We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we could have imagined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #47 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Better than we could have imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for three days, and it's been a while since we enjoyed a hotel this much! Outstanding location in the Warehouse District, which I now realize is much better than staying in the French Quarter....less noise, rowdiness, and crowds, and more value, character and options than almost any other place we saw. It's two or three blocks to Harrah's Casino (better than we thought), Riverwalk (ditto), the World War II museum (awesome and powerful), and the streetcar lines, and a short walk to the French Quarter and all it has to offer. The hotel is a wonderful blend of converted warehouse, artsy cosmopolitan, peaceful retreat, and sophisticated funky, without the guesswork of getting a good boutique hotel.....just wonderful. The beds are great, rooms are spacious (though baths could be larger), furnishings are new, everything (public areas also) is spotless, employees courteous and plentiful. There is a genuine New orleans bar (Lucy's) directly across the street (which hops at night), and a genuine dive bar two doors down. Also, unlike many of the boutique hotels in town, it is comfortable....not pretentious. Absolutely elated, and we have high standards (Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, etc.). I would never consider another place if in town again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    327
    76
    22
    10
See reviews for
144
230
32
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
351 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Great hotel with and good location. Try the food across the street at Lucy's. Nice and quiet place to sleep unlike the French Quarter hotels that are loud all night long.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a pretty good hotel. The interior design is a bit garish - it's not as sophisticated-looking as the name suggested - a bit late-80s I suppose and lots of bright colours. But the rooms are good and the location is good too. The first night we were badly disturbed by other guests partying in the middle of the night. Most of the rooms connect to a room next door and the people through our connecting door didn't want to sleep. But guests were also running up and down the corridors shouting and banging on doors. Maybe this is how it is in hotels in New Orleans on a Saturday night - it is a party town after all - but it's not what I needed after travelling for about 16 hours from the UK. We also had 'internal windows' in that our room looked out onto an atrium not the outside. Which was bit gloomy. Reception staff were very helpful though the next morning and moved us to a larger corner room on the floor above. This was great - spacious and full of light from the outside. And no more noise problems. So the rest of the stay was really good. Only other complaint would be the parking - pretty expensive although the valet staff are quick and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

NOT FREE: wifi, parking, breakfast

NO Laundry in building. Pathetic fitness room.

Some rooms lack a refrigerator. You have to walk three blocks to another Marriott if you want to do laundry. There is a small pool on the roof. The common areas are nice. There is a lounge upstairs if you can negotiate access to it as my company has. The same goes for the negotiating a free breakfast, but if you do negotiate breakfast you'll have to tell the staff when you are checking out--EVERY time you check out; they know the breakfast ins included in the bill but they will charge you for it if you don't tell them to cut it out. The staff are a nuisance, they tend to get underfoot to a certain extent. The location is good--the French Quarter is nearby. (I have stayed here several times for work.) I had to complain when there was a valet charge one day when I left my car out front for five minutes to drop off my briefcase after work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We truely enjoyed our stay here! What a beautiful hotel

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel is located in the trendy warehouse / arts district of New Orleans. It's nice to be away from the French Quarter, but I was surprised at how noisy this area can be. There's a bar directly opposite from the hotel that was mobbed on Friday night, with patrons spilling out onto the street. This, coupled with an event in the hotel's own bar/restaurant, created a chaotic and very LOUD atmosphere. And, unfortunately, my room was located directly above it all. I asked to change rooms, and to their credit, the staff accommodated my request graciously. In fact, the most impressive thing about this hotel was the staff -- they were warm, professional, and inviting from check-in to check-out.

The rooms are fine, though not spectacular. The art strewn all over the hotel is whimsical and... "interesting." The roof-top pool might have been nice (though fairly small), but it was so packed with twenty-somethings that I did no more than glance at it and move on.

The location is reasonably convenient, in that you're an easy walk from the World War II Museum, and only few blocks from the street car line or Canal Street. Emeril's restaurant a block away. The hotel's business center was a convenient and free way to check email or print a boarding pass, and I appreciated the "hold luggage" service on my checkout day.

Once I got my room moved to the back side, away from most of the noise, I had no complaints, and the room rate was a good value for New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Great hotel with an truly unique ambiance. The rooms are quite large. Given that the hotel's facade is a warehouse it is truly deceiving when you first arrive. Inside there are beautifully pieces of art adorning the lobby. The pool out doors on the roof top. While it is on the small side it was wonderful to relax upstairs and enjoy great views of the city.

With respect to the location of the hotel, it is about 6-8 blocks from Bourbon street. Therefore, while out of the way it is still close enough to get to the main street. The trolley is about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#23 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#37 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#42 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.