or fry topping. Delicious!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dat Dog also viewed

 

Been to Dat Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dat Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.