We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Neighborhood and Hotel in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #37 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“The Best Neighborhood and Hotel in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love this hotel. The best part is the Chef, Rene, in the hotel's restaurant. Ask for anything...ask what's not on the menu...they are there to please you. Spectacular hotel, great nieghborhood with great bars and restaurants, and a great in-house restaurant willing to serve you and make your meal memorable. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    283
    60
    17
    7
See reviews for
121
198
31
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I'm a fairly seasoned New Orleans traveller, and have been to the city annually for the past 16 years. We've stayed at the Renaissance Arts for a week both in 2010 and 2012 and I can easily say that it is my favorite NOLA hotel. The roof top pool and hot tub is such a wonderful little oasis, and typically you can have it all to yourself. The staff is always extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are quiet (which is nice in New Orleans) and very clean.
Warehouse district is a great place to stay with several wonderful restaurants and music venues with in walking distance. Our favorite is Mulates but there are numerous to choose from!
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The roof top pool and bot tub was a great escape. My husband likes to relax with the flat screen tv, so it was nice to have a place to go to be outside in the sun. Beds were comfortable enough with lots of pillows. Easy walk to to the Quarter. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a very attentive staff starting when you pull up to the hotel with the bellman. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The warehouse district is a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this little hotel in the Warehouse District of Nola. This hotel looks newly renovated and is sparkling. The rates offered at this hotel are very reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised for what we got at the rate we paid. The room is nice and clean. The bathroom is roomy and new. Bathrooms are important to me when it comes to hotel rooms and I am very picky. Really, there is nothing worse than a dingy bathroom in a hotel room. This bathroom is clean, shiney and well-lit. I liked everything about it. The staff is friendly, living up to the famous southern hospitality reputation. There is a rooftop pool (pretty small) and hot tub. There are plenty of lounge chairs to sit and unwind in the sun. The gym, although I didn't partake in it, looks well-equipped.

And if you're tired of fried seafood after days of eating in the French Quarter, try the little bistro down stairs. The bar menu offers sophisticated bar fare (not chips and nachos). We had the charcuterie platter, the bruschetta and the smoked salmon with fingerling potatos. Everything was delicious and interestingly and delicatedly made. We didn't have a chance to try its brunch or dinner, but I'm sure those are equally good.

All in all, a great place to stay just outside of the quarters. It's about a 4-5 block walk to the quarters, so it is by no means out of the way. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and low key place to stay, give the Renaissance Arts a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As the name suggests, this hotel features a lot of beautiful art pieces throughout the building - especially the beautiful blown glass chandeliers in the main lobby.
The staff was super helpful, rooms were great and while our room had a nice view of the atrium, it ended up not being so great when a party kicked into gear on the lower level.
The party didn't last too late (especially for a New Orleans party) but if you're wanting to crash early - good luck.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel does have a lovely lobby area. But, as others have noted, the carpets are dirty. We also noted the upholstery in our room needed cleaning. Service-wise, the staff was friendly but not particularly well-trained or efficient. Requested newspapers were missed in the middle of our stay. The location is very handy to both the French Quarter and the Garden District and in close proximity to a number of good restaurants. Our king-bed room was spacious and fortunately on the quiet side of the building (Commerce Street). I agree that this hotel should not be labeled a luxury hotel, but definitely a cut above the average in N.O. Noise from the hallway and adjacent rooms did intrude at times, but luckily our neighbors were generally a quiet bunch. Our stay was not a bad experience, just less than we had hoped and we'll probably investigate other lodging the next time we visit N.O.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the Commerce Street side at the end of the hall and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.