We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #31 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good quality property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid quality hotel - within walking distance to all the NO attractions, yet away from the rowdiness! We travelled with our two sons, so that was important. Hotel was unique with the decor. Bellmen & front desk employees were very helpful & courteous. Room was spacious & clean. No bells or whistles, but overall a good hotel. A few negatives: Had to wait a very long time for our car to get out of valet with only two people ahead of us. Most strange was an older woman who was strutting around the rooftop pool topless. This really bothered me with my 10 & 12 yr old sons present! Regardless, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    267
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
114
191
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was located convenient for short walks to the Convention Center, French Quarter, and Bourbon Street but on a comparatively quiet road. It was clean and the housekeeping staff was top notch. Unfortunately, the front-of-house was hugely disappointing. Though equipped with a concierge stand, the position was not staffed for the three days we were there. We learned to fend for ourselves after the front desk sent us to the worst meal of our stay (and beyond). But the worst was requesting a 4:00 AM wake-up call and 5:00 AM taxi...we got neither...and on the first day of air traffic controller furloughs.

Room Tip: Better to be in a perimeter room looking out, as opposed to windows overlooking the inside of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for a work trip in March and loved the hotel. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. I also stayed in a room facing the street and had no problems with noise. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. I also tried the room service which was very good and arrived when stated. The restaurant downstairs was very good as well. The bar downstairs has a happy hour before 7 which was nice as we could have cheap drinks before heading out. In order to get to Bourbon St. it was only a short cab ride approximately $5-$7. If you do need to valet your car, make sure you call ahead before leaving as it does take a few minutes for them to retrieve it.

I would definitely stay here again. It was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: I did not have a problem with noise with a room facing towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Renaissance Arts Hotel is one of the nicest Marriott properties I have been at in a long while, and I travel extensively for work. Further, this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at in NOLA, and we've been to the Ritz, Hyatt (before the storm), Hilton, Astor, La Pavillon, etc. It was very clean, nicely remodeled, smelled fresh, everyone working there was really attentive and friendly, and the rooms were spacious. The only minor observation was that the bathrooms were a bit on the small side, yet it was fine for my husband and I. Bonus points for the Aveda products!!

We were able to sleep very well, as the hotel walls were solid and prevented noise from penetrating through. Usually this is not the case, as it seems like hotels are made of cheesecloth these days. Not at the Renaissance Arts!

We used the pool, work out room, restaurant and Wi-Fi and all were great. No issues with connectivity with the internet, and the common areas of the hotel were clean, modern & convenient.

We were grateful that the hotel is a smaller property, unlike other establishments we have stayed at, where you are one of the masses, fighting for service, elevators, or even the ability to walk through the lobby with ease. The Renaissance had a calming effect to it.

The walk to the FQ is not far, about 3 blocks to Canal. Right across the street is Lucy's, which we visited and enjoyed. We also liked the fact that we could easily walk to the street car and take a ride up to the Garden District.

All in all, a fantastic property! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the inside of the hotel. While it was quiet, remarkably quiet, after a few days, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First, this restaurant is well situated for a visit to NOLA, it is beautiful, particularly in the lobby, and the staff are fabulous to deal with. The rooms, however, are just average, and our room had an adjoining room with kids. In this type of room, you noise much louder through the adjoining doors, and we were awakened two mornings. The other odd thing is they have this huge restaurant that has the ambiance of a IHOP. It was also stare and literally cold; too much A/C. They could cut our a third and make it more welcome and warm and be more successful. We went across the street to Lucy's bar/restaurant where we had good food and drinks. We noticed when we read some of the reviews of this hotel that others did this too. We were there for the French Quarter Festival, which is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face other rooms across an open area. while the view is attractive, it is not ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

the rooms were clean and large. wireless internet connection was good. the location is about three blocks from the edge of the french quarter--easy walking distance--it is located in the warehouse/arts district which is a nice change from the quarter. there are very good restaurants in the area and it has a whole different feel then the quarter. they offer some very reasonable room rates. the service was excellent and staff went out of their way to be helpful. the only negative comment i have is that it is time to replace some of the carpet. the carpet in the second room we stayed was stained although the room was clean. i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights as we were attending a conference at the nearby convention centre (very handy for this massive complex as it is only a few minutes`safe walk away).
The entrance/foyer area is one of the hotel’s best features. Very spacious with nice modern artwork and a little water feature, all enhanced by the smell of fresh flowers.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very large having a square-shaped shower room with a powerful shower. The room was serviced promptly every day. Though the hotel seemed quite busy, it was never noisy and had a quiet reserved feel to it.
A downside was the bar, primarily because it closed at 11pm, which surprised a number of guests each night. Suppose New Orleans is famous for its wild bars but it would have been nice to relax in your own hotel at night with a nightcap or two after a busy day working at the conference. The restaurant was also unappealing as even at breakfast time it was empty, with more staff (though rather inattentive) than customers.
Overall a pleasant stay in a picturesque hotel but somewhat lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.