We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient French Quarter location, and worth the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient French Quarter location, and worth the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a girls trip in during the Jazz Festival in April 2012. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We had two conjoined rooms on the trip which worked out well for us. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathrooms were clean also. The rooftop pool was a nice amenity to this hotel, and free wifi in the lobby and common areas was convenient. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main attractions and taxis were not difficult to find thanks to the friendly valet staff. The low price we received on marriott.com made it easy for us to choose this hotel based on its price and value, and trust us we compared it to many hotels in NOLA. Overall this hotel met all of our expectations and we will be sure to recommend this hotel to others planning a trip to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    304
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
131
218
32
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very close to all but far enough away to maintain your sanity. It's a 7 minute walk to the French Quarter and a 3 minute walk to the Riverside area. Warehouse district is filled with great restaurants, shops and nightlife. The art work in the hotel was stunning and very refreshing to see displayed throughout the hotel. The rooftop salt water pool is a must. Very relaxing away from the noise and crowds. Great place for a midday tan. Our room was HUGE! Although the bathroom was cramped. Ask for a room facing Commerce street which is much more quiet than Tchoupitoulas Street with Lucy's bar blasting music and rowdy people all night long - especially if a football game is on

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Commerce Street are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days on fall break with my kids. It's quieter there so that was nice for my tween girls. The rooms were not as well kept. The pillows need to be changed because it is old and a lot of stain marks inside. Duvet has seen its time. Yuk!!! The carpet is filthy and stained! Cory from Valet is friendly. Bathroom is small.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great stay at the Renaissance Arts. Very good staff and service. Loved the rooftop pool and sundeck! Our room was comfortable and the location was excellent. We really liked the warehouse district with all the restaurants and fewer tourists than the French Quarter (which was still very easy to get to via a short cab ride). An excellent value at $135. a night, which is the rate we got from Marriott.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were wowed by the Public art collection in the Hotel. Every where you look is a beautiful painting, sculpture, or mixed media piece. The hotel it self is also lovely, with open spaces, clean rooms, and friendly staff. It has a nice location near the French Qurter, and downtown, without being in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor (only 4 floors)...... some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel really delved into the art theme it was trying to accomplish. The location was easy to find, and the lobby was large, and smelled wonderful when you walked in. The staff was extremely professional at check-in, and very quick. The room was standard, but did have a nice setting chair and ottoman. They have an excellent gym, state of the art, as well as very nice locker rooms in the gym, which you can also use for the pool as well. The pool and gym are both on the roof. The pool is small, but standard New Orleans size; if you try and swim laps you will start to get dizzy. They have nice seating our there as well; I just wish you would see someone periodically on the pool deck assisting with clean-up and making sure the guests were ok.

The Quarter was just a short walk away, but the location of the hotel is clean and quiet at night. Overall a nice hotel, and if you can get it at a decent price well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Please note if you are trying to stay within walking distance of the French Quarter, this is not the hotel - closer to the convention center if you are attending a function there.

With that said, I was completely dismayed by this stay - I've always been impressed with the Renaissance chain, and this location was a complete exception. The common areas were ok, but renovations were occurring on most floors. My hotel room carpet was stained and grimy, when the maid service came they didn't replace the empty toilet paper, nor did they replace my used coffee with new. There wasn't a bath mat, and no light in the walk in closet (with an automatic shutting door) so I had to prop it open with my suit case to see what was hanging inside. On a positive note, the food we had at the hotel was tasty and the bar area is really seet up well for conversation - servers were quick and friendly. Most of the time I would overlook the small things, but since they kept layering on top of one another for my hotel room stay, I had to mark them down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.