We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dat Dog

Dat Dog
5030 Freret Street and 601 Frenchmen Street, and 3336 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA
+1 504-899-6883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,602 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Fast Food, Gastropub, Fusion, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Dat Dog now has 2 stores in New Orleans. Gourmet hot dogs from around the world with personalized toppings, fries to die for. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and family friendly atmosphere.5030 Freret Street LA70115Our converted 1930 gas station provides 200+ outside seating, 60 inside. Party bookings welcome- all sizes.Great music, live local bands. Movie nights and projector game nights.Our popular quiz night is on Tuesday evenings- 7pm start.Buskers welcome. 3336 Magazine Street LA70115Previously a bakery, now a spacious eating venue on this great shopping street. 160+ outside seating, 70 inside. Party bookings welcome- all sizes. Private room hire- 20+ seating.Great music. Buskers welcome. Full bar facilities, onsite ATM. Take away service is provided- but first we recommend a visit to take in this highly popular
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I wish they had this place in Dallas! Staff was friendly and patient (trying to decide what to get). Tried the German brat, genius dog and duck dog and theywere all great. The buns are greatness and I let the cook add what ever toppings/dressing to my bratwurst and it was great. We will be back when we return to n.o.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    73
    50
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a chili cheese hot dog and it was delicious. I also had the bacon ranch fries and they seemed a bit salty. The fries were frozen so that doesn't appeal to me much. I would definitely go back for a hot dog. It's close to Mahoney's and parking is crazy so don't try to go during peak hours unless you want to walk a bit. Service was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter here as a treat after an appointment. She ordered the chili cheese fries. I had the Slovenian sausage. We split them and still had tons left. The bun is perfection! I could eat it alone. The sausage was good as were the fries. I'm being modest, the fries were exceptional. It's a little pricey but it compares with the size.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dat Dog Damn Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We read about it and had to try it. First round we had the crawfish sausage with etouffe, along with fries with etouffe. On the 2nd visit the duck sausage with spicy raspberry jam and mustard. Damn! now that's some good eatin'! The place has a very nice homey/community/friendly feeling and is definitely worth a visit when you are in NOLA.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Astonishing array of quirky and delicious dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just love this odd, fun amazing place. It's a hot dog lover's paradise situated in a former gas station on a corner of Freret. They have every type of dog you can imagine and more. We have been eating at Dat Dog since it was at its original teeny location across the street, and we have not visited their newer Magazine Street location, but the food here has always been good. Service is a little harried sometimes, because they get so crazy busy. Look for their mini food truck at bars around the city on various nights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dat Dog also viewed

 

Been to Dat Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dat Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.