We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #37 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Staying here made our first trip to New Orleans a very memorable one. Thank you!

(+) Great and friendly staffs, personally I would like to say thank you to Uruy (nice guy from Ukraina-sorry if I misspelled the name), who took an extra miles giving us direction advice and taking care of our car (parking is $34+tax) :). Also thanks to Demi, from the front desk who gave us excellent service. We were very pleased.
(+) Really nice, clean perfect room.
(+) Location. Walking distance to french quarter, kids museum (lousiana kids museum), WWII museum, restaurants. Quite neighborhood compare to the FQ.
(+) Small but lovely roof top pool with an awesome view. The kids enjoyed the pool.

(-) No free internet, and the wi-fi at the lobby was a little bit slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear pollarstar,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. It is delightful to hear that you experienced wonderful service from Yuri and Demi, as well as a perfect, spacious room. We're also happy to know that you enjoyed our convenient location and rooftop pool. We do provide complimentary wifi in the common areas for those who find the wifi rate in guest rooms cost-prohibitive; we apologize that your wifi speed did not exceed your expectations and we will be sure to address that with the appropriate department. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    286
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
123
199
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We checked at 1:30 AM on a Friday night for a 3 night stay. Of course it was so late that we didn't expect much fanfare but since we did email the hotel that we would be arriving at this time, I would have expected them to put aside a nice room since we are Platinum Marriott rewards members. We were so tired that we just went right to sleep. We had an appointment early the next morning but unfortunately we did not get an opportunity to wake up using our alarm but instead were awoken by noise outside our window. Our room was on the second floor (228) and it turns out that the delivery bay is located directly beneath our room. All morning long trucks pulled up along the curb below our window and we could hear the whirring sound of the garage door opening, the truck door being rolled up, the lift on the truck being lowered and then the continuous rolling of the carts. I called Guest Services and complained but the response was that the entire hotel was sold out for the entire weekend. I was in a rush so I just inquired about breakfast (since I was not informed that we can eat breakfast in the restaurant since there is not an executive lounge in this hotel). We were busy the entire weekend so we just endured the early wakeup for the next morning and then were up and out of the hotel at 5:30AM for a flight on Monday morning. I did upon checkout inform the front desk person that we were unhappy and she was extremely apologetic and told me that they should have moved my room prior to everyone checking in on Saturday and that she had no clue that this was a bad room. She let me know that she was going to inform the manager as soon as they walked in about this. It is now April 11th and I never heard a word from anyone! Interesting way to make sure that your most loyal customers have their problems addressed.

This all aside, I would say that the location and the hotel generally were nice enough to warrant 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hubby and I stayed here in 2004, the month it opened. It was such a beautiful hotel--they have an art gallery (which never seems to be open) but also really cool artwork integrated throughout the hotel. And the rooms were plush, just as you'd expect from a Renaissance. Interestingly, as it is built into an old warehouse, there are some interior rooms with windows overlooking the common areas--much quieter. So, in 2014, I had a conference at the convention center (just a quick walk away) and requested to stay here. Did not get an interior room--big mistake, as the first night was LOUD because of the bar outside. The next few mights were much better, although the second night security apparently kicked out the person next door at 2 a.m. because they came back drunk and were apparently wrestling. Security was very prompt and swift! Hotel is still beautiful, although showing a bit of wear and tear (it is 10 years old, after all) Service was excellent. WIFI worked great (much better than the conference center) I walked to everything--it is a much quieter neighborhood than French Quarter but still close. My only complaint, I had to order room service breakfast one morning and it was yucky (but it's room service--at least it was delivered quickly)
Can't wait to go back--hopefully won't be another 10 years.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are much quieter, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Jolysa,

Thank you for your kind words about the Renaissance New Orleans Arts. We're delighted that you were able to return to our property after your stay in 2004. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, excellent service, and beautiful property. The Art Gallery remains locked at all times because of the valuables located inside. We do open it upon request. Please accept our apologies that you experienced some outside noise and that the breakfast did not exceed your expectations; we would very much like to make this up to you on any future trips to the Renaissance Arts. It would be our pleasure to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

There were some things wrong with this hotel that would normally rate a bad review from me. Free wifi is only available in the lobby and the connectivity and speed is bad. We even paid for the connection in the room and it was so slow we got our money refunded. We also had issues with the water not always being very hot for showers - just adequate.

.....however the staff were very nice, the hotel is beautiful and clean, the rooftop pool is great, and I would come back and stay here again. If your are glued to an iPad etc try somewhere else.

The hotel was in a quiet area but an easy walk to the French quarter, we did that to eat most nights, although mothers was just up the road. It's an easy walk to the aquarium, ww2 museum, and getting the streetcar or bus to the zoo. A good place if you have young kids.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing the lobby can pick up the free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Mikey,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We are very pleased that you truly enjoyed our great staff, beautiful rooftop pool, and gorgeous, clean interior. We deeply apologize about the connectivity and hot water and we are very happy that the staff's service was absolutely superb during that situation. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again during your next trips to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We come with friends for the third time for Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. Already when arriving we feel Us immediately well and enjoy the informal atmosphere. The furnishings the apartment, the wellness area And the entrance hall is as always great and comfortable. We are already looking forward to it back on next year

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Oliver,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. Additionally, thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our friendly service and comfortable rooms. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel before, for a high school reunion. This time we stayed here for Mardi Gras, and had a great time. We brought our family, and the warehouse district is a great area to watch Mardi Gras parades, plus it's very safe and not too crowded. This hotel is a beautiful hotel, which is also comfortable and clean, and very conveniently located. We will stay here again, I'm sure, in the future. I'd highly recommend it. There's also a bar & restaurant located inside. The food is very good. The service is a little slow, as we were there during a very busy time.

Room Tip: Great hotel to stay at during Mardi Gras. It's on the parade route and very safe. It's not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Hetherspierce,

Thank you very much for giving us feedback on your recent stay at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us during Mardi Gras and found our hotel beautiful, clean and comfortable. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, room was very clean and close to many restaurants and attractions. I would stay here again. Breakfast at restaurant was OK, but I believe there are better restaurants out there to eat and at a much more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel lovely and well-situated. We are sorry that the restaurant did not exceed your expectations and we are very much looking forward to launching our brand new menu in the near future. We hope we may have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.