We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you don't mind being away from the hustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #32 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you don't mind being away from the hustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Clean, great staff, beds were SUPER comfortable and I have a bad back so that says alot. I stayed here for business meetings, food was good. They have a gourmet restaurant on the premises which came highly recommended. Its a walk into town, it was about 5 blocks to Canal Street which gets you to Bourbon, Decatur, etc....but I like to walk, so I found the location perfect as it gave me some peace and quiet when I wanted it but close enough to the action to walk around. Cabs are everywhere too so if you are not a walker you wont have a problem getting a ride. I enjoyed using the rooftop pool and steam room. Small workout facility but perfect for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    253
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
103
185
31
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a girls trip in during the Jazz Festival in April 2012. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We had two conjoined rooms on the trip which worked out well for us. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathrooms were clean also. The rooftop pool was a nice amenity to this hotel, and free wifi in the lobby and common areas was convenient. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main attractions and taxis were not difficult to find thanks to the friendly valet staff. The low price we received on marriott.com made it easy for us to choose this hotel based on its price and value, and trust us we compared it to many hotels in NOLA. Overall this hotel met all of our expectations and we will be sure to recommend this hotel to others planning a trip to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very close to all but far enough away to maintain your sanity. It's a 7 minute walk to the French Quarter and a 3 minute walk to the Riverside area. Warehouse district is filled with great restaurants, shops and nightlife. The art work in the hotel was stunning and very refreshing to see displayed throughout the hotel. The rooftop salt water pool is a must. Very relaxing away from the noise and crowds. Great place for a midday tan. Our room was HUGE! Although the bathroom was cramped. Ask for a room facing Commerce street which is much more quiet than Tchoupitoulas Street with Lucy's bar blasting music and rowdy people all night long - especially if a football game is on

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Commerce Street are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days on fall break with my kids. It's quieter there so that was nice for my tween girls. The rooms were not as well kept. The pillows need to be changed because it is old and a lot of stain marks inside. Duvet has seen its time. Yuk!!! The carpet is filthy and stained! Cory from Valet is friendly. Bathroom is small.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great stay at the Renaissance Arts. Very good staff and service. Loved the rooftop pool and sundeck! Our room was comfortable and the location was excellent. We really liked the warehouse district with all the restaurants and fewer tourists than the French Quarter (which was still very easy to get to via a short cab ride). An excellent value at $135. a night, which is the rate we got from Marriott.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were wowed by the Public art collection in the Hotel. Every where you look is a beautiful painting, sculpture, or mixed media piece. The hotel it self is also lovely, with open spaces, clean rooms, and friendly staff. It has a nice location near the French Qurter, and downtown, without being in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor (only 4 floors)...... some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel really delved into the art theme it was trying to accomplish. The location was easy to find, and the lobby was large, and smelled wonderful when you walked in. The staff was extremely professional at check-in, and very quick. The room was standard, but did have a nice setting chair and ottoman. They have an excellent gym, state of the art, as well as very nice locker rooms in the gym, which you can also use for the pool as well. The pool and gym are both on the roof. The pool is small, but standard New Orleans size; if you try and swim laps you will start to get dizzy. They have nice seating our there as well; I just wish you would see someone periodically on the pool deck assisting with clean-up and making sure the guests were ok.

The Quarter was just a short walk away, but the location of the hotel is clean and quiet at night. Overall a nice hotel, and if you can get it at a decent price well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.