We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Renaissance Arts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2,000 Bonus Points
Ranked #27 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
long island, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Loved the Renaissance Arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

The staff is what makes this hotel such an amazing place to visit. We just returned from a two night stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in the Arts/Warehouse District. Rhenea the front desk manager greeted us with a huge welcome and smile and we knew we were off to a great start. We booked through a discount site and were amazed that we were treated so professionally and warmly. Our room was on the fourth floor and not near any ice machines and elevators.The room was very large with a good size bathroom with marble type counters and two sinks.

The hotel is really pretty and filled with art work. Down the street is Tommy's Italian/Creole restaurant. Food was good but we were seated at the worst table in the house. A pole was next to our table and a thin wall seperated us from the Dishwasher! The constant sound of the dishwasher, clanging glassware and noise put a definite damper on our dinner. The place was packed and after a day of travel I was too tired to move. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and friendly. Down the block is Emerill's restaurant also. Didn't try it as it is pricey and I didn't want to try it. Lucy's a fun surf bar across the street had 8 dollar hamburgers and other bar food. Service was great and food was reasonable and tastey.

The French quarter is a 15 minute walk and we would walk there and take a cab back. Cab fare was $7.50 for 2. Trolley stop at St. Charles and Julia was close by. It costs 1.25 a person exact change only.

We took the Cajun tours/Honey Island Swamp tour booked through the hotel. It costs 49 dollars and AAA discount is 2 dollars off each person. The bus picks you right up at the hotel. During the colder weather there aren't many alligators to see. My daughter enjoyed it but I wouldn't recommend it during the colder months. Saw just a few small baby alligators. Driver will drop you off in Downtown French Quarter if you like on the way back. Bus driver was very prompt and professional.

We took the Celebration Tours City/Katrina tour. It is approximately 3 hours and very informative. Mike Marino our tour guide spoke constantly never taking a break. Bordered on giving me a headache but overall a great tour. A small van with a maximum room for 14 people, cost of 49 dollars. Look for coupons in the New Orleans guide which you can order for free online and save 10 dollars each. They pick you up very promptly at the hotel and will drop you off downtown on the way to dropping folks off at the hotel. Very professional people run this operation.

Cab service to the airport and back is $30 each way for two people.

I would definitely go back to this hotel if I return to New Orleans. The staff went above and beyond in helping us with information and recommendations.

  • Liked — Rhenea, Lawrence and Erica
  • Disliked — Does not apply
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    225
    53
    13
    7
See reviews for
94
167
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We decided to spend a night in New Orleans while on a road trip. Since we are Marriott Rewards members, we looked at what Marriott properties were available for that night. Only 3 were showing availability and we chose the Renaissance Arts Hotel because 1) it had a good nightly rate and 2) we've had great experiences in other Renaissance hotels.

We weren't disappointed at all! As other reviewers pointed out the rooms were quite large. However, surprisingly, the bathroom, although nicely appointed, was small. We were also pleasantly surprised to find a refrigerator in the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was on the soft side but still comfortable with good quality bedding. We found the hotel to be very quiet at night and were able to sleep well.

The only glitch we encountered (and it turned out to be minor but did give us a bit of a scare) was a problem with the valet parking. When we checked in, we went to the valet and he told us that he didn't think there were any spaces available! When we expressed our displeasure, he then assured us that he would find a spot---even if we had to leave the car outside the hotel all night. The desk clerk told us if that happened, the car wouldn't be towed. As it turned out, he did find a spot and the car was returned to us the next day without any problems. In fact, we didn't have much of a wait to get it, either, despite the valet warning us that there may well be a wait in the morning.

Would we stay here again? Certainly! However, we agree we would try to visit when we didn't have to drive---not just for the valet issues but, like any large city, negotiating the traffic wasn't fun.

  • Liked — large, well-appointed room
  • Disliked — valet parking issues
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

You can see why this hotel receives such excellent ratings. We received a great deal booking directly on the Marriott website. In addition we received 25% off a 3 night stay as Marriott rewards members. We stayed December 26,27,28, 2008. The location in the arts/warehouse district was perfect. There are many great restaurants in the area and the French Quarter is just a short walk away. This is a quieter area and the Renaissance Arts offers good sized rooms and great amenities. One of our travellers used the gym and the rooftop pool would be perfect for warmer weather. We also rented a car from Hertz a couple blocks away on Convention Center Blvd. You save the airport rental car fees and can drop the car off very easily. Sometimes a cheap rate means low-quality services but we received wine and cheese in our room and a free breakfast.

This is a great option for anyone who wants a slower paced trip to New Orleans. We would definitely stay there again.

DanB

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

This hotel was suggested to me by a fellow travel agent who had posted a review on t.a. I followed up with her as I was concerned about the location not in walking distance to the quarter. The hotel is in walking distance about 10-12min and no concerns about safety even in the evening. Close enough and far enough away from the late night going on and street noise. I called the hotel the day before and asked for a large room and was given a wonderful corner room(must have been 475sqft or more) facing Lucy's retired surfers bar. The only night that there was noise ( at Lucy's ) was on arrival which was Halloween and people were out on the streets everywhere, we were staying up late as well. If you enjoy Halloween this is a great destination! Marriott brand bedding is terrific as well as nice bath products by Lather. Room was very up to date, no signs of wear and tear. Had fridge delivered to room - no charge. Kept water and wine cold. The rooftop pool-jacuzzi is an oasis. Great couches and lounging area like someone's home. Only one time did we see other people there, beautiful view of river and city as well. Getting a cab was easy and quick, doormen right there to assist with always a friendly hello or goodbye.

All employee's we encountered were helpful and friendly. Management has it right at this hotel.
The hotel is just beautiful overall and short walk to Magazine street shopping too.
Stay here - you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Large corner room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

I don't know why this hotel is so far down in the ranking .We're trying to stay at all the high ranked hotels in New Orleans and I can tell you this one belongs up at the top.This is one of the cleanest hotels we ever stayed.Great service,clean and modern rooms.,and a hot tub and pool on the roof.Also a workout room..The location is good ,very quiet area ,not too far from the action.I would highly recommend this hotel....

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — The hot tub could use more pressure.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This was my seventh visit to New Orleans, and my second stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel on Tchoupitoulas Street. What a GREAT place to stay - clean, luxurious, and with excellent staff/service. The rooms are great size (even the standard ones). The lobby boasts ever-changing artwork and access to the Albert Ross art gallery next door.

It's super-convenient to the convention center, but no-one going to conventions there seems to know about it! All the better - it truly is an oasis. It's about a 5 minute walk to the French Quarter, so you can party on Bourbon Street without having your hotel in the middle of the partying!

Great roof-top pool and excellent fitness facility too.

I have no complaints!

  • Liked — The oasis-like atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything that I didn't like!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We came to New Orleans for the 2008 Voodoo Festival and then stayed into the following week. We had requested an upper floor with a King bed but at check in they only had double beds available. We were advised to try the front desk the following day as people would be checking out, perhaps we could get a king bed. We ended up on the 4th floor on the Club or Concierge side. We didn't even think about trying to get in until the next morning and low and behold we had access, very pleasant surprise. This saved us buying breakfast every morning as well as providing pop and snacks in the evening. The room was an inside room as well which was very pleasant and ultimately we decided not to try and move. The housekeeping was top notch, very clean and efficient. The room itself was a good size, well decorated and clean. The only downside to our stay was the Starbucks convention that was in town. Our hotel had a large number of attendees staying and they were loud. The location was great, good restaurants in the area and quick easy walk to the quarter. I would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful artwork.
  • Disliked — The Starbucks convention
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.