We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #33 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Great location. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are spacious. Decor has a nice local touch. Service is basic but no complaints as our needs were met. Staff is nice and welcoming.
Rooms are not very soundproof so hopefully no loud groups will be on your floor.
I'd go back there and i recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    259
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
109
188
31
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnie, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is an old warehouse with a beautiful lobby (breathtaking hand blown glass chandeliers), wonderful, helpful staff and has a clean, crisp smell when you enter the doorway. Our room was quite large and roomy with a comfortable bed and nice view of the busy street below. The location was great - close to many wonderful restaurants and a short walk to Bourbon Street.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda, california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently booked a four night stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in New Orleans. It was rated as a "luxury hotel" which was what we were looking for. There is no way this should be called a luxury hotel. The carpets, both in the rooms and the public areas are absolutely filthy. The music played in lobby, which nice in the lobby was not something we wanted to hear in our room. Our room was quite with the exception of the "lobby music" playing around the clock. Yes, 24 hours a day. I called four different times, once at 1am and asked if they could turn down the lobby music as we could hear it in our room...I was told every time that they would speak to engineering - not one time was the music turned down. Don't waste your money on the "club floor"...a small room which reeks of mildew where you can get coffee and a continental breakfast. The woman who staffs the room is wonderful, but there is no value in it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a really nice property and well placed near the heart of the action in New Orleans. Plenty of nearby restaurants and watering holes but there is a very nice restaurant in the hotel as well. Very clean place and the room was spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

While visiting our daughter in NOLA, we like to tap our frequent flier points and we LOVE this Marriott property. It's a great location - within walking distance of the quarter, but not so close that it's creepy. Not too far from the St Charles streetcar. BEAUTIFUL art all around the hotel - makes it feel extra special.

The hotel breakfast is standard fare (marginal) but across the street at Lucy's Surfer Bar they do a delightful breakfast and the music is great. The bar is hopping (and sometimes a bit loud) on weekends.

Room Tip: Higher floor - away from the bar which gets noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Clean, great staff, beds were SUPER comfortable and I have a bad back so that says alot. I stayed here for business meetings, food was good. They have a gourmet restaurant on the premises which came highly recommended. Its a walk into town, it was about 5 blocks to Canal Street which gets you to Bourbon, Decatur, etc....but I like to walk, so I found the location perfect as it gave me some peace and quiet when I wanted it but close enough to the action to walk around. Cabs are everywhere too so if you are not a walker you wont have a problem getting a ride. I enjoyed using the rooftop pool and steam room. Small workout facility but perfect for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a girls trip in during the Jazz Festival in April 2012. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We had two conjoined rooms on the trip which worked out well for us. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathrooms were clean also. The rooftop pool was a nice amenity to this hotel, and free wifi in the lobby and common areas was convenient. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main attractions and taxis were not difficult to find thanks to the friendly valet staff. The low price we received on marriott.com made it easy for us to choose this hotel based on its price and value, and trust us we compared it to many hotels in NOLA. Overall this hotel met all of our expectations and we will be sure to recommend this hotel to others planning a trip to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.