We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but room for improvement.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but room for improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tha Arts District is a great location, not far from busy French Quarter but quiet and elegant, with loads OF beautifully renovated warehouses around and a choice of prime restaurants. The hotel itself is a 4-storey brick building, quite good-looking from the outside. We were there at the Jazz Fest period, so did not get the largest choice in rooms. Being noise-sensitive we did not choose a room on street because of the music bars opposite. We preferred an exec double queen over a patio, the counterpart being a gloomy atmosphere with little light and a poor view. The room deco is somewhat depressing and tired with terrible humidity smell and noisy air con. Update needed. We liked the small gym (though no view...) and the top-floor pool. There is an exec lounge for breakfast, though the breakfast at downstairs René Bistrot is far more pleasant and tasty (and charged extra). The lobby offers an interesting effort in artsy style, unfortunately balanced by approximative maintenance (not so clean windows and floor), poor flowers at entrance and terrible door service (unattentive, indifferent). Very good reception, with special mention for Nico Lambert, who delivered an outstanding service with great competence and kindness. Quite clearly a good hotel that has to go the extra mile (and it can) to become great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    278
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
118
195
31
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located. Safe haven from the craziness of the French Quarter but great location to walk everywhere. Clean well appointed rooms. Great staff! If you are a Marriott Gold nice amenities in lounge. Workout area and roof top pool very relaxing. Can't imagine a reason to stay anywhere else!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for about 1 week. Positives, quiet area of N.O. Clean rooms, business center downstairs. There is an art museum atta hed to the hotel and an upcale restuarant ( though didnt eat there). Negatives, charge to use internet in rooms, expensive valet parking and hit or miss valet service, although there was a fridge, no microwave, no indoor pool, just outdoor. I would maybe consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid quality hotel - within walking distance to all the NO attractions, yet away from the rowdiness! We travelled with our two sons, so that was important. Hotel was unique with the decor. Bellmen & front desk employees were very helpful & courteous. Room was spacious & clean. No bells or whistles, but overall a good hotel. A few negatives: Had to wait a very long time for our car to get out of valet with only two people ahead of us. Most strange was an older woman who was strutting around the rooftop pool topless. This really bothered me with my 10 & 12 yr old sons present! Regardless, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was located convenient for short walks to the Convention Center, French Quarter, and Bourbon Street but on a comparatively quiet road. It was clean and the housekeeping staff was top notch. Unfortunately, the front-of-house was hugely disappointing. Though equipped with a concierge stand, the position was not staffed for the three days we were there. We learned to fend for ourselves after the front desk sent us to the worst meal of our stay (and beyond). But the worst was requesting a 4:00 AM wake-up call and 5:00 AM taxi...we got neither...and on the first day of air traffic controller furloughs.

Room Tip: Better to be in a perimeter room looking out, as opposed to windows overlooking the inside of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for a work trip in March and loved the hotel. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. I also stayed in a room facing the street and had no problems with noise. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. I also tried the room service which was very good and arrived when stated. The restaurant downstairs was very good as well. The bar downstairs has a happy hour before 7 which was nice as we could have cheap drinks before heading out. In order to get to Bourbon St. it was only a short cab ride approximately $5-$7. If you do need to valet your car, make sure you call ahead before leaving as it does take a few minutes for them to retrieve it.

I would definitely stay here again. It was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: I did not have a problem with noise with a room facing towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Renaissance Arts Hotel is one of the nicest Marriott properties I have been at in a long while, and I travel extensively for work. Further, this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at in NOLA, and we've been to the Ritz, Hyatt (before the storm), Hilton, Astor, La Pavillon, etc. It was very clean, nicely remodeled, smelled fresh, everyone working there was really attentive and friendly, and the rooms were spacious. The only minor observation was that the bathrooms were a bit on the small side, yet it was fine for my husband and I. Bonus points for the Aveda products!!

We were able to sleep very well, as the hotel walls were solid and prevented noise from penetrating through. Usually this is not the case, as it seems like hotels are made of cheesecloth these days. Not at the Renaissance Arts!

We used the pool, work out room, restaurant and Wi-Fi and all were great. No issues with connectivity with the internet, and the common areas of the hotel were clean, modern & convenient.

We were grateful that the hotel is a smaller property, unlike other establishments we have stayed at, where you are one of the masses, fighting for service, elevators, or even the ability to walk through the lobby with ease. The Renaissance had a calming effect to it.

The walk to the FQ is not far, about 3 blocks to Canal. Right across the street is Lucy's, which we visited and enjoyed. We also liked the fact that we could easily walk to the street car and take a ride up to the Garden District.

All in all, a fantastic property! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the inside of the hotel. While it was quiet, remarkably quiet, after a few days, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.