We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the art display” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Forney, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the art display”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

As the name suggests, this hotel features a lot of beautiful art pieces throughout the building - especially the beautiful blown glass chandeliers in the main lobby.
The staff was super helpful, rooms were great and while our room had a nice view of the atrium, it ended up not being so great when a party kicked into gear on the lower level.
The party didn't last too late (especially for a New Orleans party) but if you're wanting to crash early - good luck.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    305
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
131
218
32
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel does have a lovely lobby area. But, as others have noted, the carpets are dirty. We also noted the upholstery in our room needed cleaning. Service-wise, the staff was friendly but not particularly well-trained or efficient. Requested newspapers were missed in the middle of our stay. The location is very handy to both the French Quarter and the Garden District and in close proximity to a number of good restaurants. Our king-bed room was spacious and fortunately on the quiet side of the building (Commerce Street). I agree that this hotel should not be labeled a luxury hotel, but definitely a cut above the average in N.O. Noise from the hallway and adjacent rooms did intrude at times, but luckily our neighbors were generally a quiet bunch. Our stay was not a bad experience, just less than we had hoped and we'll probably investigate other lodging the next time we visit N.O.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the Commerce Street side at the end of the hall and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Art Hotel in August while moving our son into Tulane. We had such a great experience and would definitely stay here again. It was outside the French Quarter so it was quieter than some of the hotels in New Orleans. We had a very comfortable room and enjoyed the smaller hotel feel. It was also a great location! We are looking forward to visiting soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Great location. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are spacious. Decor has a nice local touch. Service is basic but no complaints as our needs were met. Staff is nice and welcoming.
Rooms are not very soundproof so hopefully no loud groups will be on your floor.
I'd go back there and i recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winnie, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an old warehouse with a beautiful lobby (breathtaking hand blown glass chandeliers), wonderful, helpful staff and has a clean, crisp smell when you enter the doorway. Our room was quite large and roomy with a comfortable bed and nice view of the busy street below. The location was great - close to many wonderful restaurants and a short walk to Bourbon Street.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda, california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently booked a four night stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in New Orleans. It was rated as a "luxury hotel" which was what we were looking for. There is no way this should be called a luxury hotel. The carpets, both in the rooms and the public areas are absolutely filthy. The music played in lobby, which nice in the lobby was not something we wanted to hear in our room. Our room was quite with the exception of the "lobby music" playing around the clock. Yes, 24 hours a day. I called four different times, once at 1am and asked if they could turn down the lobby music as we could hear it in our room...I was told every time that they would speak to engineering - not one time was the music turned down. Don't waste your money on the "club floor"...a small room which reeks of mildew where you can get coffee and a continental breakfast. The woman who staffs the room is wonderful, but there is no value in it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a really nice property and well placed near the heart of the action in New Orleans. Plenty of nearby restaurants and watering holes but there is a very nice restaurant in the hotel as well. Very clean place and the room was spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.