We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for a visit to New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #37 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a visit to New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We could not have been happier with our choice, based mainly on TripAdvisor reviews, of this hotel for our first visit to New Orleans. The warehouse district is interesting and felt safe to walk around, and we were happy to be away from - though in reach of - the French quarter.

The hotel itself is very nicely presented, with original artwork throughout, and service was friendly. We found it the ideal place both to sleep and rest between meals - this city is incredible for the choice and quality of food.

Rooms were clean and comfortable; old CRT TVs need updating but Aeron chairs are a welcome surprise. The rooftop pool is indeed small, but it's nice to have an outdoor space.

As I said before, this was our first visit to New Orleans. I hope there are more to come, and if so this hotel would definitely be part of our plans.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    286
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
123
199
31
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We have stayed at the Renaissance Arts in New Orleans 5 or 6 times and have enjoyed our stays each time.The hotel is decorated with original art and is beautiful. It is not the cookie cutter chain hotel. Each time we stay there, I take photos of whatever new art is in the hotel. We like the neighborhood and find it a nice area to walk and look into the art galleries and restaurants in the area. The staff is willing to help, but I can not remember ever having to ask them for any service.I consider that a sign of good management and a efficient staff. I highly recommend the LaCote Brasserie which is in a corner of the lobby. The food is as good as many more well known restaurants in New Orleans. It has been my favorite for dinner when my husband is out for meetings. Even when the hotel is full of guests, the hotel tends to be quiet and restful. The rooms are very comfortable. We have stayed in other hotels in the Warehouse and CBD, but this remains our favorite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights for a conference at the convention center which was a short walk away. Location is great. The Quarter is a close walk, but the area around the hotel was a little cleaner and nicer than the Canal/Bourbon St hotels. Good restaurants nearby (went to Mulattes & Bouche, both were good local spots)

Rooms were immaculate and I had no issues with noise as I read in other posts. Other room doors nearby closing can be heard at times (no worse than most hotels), but definitely not "paper thin" walls. My only complaint was a touchy hot/cold shower knob that was either cold or scorching.

The staff was helpful & attentive at every turn. I would definitely go back to the Renaissance Arts the next time I'm in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for three days, and it's been a while since we enjoyed a hotel this much! Outstanding location in the Warehouse District, which I now realize is much better than staying in the French Quarter....less noise, rowdiness, and crowds, and more value, character and options than almost any other place we saw. It's two or three blocks to Harrah's Casino (better than we thought), Riverwalk (ditto), the World War II museum (awesome and powerful), and the streetcar lines, and a short walk to the French Quarter and all it has to offer. The hotel is a wonderful blend of converted warehouse, artsy cosmopolitan, peaceful retreat, and sophisticated funky, without the guesswork of getting a good boutique hotel.....just wonderful. The beds are great, rooms are spacious (though baths could be larger), furnishings are new, everything (public areas also) is spotless, employees courteous and plentiful. There is a genuine New orleans bar (Lucy's) directly across the street (which hops at night), and a genuine dive bar two doors down. Also, unlike many of the boutique hotels in town, it is comfortable....not pretentious. Absolutely elated, and we have high standards (Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, etc.). I would never consider another place if in town again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Great hotel with and good location. Try the food across the street at Lucy's. Nice and quiet place to sleep unlike the French Quarter hotels that are loud all night long.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a pretty good hotel. The interior design is a bit garish - it's not as sophisticated-looking as the name suggested - a bit late-80s I suppose and lots of bright colours. But the rooms are good and the location is good too. The first night we were badly disturbed by other guests partying in the middle of the night. Most of the rooms connect to a room next door and the people through our connecting door didn't want to sleep. But guests were also running up and down the corridors shouting and banging on doors. Maybe this is how it is in hotels in New Orleans on a Saturday night - it is a party town after all - but it's not what I needed after travelling for about 16 hours from the UK. We also had 'internal windows' in that our room looked out onto an atrium not the outside. Which was bit gloomy. Reception staff were very helpful though the next morning and moved us to a larger corner room on the floor above. This was great - spacious and full of light from the outside. And no more noise problems. So the rest of the stay was really good. Only other complaint would be the parking - pretty expensive although the valet staff are quick and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

NOT FREE: wifi, parking, breakfast

NO Laundry in building. Pathetic fitness room.

Some rooms lack a refrigerator. You have to walk three blocks to another Marriott if you want to do laundry. There is a small pool on the roof. The common areas are nice. There is a lounge upstairs if you can negotiate access to it as my company has. The same goes for the negotiating a free breakfast, but if you do negotiate breakfast you'll have to tell the staff when you are checking out--EVERY time you check out; they know the breakfast ins included in the bill but they will charge you for it if you don't tell them to cut it out. The staff are a nuisance, they tend to get underfoot to a certain extent. The location is good--the French Quarter is nearby. (I have stayed here several times for work.) I had to complain when there was a valet charge one day when I left my car out front for five minutes to drop off my briefcase after work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.