We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good - Nearby Convention Center and French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #32 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Maryland USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good - Nearby Convention Center and French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to a conference at the Convention Center. It is just a short walk and found this rate to be notably better than the Conference Hotel (Hilton). This modern hotel is quite well decorated, open air lobby and the rooms are particularly large.
Very clean and well maintained (it looks to be only a few years old). The fitness center is fine and there is a pool and hot tub on the roof.
Overall a surprisingly nice experience at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    266
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
114
190
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We saw such a good rate online ($89), so we decided to make our way to New Orleans during our road trip. We did not look closely at all the details and were a little shocked with all the additional fees when we got there. I can't lower the rating for that because it was our own fault, but I would like to point it out so that others can be prepared.

You are not allowed to park your own car. They will take your vehicle when you arrive, for a $28 charge, and park it in a place that you are not allowed to access. We had been to a few other downtown Marriott hotels previous to New Orleans and never encountered not being able to have access to our car. They stated that they would drive the car around if we needed it for anything, but that didn't really pan out the way they said.

Another charge that we were not prepared for was the fee for having the Internet in your room. ($12.95 per night using the cable or more $$ using wireless) We opted not to pay for it.

Most of the staff was very friendly, the art was interesting to look at around the hotel, and the place was very quiet. I don't think there were very many people staying there when we were there, which may explain the emptiness and quietness.

The elevator had some kind of sticky goo on the rails and spilled liquid on the floor for hours which kinda grossed me out every time I used it.

Overall, I was not as impressed with this Marriott as I've been with all the others I've stayed at, but it wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed for a business-related trip in July - just four blocks away from the New Orleans Convention Center, about a half-mile from Canal Street, and (most important!!!!) about a mile from Cafe DuMonde.

Strikingly decorated with two atria (either side of the elevators), clean and relaxing. Great free breakfast, included with a room rate of $135. Public areas are all amazingly clean and well-kept; beautiful music piped in.

My room on the 3rd floor overlooked Tchoupitoulas Street. Even with all the late-night activity on the street, my room was quiet. The bed and linens were top-shelf and I slept like a rock! The room itself was good-sized and well appointed. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but still adequate.

A couple of minor things to point out: the water in the shower fluctuated from tepid to scalding; the shower curtain was almost too short to direct the water into the tub, and the carpet was fairly worn in the traffic areas. The closet door is on an auto-close hinge, making it difficult to choose an outfit! :)

However, the room was very clean and the furnishings were great.

Still - back to that old Marriott policy of charging for in-room Internet... Makes me crazy to have to pay for it! Free Wi-Fi in the comfortable lobby, where there is fresh citrus water for the taking.

Concierge & front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Bellhops remembered us from check-in, saying "welcome back" after we'd wandered down to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I thought it would be nice to go on a weekend vacation. Our world was turned upside down because of it. Due to the limited characters allowed on this review, I am unable to give all details however, I was drugged, raped and went missing for 4 hours. I was found in the fitness center restroom and received no assistance from security. Come to find out - it was an employee that performed the crime! That employee was friends with the NO Police Department and had the police department help cover up the crime. We are taking the necessary actions to ensure this doesnt happen again to anyone that makes the mistake of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is great and the people working there are very kind too. It is very clean and it looks quite new also. We stayed for four nights. I gave the hotel four stars as the location (although it is good) is not excellent as the walk to the french quarter is a bit long and at night its not so convenient to be so far away from the restaurants and bars.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our first trip to New Orleans. Stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday. Hotel was in a great location. Walked everywhere, Harrahs, French Qtr, etc. Hotel was very clean and a welcome site after spending the entire day exploring the city. Our room was spacious and I would definately stay here again. We stumbled back to the hotel at 3AM and felt just as safe as 3 in the afternoon. We did not explore the pool area or use valet service but service was very friendly at front desk. Always greeted as we arrived. Clean, quite, convienent location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My family of 4 visited New Orleans for a wedding and I didn't want to stay in a high rise hotel or any where near Royal or Bourbon Streets with 2 young children. I found this hotel to be charming and in a great area. It was very quiet and still walking distance to everything you would want to see in the city!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.