We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Attractive Hotel, but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location and Attractive Hotel, but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Arts Hotel during Spring Break this year. The hotel is very attractive and interesting with all the artwork. It is in a great location in the Warehouse district and within easy walking distance to many attractions. We did not realize that the room would be an interior room and consequently it was somewhat dark. Our window looked out on an art display. I didn't realize before this how much I rely on looking out the window to check on the weather and what to wear! Our biggest concern was with the housekeeping staff. First, the day we got there, there was a broken glass by the wall in the hallway near our room. It was still there 2 days later so we told the front desk and it was cleaned up right away. Our room seemed clean enough, but it was a constant battle to get what we needed! There were 3 of us registered in the room but sometimes we'd get just 2 towels, or one washcloth, or no hand towels. They brought the linens up when we called, but not always what we'd asked for. One time they brought us a big pile of towels when we needed one. Another time when we asked for some hand towels they brought us 5 washcloths. We also didn't get shampoo or conditioner about half the time. The night before we left I called again. They brought a bag with 9 little bottles in it, not one of them shampoo!! The other concern for us was that their website said they had an on property laundry. When we asked where it was they looked at us as though we were crazy. There was no laundry. The only thing was the service you pay for. Since we'd packed thinking we'd do a few loads of wash, we ended up washing clothes in the bathtub! It would have cost about $100 to have the service do the laundry we had! Another point to pay attention to is that if you want internet it's about $12 a day. Hard to believe in this day and age when you can get internet in fast food restaurants and much less expensive hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful with advice and how to find local attractions. However, with all the choices in New Orleans, I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    312
    70
    19
    8
See reviews for
135
221
32
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I were in Nola for a conference which was held in this hotel. This was our second experience here and was very ambivalent about our stay. Upon check in, the front desk was friendly enough and we upgraded to a suite. It was lovely, however, our bed backed up to the elevator which was loud. The tub stopper didn't work as well as the tv. Valet parking was expensive and took a while to retrieve our car. I guess it was the little thing that made it not rate a four star and definitely not a five. We will stay there again, but only if conference is there!

Room Tip: Don't stay in hospitality suite on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Tha Arts District is a great location, not far from busy French Quarter but quiet and elegant, with loads OF beautifully renovated warehouses around and a choice of prime restaurants. The hotel itself is a 4-storey brick building, quite good-looking from the outside. We were there at the Jazz Fest period, so did not get the largest choice in rooms. Being noise-sensitive we did not choose a room on street because of the music bars opposite. We preferred an exec double queen over a patio, the counterpart being a gloomy atmosphere with little light and a poor view. The room deco is somewhat depressing and tired with terrible humidity smell and noisy air con. Update needed. We liked the small gym (though no view...) and the top-floor pool. There is an exec lounge for breakfast, though the breakfast at downstairs René Bistrot is far more pleasant and tasty (and charged extra). The lobby offers an interesting effort in artsy style, unfortunately balanced by approximative maintenance (not so clean windows and floor), poor flowers at entrance and terrible door service (unattentive, indifferent). Very good reception, with special mention for Nico Lambert, who delivered an outstanding service with great competence and kindness. Quite clearly a good hotel that has to go the extra mile (and it can) to become great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located. Safe haven from the craziness of the French Quarter but great location to walk everywhere. Clean well appointed rooms. Great staff! If you are a Marriott Gold nice amenities in lounge. Workout area and roof top pool very relaxing. Can't imagine a reason to stay anywhere else!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for about 1 week. Positives, quiet area of N.O. Clean rooms, business center downstairs. There is an art museum atta hed to the hotel and an upcale restuarant ( though didnt eat there). Negatives, charge to use internet in rooms, expensive valet parking and hit or miss valet service, although there was a fridge, no microwave, no indoor pool, just outdoor. I would maybe consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid quality hotel - within walking distance to all the NO attractions, yet away from the rowdiness! We travelled with our two sons, so that was important. Hotel was unique with the decor. Bellmen & front desk employees were very helpful & courteous. Room was spacious & clean. No bells or whistles, but overall a good hotel. A few negatives: Had to wait a very long time for our car to get out of valet with only two people ahead of us. Most strange was an older woman who was strutting around the rooftop pool topless. This really bothered me with my 10 & 12 yr old sons present! Regardless, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was located convenient for short walks to the Convention Center, French Quarter, and Bourbon Street but on a comparatively quiet road. It was clean and the housekeeping staff was top notch. Unfortunately, the front-of-house was hugely disappointing. Though equipped with a concierge stand, the position was not staffed for the three days we were there. We learned to fend for ourselves after the front desk sent us to the worst meal of our stay (and beyond). But the worst was requesting a 4:00 AM wake-up call and 5:00 AM taxi...we got neither...and on the first day of air traffic controller furloughs.

Room Tip: Better to be in a perimeter room looking out, as opposed to windows overlooking the inside of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Otel, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.